We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boutique hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Situated in a quiter part of Cape Town yet only 5 mins by taxi (£3) from the V & A Waterfront, we stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in June 2010. Prior to arrival I had some reservations (no pun!) in that the rooms as shown on the website seemed very small and somewhat quirkily decorated. It transpired that nothing could in fact be further from the truth.

Although check in time was shown as 4pm, we arrived at 12 noon yet this wasnt a problem. We were met by Bernadette who is quite lovely. She spent 15 minutes explaining the hotel and Cape Town in general. She the took us to our room and spent a further 5 minutes showing us around it. She also took it upon herself to reconfirm our private tour that had been arranged for the next day and clarify timings etc. This was personal service on a grand scale indeed!

Our room was simply perfect. It was large, well equiped and beautifully decorated. Our balcony, which included a hot tub, gave a views over Cape Town and the sea; the sunsets were amazing!

The attention to detail was incredible, including some wonderful flower petal arrangements in the bathroom (see photos). We were served breakfast on our terrace the next morning and what a breakfast it was! This was indeed a very special place, with friendly and efficient staff, where you were made to feel very spoilt and your every need was catered for.

We were genuinely sorry to leave the O on Kloof and will no doubt return someday. This was a stunning experience; If you are in Cape Town, book elsewhere at your peril! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

We just spent our first 4 nights of our honeymoon at O on Kloof. We could not have been happier!! This place is AWESOME. The service is incredible. They greet you all the time and are VERY helpful if you want information or reservations etc. We had Bernadette helping us and she was excellent! The hotel has such a cool design and is so immaculate. We stayed in Suite 5 which is SO sweet. It has a balcony with a hot tub and our own lounge chairs and a great view. The bed was SO comfortable. The bathroom was so nice. The breakfasts every day were amazing - not just a regular free breakfast. This was whatever you wanted cooked for you Fresh and DELICIOUS. So much food and all SO good. We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was one of the top meals on our entire honeymoon and we had amazing meals throughout. The chef is phenomenal here. Cannot say enough good things about this place - luxurious, unique, and just a special place. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is amazing. We spent 56 blissful nights here and it is a wonderful hotel. Great friendly staff, lovely seafront walk into either Camps bay (1hr) or V&A waterfront (1hr). Taxi to waterfront is 10 mins so great location in Cape Town, very safe. Staff are wonderful, Bernadette, Martin and Diverson in particular made us feel really welcome whilst we were there. Definatley recommend eating there once during your stay -0 their chef is great and her food sublime. Her museli in the morning is something else! Dinner is served a few nights a week a week and they have some excellent recommendations for dinner on your other nights and arrange taxis for you. We had room number 8 which was stunning and had the pleasure of meeting Olaf - the O in O on Kloof and finding out about the design and architecture of the hotel. Next time we are in Cape Town we'll just book to stay here, five star hotel design with a small hotel friendliness - perfection.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This was the first stop off of our honeymoon in South Africa. When we arrived tired and sick from the flight we were greeted by Bernadette who looked after us straight away. She had lots of suggestions for places for us to visit, or not and we enjoyed a dvd and lunch in our room and then visited the spa in the hotel which is excellent. Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic and the evening that we had dinner in the hotel was equally great.
We were slightly disappointed by the size of our room for the price we paid, but the service and quality is definitely top class. Chocolates on the pillow in the evening, a turn down service and champagne on arrival were just some of the details.There aren't amazing views from this hotel and it is basically a hideaway down a street, but on the other hand that does make it quiet. Thanks to Olaf, Bernadette and all the staff for an enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffercoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

You can not go better than this boutique hotel. If you like small hotels, personal service this is the place to stay in Cape Town. Olaf and his team give you the warmest welcome you have ever had in your life.
Hungry, thirsty any time of the night? Book the rest of your holiday? There is nothing a problem for them.
And all is done with genuine, sincere hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuvitoEger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We can't praise O On Kloof enough - we had a wonderful suite with jacuzzi and a comfortable sofa to sit on, a great WIFI signal, the helpful staff (Bernadette and Patricia in particular) could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The place is full of fabulous furniture and beautifully designed.

We met Olaf (the O in O On Kloof) who was cooking breakfast that day - don't forget it's his birthday on 28th December and wish him many happy returns because this place is perfection itself.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My wife and I took spent our honeymoon in Cape Town. We didn't have much direction on where to stay, but we are so very glad that we chose O On Kloof. After we arrived, we didn't lift one finger or have a single question unanswered. The staff at the hotel is absolutely outstanding, and the chef made the most delicious breakfasts that we've ever had - I still dream about the salmon and eggs, and the coffee is the best I've ever had. It's frustrating to read travel magazine after travel magazine that doesn't mention "The O," because my wife and I would not even consider staying anywhere else. We really couldn't imagine having a better experience at any other hotel.

If you do stay, make sure you decide to eat dinner at the hotel at least one night. The atmosphere is as romantic as it gets, and the food is just as delicious as the breakfasts. Also, you should have them set up breakfast in your room at least one morning. It is a beautiful and unique experience.

I know the people in South Africa are the nicest people in the world, and the people at "The O" are the nicest people in South Africa! We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDavoT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
313 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
266 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $186 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa offers a sophisticated city sanctuary presiding over Cape Town's cosmopolitan Atlantic Seaboard catering for Cape Town's most selective travellers. A luxury hotel with a fusion of contemporary architecture and urban chic, guests find a quiet sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town where they can relax in comfort. The hotel's 8 stylish and innovative rooms impress with their attention to detail, blend of robust colours, fine fabrics and slick furniture. The exclusive and cool vibe of this boutique hotel is complemented by easy access to the wonderful beaches and other attractions in and around Cape Town, including Sea Point, Table Mountain and Clifton Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o On Kloof Boutique
O On Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing