We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Karoo stay!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karoo National Park Unterkunfte
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaufort West
Certificate of Excellence
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First class Karoo stay!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our experience at the Karoo national park was awesome from start to finish. It all stated when we arrived and we re greeted by a friendly staff member at the entrance. He was not just friendly but was knowledgeable and gave us a quick breakdown of the info we needed to know. The reception staff was also great and got us into our unit quickly and without any hassles. The units are very comfortable and clean and we had a peaceful braai (BBQ) looking out over the mountains that surround the camp. The park is so quite and is an ideal place to rest and soak up the serenity. We stayed over on our trip down to Cape town. The cottage comes with a bonus as breakfast is included in the price. This is a great start to the day and once again the staff were terrific! I would definitely recommend the Karoo National Park for a relaxing break or stopover spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    62
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
280 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The setting is magic and stunning. The staff both at reception and at breakfast are efficient and extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, comfortable and offered self catering facilities. Seeing game is an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It's a shame that visitors don't spend more time at this most magnificent site as there's much to see and experience. The Karoo here is the oldest known complex ecosystems on land with a wealth of fossils much older than those of the Jurassic Era - in fact dating back 300 million years when it was once a vast inland sea. Great mountains, vast valleys, starry nights and, of course, many species of wildlife. Accommodation chalets blend in well with the stark environment: they are well equipped for self catering (though the restaurant offers good hearty stuff where breakfasts are free). All in, they're comfortable and cosy and well worth a longer stay to take in all that this ancient and spectacular park has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanticza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a Cottage. From the very warm greeting at the main gate to the time of our departure we couldn't fault the outstanding service. The restaurant staff were so bubbly and friendly a real treat to encounter such wonderful staff. Special mention to your entry staff at the main gate , fantastic what a professional team you have at Karoo NP. Love this park just wish one could walk freely more . Did enjoy the route available and loved all the plant life. This park isn't about all the big things but about getting down and finding all the tiny little plants and insects. Outstanding beauty in the most glorious setting. Good accommodation and a very well run park. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Karoo National Park just outside Beaufort West is the perfect stop over on your way to Cape Town. With comfortable units, friendly service and the fabulous Karoo skies there is just no other way to unwind before takeling the final 500km of your journey.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and enjoy dinner at the local Salt-and-Pepper restaurant...it's delicious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A true South African experience. A great place to stop over to and from the Cape and Gauteng. The park is beautiful, the accommodation pleasant and clean and well equipped. Once you drive through the park gates your soul sighs a sigh of relief. Spectacular scenery, peace and quiet. Food for the soul. There is a lovely swimming pool, nature walks, fossil walk, game drives. We just want to sit in our 'stoep' with a glass of wine and relax. When the sun sets 'braai' a little something. The shop in the park is very expensive. Beaufort West is a few minutes away and at the Karoo Junction shopping centre there is a Pick 'n Pay. Buy all your provisions there. Milk, tea, coffee, sugar, bread, karoo lamb sosaties and snacks. Do not forget wood and matches. Breakfast is included in the accommodation fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Karoo National Park is just beautiful, no other words can describe it. The housing fits in so well with the Karoo landscape. The park is very interesting and the fossil walk is fascinating. We loved the house that we stayed in, air-conditioning, very clean and well equipped with crisp linen, a wide veranda to sit and watch the sun-set, a sparkling swimming pool.... We also enjoyed our complimentary breakfast the next day. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We chose a two bedroom, two bathroom unit. All units have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asnerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
8.0 mi away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
670 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
332 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Wagon Wheel Country Lodge
Wagon Wheel Country Lodge
#18 of 22 in Beaufort West
64 reviews
8.3 mi away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#4 of 22 in Beaufort West
54 reviews
8.7 mi away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo National Park Unterkunfte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo National Park Unterkunfte

Property: Karoo National Park Unterkunfte
Address: Karoo National Park, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaufort West
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing