We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - stunning rooms and friendly, caring staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matoppo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matoppo Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - stunning rooms and friendly, caring staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

There is no where in the Karoo we would rather stay than than here - the rooms are exceptional - spacious, clean and have beautiful, carefully chosen antique features. The staff make you feel so at home you want to stay there forever - we stayed longer than we initially planned, due to this, and the quiet, idyllic setting only adds to the splendor!

Amazing!

Room Tip: Room Margaret (Room nr.2) is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
20
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After a long journey we were completely blown away by the beauty of Matoppo Inn. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel right at home. The food was a delicious 3 course meal. To add to the fantastic experience, it was so relaxing to sip a cocktail in the spacious beautiful garden while watching the Karoo sunset and watching my kids play in the breathtaking garden.
Matoppo Inn is by far the best accommodation in the Karoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Matppo Inn 8 years ago and nothing has changes! Still an awesome place to stay when the road to Cape Town gets too long! Lovely and quiet, great rooms and hospitality! I would recommend Matoppo to anybody that doesn't want to compromise quality for a quick stop on route to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Matoppo cannot possibly expect to check guests into a luxury suite at R840 per night excluding breakfast, and then have THEIR OWN STAFF create such a noise disturbance for almost 2 hours. My husband and I could not sleep - and it took 2 complaints from us and very defiant kitchen staff before they finally quietened down. how very shocking for a supposedly service orientated establishment. I will be reporting this to the grading establishments and on any platform I can. SHAME ON YOU - MATOPPO MANAGEMENT!!!!

Mrs A Lotz

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandajane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

We turned up after a very long drive from Upington and were given a fantastic room in the main house. The staff were excellent and it wasn't long before we were sitting out by the beautifully old fashioned pool sharing a very welcomed bottle of white wine. The house has a wonderful feel to it, and would be very cosy in the winter. Dinner and breakfast were fine. Altogether an excellent place to stop over.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank africancats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
4.4 mi away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#10 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
19.6 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matoppo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matoppo Inn

Property: Matoppo Inn
Address: 7 Bird Street, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Matoppo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Matoppo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing