We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerman House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

From the time my daughter and I checked in we felt as though we were staying at the home of a friend. The room was lovely and views were stunning. The pantry was open for refreshments, our laundry was taken care of, sun tan lotion was provided and nothing appeared on the bill as 'extras'.

The food was exceptional, as was the service. I loved the wine waiter and the way he spoke of the hotel as 'we'. 'We' send the staff to Stellenbosch to taste the wines, for example. He so obviously felt part of a family and not an employee. The training of the staff was world class, as was the art collection.

I would never stay anywhere else in Cape Town now: I just wish that I had discovered Ellerman House earlier.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank wandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    11
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
160
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2007

I was really not sure what to expect from Ellerman House, all the reviews I had read suggested that it was going to be good but as with everything one persons perception and values are often wide of your own. So it was a great relief and surprise to arrive and find out that all the reviews were accurate and if anything the standard of accommodation, service and location far out shone my expectation.

Sitting high above Bantry Bay Ellerman house is virtually invisible from the road. On arrival you are greeted by security who confirm who you are and the phone to the house to announce you arrival. You are greeted by the duty manager and shown to your room.

Our room was stunning, large impressively decorated and with a sea facing balcony that can only be described as vast (if the mood had taken us we could have played many games on it). The bathroom was luxurious and as big as many bedrooms that I have stayed in! Service was impeccable ... from room service to breakfast, dinner or by the pool side. Breakfast was served on a garden terrace with superb choice of food and impeccable service. Dinner served in the main dinning room was good and again the service was excellent.

Overall Ellerman house is somewhere to retreat to, expect the best service and receive it. Expensive but thoroughly worth it.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank simon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 07.
The property is fantastic , and the views and position very good.
However the rooms and service place this hotel in a class above the rest of Capetown.
On our day of departure the hotel gave us another room as a courtesy ( and a nice one at that ! ) and we ate dinner then departed at 20.30 with their car for our overnight flight back to Europe.
The staff, from the GM down, were ALL excellent and we could not fault them .
The only thing - and it is a tiny thing - the pillow chocolates were 1 month out of date. This was more a matter for laughter when we mentioned it.
But make no mistake, this place is top notch !

  • Liked — The tremendous client service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

Everything about this hotel was first rate. It is a fabulous property beautifully maintained. The service, food and ambience were perfect.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank POCOPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2006

Nothing we can say will give justice to just how fantastic a place that is Ellerman House.

Location, Location, Location: The aspect is fabulous, perched on a hill overlooking Bantry Bay - the view is breathtaking. It is easy to head south out of Cape Town toward Clifton Beaches and Twelve Apostle Mountain on your way to Cape Point, or head into the waterfront area with the great food and lovely shopping. Everything is within reach. But the view, simply stunning!

Service is everything: The second you arrive, you feel a sense of security and tranquillity as they greet you and wipe away all your weariness and fatigue as they envelop you with the most wonderful welcome that is not only a feature of Cape Town, but a Hallmark of Ellerman House. Tim Cumming, the General Manager, is such a gracious host, and he makes sure everything is inviting and warm and courteous. He enfranchises his team to excel in hospitality in a way that we could only wish was possible in Europe – they all seek to make your stay a calming, wonderful experience – and it does feel that way all the time.

Stuart, the head of catering and the resident wine expert overseeing their 15,000 bottles of vintage South African wine, is a majesty of hospitality – he knows his stuff, shares his vast experience liberally, and goes out of his way to make you feel at home. When they pick a wine for you, it is fabulous! If there is one not to your liking, let them know and they whisk it away and move on to suggest another. Nothing is a bother and everything is possible. We found the food to be delightful and fish is cooked delicately, and is brilliantly presented.

The new spa: The ambiance alone will have you begging to stay there all the time. It is so inviting and tranquil, sharing the wonderful views of the main house. The team is charming, accomplished, enthusiastic, and yet professional in all respects. They are fabulous and their touch is magical.

The inside of the house is filled with wonderful sculpture and painting by South African artists, collected over the years by the owners and it gives off a rich tapestry of colour and refinement, touched off by the most beautiful flower arrangements you can imagine, adorning every centre and corner of the room, complementing the art brilliantly.

All we can say is that it is a wonderful place – the aspect gives it great promise, but it is the leadership and the superb team that make it a little piece of heaven perched innocently on a hill overlooking Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lanphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2005

It's tough to say enough great things about our stay at the Ellerman House!

The view, the room, the service, the cuisine, and, most importantly, the staff all contributed to an extraordinary experience. I've stayed in some great places over the last few years, but the congeniality, professionalness, and extraordinary performance (particularly when challenged by circumstances beyond their control) set Ellerman House apart from anywhere else I've stayed.

I went half-way around the world to, in part, stay at the Ellerman House. And, I would do so again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2005

Visited Ellerman House March 19-20, 2004. From the second we stepped out of the taxi, we were made to feel like the only two people at the resort. The manager greeted us on the drive, gave us a short overview of the property, and showed us to our room. No credit cards were produced, no identification requested. A skeleton key with a tassel tag was given to us, and the room door was closed. As we looked out the floor to ceiling windows that covered the wall opposite the bed, the view was breathtaking, encompassing the hill below, the ocean beyond, and Robben Island in the distance. Fresh flowers in the room, a bar, with decanters, was built into a sideboard. The balcony was our haven in the mornings, lounging, using binoculars to do some bird-watching, reading, making plans for day trips. At night we left the balcony doors open so we could fall asleep to the sound of waves splashing on the rocky shore below. The tile floor in the bath was heated, as was the towel rack, and the shower was large enough for... We dined on the patio for breakfast and lunch, and had dinner in the dining room - we were greeted us by name, seated, a menu was produced, and we ate with soft music in the background. The only unfortunate thing about the trip is that we didn't book longer - we had reservations at Lanzarec Manor in the wine country the following day.

Helpful?
19 Thank Worldtraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Property: Ellerman House
Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing