We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for halfway mark sleep over between Gauteng and Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 3 Chimneys Guest House
Ranked #11 of 23 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our halfway sleep over from Gauteng to Cape Town. The service, food and cleanliness was very good. The lamb chop dinner is EXCELLENT and worth every cent.
The hosts was delightful, very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Three Chimneys is very conveniently located on the main street - a light sleeper might be disturbed by traffic noise - and the room we chose nicely decorated and had all the necessities, including a well above average guesthouse choice of satellite TV channels. Be sure to book for supper in advance of your stay - if the breakfast is a guide, it should be very good - because eating out choices are limited. Three Chimneys is well worth consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 337Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The place overall was pretty good, the rooms were nice but we've had a bit of a bad taste in our mouth because of breakfast... R85 each for a hot breakfast and it didn't include coffee, we had to ask for a plunged coffee and pay extra R30. The funny thing was there was a bowl of fruit on the table which costed extra as well. It's a rip off for SA specially for a little town. Try breakfast at Wimpy

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulHamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to braai and they said no, no, no!!! R75 for breakfst. A small sausage and one egg, one glass of juice and the coffee took forever! Not enough shade to chill by the pool and the wooden floor squicks and cracks as you make your way to the room in the middle of the night.

Too close to truckers!!! The place is in the middle of highway BF, so you dont get a proper sleep. I must say that they do supply earplugs witch helps and the rooms are very neat, clean and the celings are amazing. Thats it folks!

Room Tip: Think the outside rooms are better. There are no squeecky floors to annoy anyone and its close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ugfccwctwycyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed just the one night on the way down to Cape Town. Both the owners, Joyce and Godwin were more than helpful, we had a good chat with Joyce over a pre dinner glass (or two !) of wine. The dinner was excellent, we had the Karoo lamb which I would recommend, as was the cooked breakfast the next day. The room was tidy, clean and located in the annex next to the pool. Traffic noise, despite being next to a main road was not a problem. Overall an excellent place to stop over on the Cape Town to Joburg route, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently spent 3 days at 3 Chimneys Guest House and was so pleasantly surprised with the excellent service I received not to mention the cleanliness and beautiful room I had. The owners Joyce and Godwin are lovely people, they went out of their way to satisfy my every need, I wasn't the only one there, the Guest House was full and all the other guests were just as happy with the service. The food was outstanding and plentiful. I will most definitely be returning there and I will stay longer.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed over on our way to Cape Town and was pleasantly surprized with the warm welcome we received.. The amenities were up to standard and our room was lovely. Clean, and very warm and we really enjoyed the stay. What was a plus point for my husband was that we could not hear the traffic at all seeing that the Three Chimneys Guest House is situated on the main road.

The only downside (if you could call it that) was that I felt the price we paid for the supper was a bit over the top.

Room Tip: Really worth your while to use as a stopover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sariek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
0.1 mi away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#4 of 23 in Beaufort West
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#7 of 23 in Beaufort West
95 reviews
0 mi away
Donkin Country House
Donkin Country House
#14 of 23 in Beaufort West
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Beaufort West
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#5 of 23 in Beaufort West
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Paix
La Paix
#17 of 23 in Beaufort West
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 3 Chimneys Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 3 Chimneys Guest House

Address: 16 Donkin Street, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range: $57 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 3 Chimneys Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEAR GUESTSThe 3 Chimneys Guest House is a charming Victorian Villa, built in 1900 and is packed full of original features such as, Oregon pine floors, lead pressed ceilings and many more.It was home to General Louis Botha in 1914. (Anglo-Boer war)Godwin & Joyce, your Hosts (owner operated), have newly renovated, extended and decorated the establishment, being sympathetic to the era but with your comfort in mind. Our vision is still evolving!It consists of 6 en-suite rooms of various sizes with an aim to accommodate the single business man/woman and families alike. Camping cot available extra and can fit in most rooms.We are renown for our personalized delicious meals and offer our set 3 course 'candlelight dinner' (Mrs Bucket :D) as well as a fresh fully cooked English breakfast in our dining room or in the tree shaded, bird friendly courtyard overlooking the swimming pool. (A kiddies menu always available)Our bar is fully licensed! Relax and enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the guest lounge (in front of a roaring fire in winter). There are 'board games' too & watch your favourite program/sport on a large plasma TV with full 'DStv service'. A 'grassed swing play area' has just been added for the kiddies.Our rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean, air conditioned (Room 6 exception, has industrial ceiling fan) and offer tea/coffee facilities, bottled water, hairdryers, DStv 'hotel bouquet' (due to popular demand we have just added 'kyknet' and disneyJ'), Wi-Fi and mini desks for the businessman/woman. As we don't recommend you drink the tap water (lime) cold bottled water is on tap in the dining room. You are welcome to use our fridge/freezer, iron and “microwave facilities at off peak times in the kitchen.” Laundry by arrangement (for long stays).Your safety is also our concern. There are fire extinguishers at various points, 24 hr armed response, security gates and perimeter wire.Our parking area is behind gates with remote control for your convenience.Your happiness and comfort is OUR PRIORITY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The 3 Chimneys Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing