We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Grove - what a lovely place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Ranked #3 of 22 Beaufort West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Olive Grove is situated just off the beaten track. The lodge is situated in Olive Groves.
Around 17 kms outside Beaufort West on the way to Cape Town.
Definately worth the deviation.
Our cottage was clean and well kept and we were right next to the pool (which was very quiet).
We ordered karoo chops and boerewors to braai ourselves, green salad, potato bake and a garlic roll. The salads and bread were prepared for our arrival and were excellent.
I will most definately recommend this little lodge for anyone.
You can also purchase olive products on site from their groves.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 358 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2010

We are still touring South Africa...from JoBurg to CT. But already now we know that our stay at Olive Grove was simply the best! We expected very little and got sooooo much.
Unmatching hospitality and amazing warm people you meet at Olive Grove. Thank you for volunteer baby sitting so that me and my husband could enjoy the lovely dinner and yummy breakfasts.

The highlight was 1hr Quad Biking in the dry River bed of the Karoo semi-desert. We saw soooo much game. I could not believe my eyes. Who would have thought to find all of that in the Karoo? Sorry not me.

Thank you once more for a lovely stay - we definetly come back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Anja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We loved Olive Grove. Family run with great staff, clean rooms and relaxing fun. We enjoyed quad biking through the farm, seeing the different pets and animals on the farm. There is a meercat that is tame - children loved playing with him too. Food was perfect. A great surprise in Baeufort West area. Had a family of 4 stayed in 2 suites

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaklands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This delightful guesthouse, on a working olive and sheep farm near Beaufort West, is situated about fifteen minutes' drive off the main road between Johannesburg and Cape Town. The guesthouse has a four-star rating from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, a 'Superior Accommodation' rating by the AA, and has won several awards.

Having stayed at several Karoo farms on the long and arduous trip between Johannesburg and the Cape, I have to say that this is the best of the lot. And the best price, too.

It has all the facilities one would expect of a guesthouse of this class - clean, airconditioned rooms, crisp sheets, modern bathroom, satellite television, bar fridge, good reading lights, warm blankets and so on - but what really sets it apart is the small personal touches. The cupboard and fridge are stocked with everything you might need after a long journey through the blisteringly hot Karoo, and for a night in the country: cold farm milk - no nasty sachets of coffee creamer here - iced water, candles, matches, mosquito repellent, emergency electric lantern, and so on. It feels like a laid-back family farm: a pair of docile ponies are herded by the family's border collies; a huge old tree sparkles with white fairy lights; young, friendly farm lads show you to your room before roaring off on their quad bikes. There's a lovely herb garden and a small but inviting swimming pool.

We didn't have time to explore the olive groves, or go on the various hikes available, as we were overnighting, but I would love to go back to this farm to take a closer look at its astonishingly diverse fauna and flora - not to mention fossils and stars.

Our breakfast was excellent - a very good 'full English', beautifully cooked and presented, and garnished with herbs from the garden - but we found the dinner (an optional extra) not worth the extra expense. In fact, we found it hard to believe that our so-so dinner was cooked by the same person who made the wonderful breakfast. There was a very good and flavoursome chicken pie, and an intriguing, rib-sticking dish of sweet-potato-filled bread rolls, but the Karoo lamb ribs were swimming in fat and the starter - a warm, insipid seafood cocktail - was ridiculously out of place in a farm that is many hours away from the sea. Stick to what you do best, is my advice to the chef.

Apart from that minor quibble, this is a great place to overnight - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Velvet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Heard bad reviews about transient guesthouses in Beaufort West itself, so looked outside of town and found this charming olive farm/guesthouse. It is a quite large guesthouse, out in the middle of nowhere (Karoo), with a beautiful atmosphere and great accommodation. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage, overlooking an olive farm, complete with two adorable dogs, ponies, and a hiking trail for guests. I learned more on the hiking trail and from the guesthouse guidebook than I did in the Karoo Nat. Park (about 2 km away).

Their breakfast was the best of the two week trip, and the dogs curled up on your feet as you ate. The owner personally visited each of us at our tables to make sure everything was ok.

The beds have electric blankets for those chilly nights, great tv, and there is a back patio where you can have a glass of wine and watch the sun go down. It was darn windy while we were there, but incredibly beautiful.

A great value, and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank prontopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hannie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christiansB2901IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald S, Owner at Olive Grove Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
20.2 mi away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
380 reviews
23.9 mi away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
714 reviews
19.5 mi away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#4 of 22 in Beaufort West
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
95 reviews
19.4 mi away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
192 reviews
19.2 mi away
Die Herehuis
Die Herehuis
#1 of 23 in Beaufort West
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Guest Farm

Address: N 12 Oudtshoorn Road | 15km off N1, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort West
Price Range: $46 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Grove Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove Guest Farm offers Accommodation on a Beautiful Karoo Farm that lies only 15Km off the Main N1 Route, South of Beaufort West. Out of Town, Quite and Secure. We are a Versatile, Comfortable and Consistant Establishment offering AA Quality Assured Self Catering and B&B Accommodation.Affordability, Good Food and Warm Hospitality have played a big part in our Establishment over the past 10 Years.Also a working Olive Farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Olive Grove Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing