We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another marvellous national park”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karoo National Park Unterkunfte
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaufort West
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another marvellous national park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very good accommodation, with a very nice breakfast included for under R1500 for two

Nice, clean, well appointed cottage, lovely location in the Karoo NP

Fossil walk extremely interesting, game drives give sightings of huge amounts of game, including a male lion just 200m from the road watching the cars go by

Very very peaceful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Having spent one night here previously en route to Botswana in 2006 we had promised ourselves to return as we really liked what little we saw then. This took far too long to arrange and we only succeeded in March 2014. We were worried maybe time had made our memories only remember the good things and that maybe the high standards we had encountered all those years ago would not be there. Were we surprised ! The pleasant memories we had were not only re-enforced but surpassed and we had a magic extended weekend. The restaurant is superb, the views and vistas are breathtaking and any game you are lucky enough to see is an absolute bonus. But what really makes this place special is the care and commitment of the staff, there is ample evidence of real pride and ownership amongst them.

Room Tip: The wind can blow here and was blowing seriously on our second night but our accommodation was so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC105GX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Sanparks park is well run and worth a visit. We visit every couple of years or so, especially when feeling jaded and in need of soul food! Unfortunately, (for us anyway) the addition of lions to the park has spoilt the overall free range aspect of this particular park. Tankwa and Augrabies fulfil these needs now and we really hope that no predators are ever introduced to either!
GENERAL: This Park is well run and maintains the high standard expected by Sanpark enthusiasts. The staff are friendly and efficient. Insofar as the game drives are concerned, the short Lammertjieleegte is well signed and offers all the Bulkraal facilities en route. The very corrugated Potlekkertjie route offers only the Doornhoek Picnic site as ‘personal pleasure’ (peepee) stop which is a bit far should the journey be delayed by plentiful game. Sanparks could really consider adding another ‘pp’ stop near the area where the 4x4 routes split off the Potlekkertjie route. We also feel there could be more view/lookout spots on this long drive.
The 4x4 routes are not well sign posted and one could easily find oneself travelling the wrong route. There are no stop/toilet/view points on these routes. Perhaps Karoo can take a leaf from Kgalagadi’s book here!
ACCOMMODATION: The Chalets/Cottages are well appointed, spotlessly clean and relatively private. We always ask for cottage no. 38 as it is the last in line and set slightly forward giving the impression that one is quite alone. It was hot whilst we were there and the aircon worked well. There is a plentiful supply of piping hot water for showers – in fact too hot and we did recommend that they turn the heat down a bit. A huge, sparkling pool serves to cool one down on a hot summer day. The cottages have limited channel TV; and the kitchen is well equipped. The semi covered braai patio with wonderful views is where one spends most of one’s time.
The Campsite: we took note of the facilities at the campsite for avid camper friends and found them to be first class, scrupulously clean, well treed and grassed, with a friendly resident tortoise.
Bulkraal Picnic site: This is designed around day visitors to the park and offers all one could ask for; a sparkling pool, shaded grassed picnic spots, private hideaway boma type braai spots, as well as good ablutions, change and dishwashing facilities.
Doornhoek Picnic site: Beautifully shaded with loads of braai spots, tables and clean loos.
The new Afsaal cottage looks fun for a family or small group of friends.
PARK RESTAURANT: The very weak link in this park! Breakfasts are included in the price of the cottages/chalets so one makes use of the convenience. I suppose this is nice for those staying overnight and heading out again. However, after having 4 breakfasts at the restaurant, we really could not have stomached another. Whilst the staff are efficient and friendly, the food just did not come up to standard. The menu is limited; the sausages were almost raw having been cooked in a too cold a pan. The omelettes were awful, doughy, flat and tasteless – even though we had a full house filling!
In respect of dinner, we found the menu very limited, i.e. the choice of starters- soup of the day or snails and then a variety of kidney and liver dishes! The menu offered little in the line of South African food and once again, the favoured method of cooking seemed to be a frying pan. The venison potjie had very little meat in it. My Calamari was sparse and bland and the chips par-cooked but plentiful, spoilt completely by an overdose of some or other savoury salt! It appears that corners are being cut in this restaurant. The choices offered run into each other – similar ingredients, different name. Such a shame as prior to 2010 dining there was somehow ‘special’, offering a great location with a pleasant atmosphere.
THE SHOP: Should you be self catering or camping, the shop is well stocked with all the essentials – at the usual premium price though. So, buy your goodies in the very nearby Beaufort West except your braai wood – good quality at an excellent price.
INTERPRETATIVE CENTRE: Well designed and very informative – a must see as well as the fascinating Fossil Trail.
Just a note - December to March - very hot with thunderstorms. Winters very cold in the evening but better for game sightings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulliversmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over going to gauteng. The absolute friendliness of the staff completely surprised me. We had dinner in the little restaurant and again the staff was friendly and helpful way beyond the call of duty. The next morning we took a quick drive through the park and after about twenty minutes we were chased down by some park attendants who excitedly told us that we passed the lions without seeing them. They not only told us where the lions were hiding but actually drove there in front of us to show us and then proceeded to give us a quick lesson in the history of the park and the lions. Again going way beyond what was expected. The experience was so amazing that we immediately booked another night on our return trip from gauteng 5 days later.Again the experience was amazing and we will return as much as possible from now on. This park is truly a paradise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anriacoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Only a sighting of lion or black rhino could have made our stay more perfect. This resort nestles in a valley surrounded by magnificent mountains. The chalets are comfortable, clean & well equipped. The staff are friendly & helpful. The communal areas are spotlessly clean and the restaurant meals were good. As far as I know this is the only Sanparks resort to include breakfast in the overnight rate & we found the menu to have something for everyone. There are a number of game viewing routes to drive oneself & more which are purely for 4x4's. We also took a guided night drive which was very good with Jannie the ranger displaying a good knowledge of everything we saw whilst Frikkie used the spotlight to good effect.
We have visited many Sanparks over the years but this is by far the best for location, service, friendliness & cleanliness - other parks could take lessons!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in Karoo National Park for two nights. The landscape is beautiful, view from the cottages is amazing! Park is not that big. With a sedan you can only do two loops (one of three hours, one of 1.5 hours). Furthermore, there is not much to do (except for the swimming pool with, again, great views and the silence!!). Breakfast is included in the cottage price and is very South African (even includes a breakfast burger!). The cottage itself is fine: two single beds and one sleeping couch, bathroom with shower and good cooking facilities (covered braai).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stompneus Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent 4 nights in a cottage over new year.. Very hot so the air conditioned bed room was most welcome. Well appointed for self catering. Everything in good working order and clean.
It was relaxing and comfortable.
Driving an Isuzu D/cab we did the Afsaal loop and the longer circular route to Doornhoek picnic spot. Some good game viewing including Mountain Zebra, Red Haartebeest, Kudu, Gemsbok and Eland. Birdlife around the cottage was interesting as well.
It would be convenient if user guides for TV and Air-conditioner could be made available in the cottage.
We found the range of goods in the shop to be adequate but seem to be priced for foreign tourists which prompted a shopping trip to Beaufort West.
The restaurant noisy due mainly to undisciplined children so we decided that a quiet meal in relaxed surroundings was unlikely- probably Inevitable over the holiday period.
Overall a worthwhile visit and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dondStHelenaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
0.0 mi away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#11 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wagon Wheel Country Lodge
Wagon Wheel Country Lodge
#18 of 22 in Beaufort West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo National Park Unterkunfte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo National Park Unterkunfte

Property: Karoo National Park Unterkunfte
Address: Karoo National Park, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaufort West
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing