We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Second time we stayed at O On Kloof and it's still a great place to stay, with fabulous service and wonderful rooms. Suite 1 is fabulous, with a bathroom to die for and a quiet terrace with jacuzzi and hammock - my favourite! Bernadette and Patricia are always on hand, smiles all round. AND it's still the best French toast for breakfast on the planet.

Dena, at the spa, gives excellent massages and facials but book early as she can be booked up.

The glass of bubbly on Christmas day was a lovely touch, as was the Christmas gift and card - great place to say.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 365 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

We had an amazing champagne reception upon arrival and lots of helpful suggestions for sightseeing/restaurants during our stay from Olaf and his team. The hotel only has 8 rooms and has a boutique feel - it is not located directly on the seafront but has views of the sea from the restaurant/bar. The bathroom and bedroom were both very well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. Overall, extremely friendly and stylish - we would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tondziels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

From the minute you walk through the entrance, to be welcomed by the sight and sound of the double waterfall lining the entrance steps you leave the stress of the outside world behind. You know you're checking in to somewhere special.

O on Kloof is an effortlessly cool urban retreat in one of Cape Town’s quieter suburbs. It’s sophisticated and contemporary, but without being pretentious.

The atmosphere and ambience created is calming and serene – relaxing background music plays as a gentle breeze blows the curtains. Cool nautical colours, tones, textures and choice objets d'arts enhance the almost zen like feeling - a lot of thought (and talent) has gone into the layout, look and feel of this place.

Apart from the bar area, there's no traditional ‘reception’. It doesn't feel like a hotel – there’s no constant traffic from guests coming and going, no phones ringing off the hook. Staff are discreet – silently appearing with a friendly smile and disappear with a similar subtlety.

Guests are free to sink into one of the comfortable sofas, kick back with a book from the library, surf the internet, or just sit gazing through the large panoramic windows which look out over to the residential area of Sea Point and down to the Atlantic Ocean.

With just 8 rooms the staff at O on Kloof are able to concentrate on delivering a truly memorable stay for their guests. They take time to make recommendations on where to go and what to see. Taxis were booked without even having to ask. I'd have happily let them plan everything for me if I wasn't so obsessive with my holiday preparation! They take a genuine interest in finding out how your day was, and I have to admit I didn’t have a bad meal anywhere they booked for us in the City thanks to them.

Check in was very informal. We arrived at 10am (after an overnight flight from the UK) to be welcomed by Bernadette who served us a glass of fizz, and explained the highlights of the Mother City without overloading us with too much information. We were then able to check straight into our room – much appreciated.

We spent our first day in Cape Town just unwinding at the hotel, with room service from the light lunch menu, treatments at the spa, DVDs from the inhouse library and post dinner drinks at the bar.

We stayed in Room 8 – one of the luxury rooms - downstairs from the main hotel area. It’s marketed as not having a view but it’s certainly not closed in like I'd initially thought it might be. Perhaps they’re just managing the expectations of the most 'discerning' (fussy!) traveller. It’s sufficiently light and bright, and if you look out the side window and down the road, you can see the sea. The added benefit of a semi private deck was great to relax on after a day of sightseeing.

The well laid out bedroom (air-conditioned ,of course) with lounge area continues the welcoming feel from upstairs – the room is a sanctuary with warm, earthy tones and well executed lighting which help to focus on relaxation and unwinding.

The superlative bed was large and comfortable – 6 pillows helping that little bit to secure a good night’s sleep. Additional facilities include a minibar, fridge, ipod dock, satellite tv and DVD player. The only thing it was lacking was a kettle and tea/coffee – easily obtainable from the bar – but that’s being super picky.

The bathroom was wonderfully spacious, no attention to detail spared with a modern suite, bath, shower, double sink - ideal when your travelling partner takes an eternity to get ready. Candles at your disposal, flower petals in the bath and a turn down service were welcome additional touches.

The room was serviced daily and was always spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is either served in the dining area or on the outside balcony when the weather is good. If you’re feeling lazy you can have it in the comfort of your own room, at no additional cost – you’re on holiday after all. The selection is healthy and plentiful. Fresh fruits and squeezed juice, muesli, tea and coffee, breads, yoghurt, eggs cooked whichever way you want – highly recommend the delicious scrambled eggs with salmon. Chocolate croissants on Sunday were lovely too.

I’d also recommend a treatment or two at the Spa. The therapist Dena is passionate about the treatments she offers and doesn't mind if you fall asleep on her table… A Swedish massage after a long flight was a great start to our break.

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our holiday in Cape Town. We enjoyed it so much we actually cancelled our reservation in another place in the Waterfront area on our return to the city to come back to O on Kloof - I am so glad we did.

The phrase ‘home away from home’ is often overused by those in the hospitality industry. However, the O on Kloof is one of those places that you’re reluctant to check out of. I absolutely loved this place - it's everything a boutique hotel should be and then some - it's a shame Cape Town isn't a wee bit closer.

To Olaf, Bernadette, Patricia, Martin, Dena and all the other wonderful staff - baie dankie!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Began a fortnight in S.A. at the O, and it was an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived tired from the night flight, they just sorted us out, recommendations, bookings,advise, everything we needed. The hotel itself is exquisite ,a real haven within the city. yOu probably need a car to make it work as it's a long walk into town, but it's also well positioned to get out of town, say to Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sl0wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We spent 3 nights here at the start of our South Africa hoiday and what a fabulous way to start. The hotel is beautifully furnished, every little attention to detail. We were also given a upgrade to one of the superior rooms with its own deck and hot tub which was superb. the staff can't do enough for you and thanks to Patricia and Bernadette for all their help in advising where to go and for some amazing restaurant recommendations. the hotel is a bit out of town but we walked into the waterfront in about 1/2 hour along the seafront - very safe and picturesque - but the local bus service is also very dependable. We went to the Codfather in Camps Bay one evening and were not disappointed. Don't know if we will ever be back in Cape Town but would definitely stay there again. Even met Olaf the O in O van Kloof and he couldn't have been nicer or of more help. He provided us with info for our onward journey wth further recommendations for places to go and see.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

What a wonderful hotel. The team at O on Kloof are welcoming, knowledgable and went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. From dinner recommendations and reservations to insights into the local area, everything was perfectly tailored to what we would enjoy.

The hotel itself is decorated with such style. The attention to detail is rigorous, extending to my laundry returned to my room, with a handwritten O on Kloof message. If you are travelling in this area, I hope you are lucky enough to stay at this hotel and experience for yourself jusy how special it is. We cant recommend it highly enough. If you do stay, and are a coffee lover, they also serve the best cappuccino I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

One of those hotels where you really feel at home from the first moment. Great service, nice people helping you out with your sightseeing plans around the whole Cape Area. Most beautiful thing was to enjoy breakfast (really nice) on the hotel terrace watching the sunrise behind Lion's Head. Just a few minutes away (by car!) from clifton Bays, Table Mountain or city of Cape Town it's quiet there at nights. A bit pricey still, although I got a 3for2 nights special.

There's a small gym and a pool there (some rooms even have private jacuzzis, but they are hard to get I suppose) and a spa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowfivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.4 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
324 reviews
1.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,129 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $169 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa offers a sophisticated city sanctuary presiding over Cape Town's cosmopolitan Atlantic Seaboard catering for Cape Town's most selective travellers. A luxury hotel with a fusion of contemporary architecture and urban chic, guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town where they can relax in comfort. The hotel's 8 stylish and innovative rooms impress with their attention to detail, blend of robust colours, fine fabrics and slick furniture. The exclusive and cool vibe of this boutique hotel is complemented by easy access to the wonderful beaches and other attractions in and around Cape Town, including Sea Point, Table Mountain and Clifton Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing