We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Cape Town”
Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellerman House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in Cape Town”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a wonderful home away from home the Ellerman House was for us this last month, we stayed in the beautiful Ellerman Suite looking out over the Atlantic Ocean and watched as many ships sailed by. The food, service, grounds, spa and overall ambiance of this beautiful private home turned Relais and Chateau was the perfect place to stay in glorious Cape Town. Don't miss taking a private tour of the private art collection that is all over the house. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful as well and even set up a winery tour for us in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manger at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    11
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
163
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wonderful place. Superior service, personal touch. Great location. Best body treatment I ever had. Great food. Great atmosphere with beautiful interior decoration and fantastic art collection. Highly recommended. This is how heaven may look!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We really appreciate it, and so happy to hear that you think this is heaven as we think so too. We strive to provide the most memorable experience to all our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back to our home.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager - Ellerman House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at Ellerman house since its inception some 20 years ago on many occassions.I returned a few days ago after yet another splendid visit .This phenomenal boutique hotel has grown into a sanctuary of peace, harmony,tranquility and magnificent cuisine .This ,accompanied with the wonderful art gallery coll,ection and exceptional personal service make a visit to Ellerman house a essential part of the wonders of South Africa,
I have stayed in many fine hotels inmany parts of the world .Ellerman will continue to be a quintessential part of any visit to Cape Town in future years .
Jhn Newbury

Room Tip: All the rooms are good wirth mgnificent views.The Villa ,however ,is in a class of its own and is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 471147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Mr Newbury,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to have you at Ellerman House and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Paul Harris and everyone at Ellerman Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After an arduous journey, arriving at Ellerman House was a gift beyond imagining...there are no words that aptly describe the hospitality, beauty and standard of service that are a way of life here...the staff are some of the finest I have ever encountered, across all levels of service.....you feel welcomed by a loving family, yet not fawned over but rather respected and appreciated...I cannot thank them ENOUGH for taking such very good care of us...I look forward to returning...

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananapeel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really proud of the service we provide and our staff make sure our guests receive the care and attention they deserve.
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House.
Regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place! The accommodations, service, views, ambiance, and customer service were outstanding. Construction was active, but no issue for us. Although we are generally very laid back and tolerant of disturbances, the work being done near our room was not even noticeable enough to comment. We are shocked that someone would overlook the incredible attention and service provided by the Ellerman team, and rate the hotel poorly. Our only disappointment after a wonderful honeymoon experience there was that we had to leave and do not have a return trip planned. We have encouraged many friends and family to visit Cape Town someday and, of course, stay at Ellerman House. Thank you, we hope to be back again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventourlvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. Thank you for being so understanding with the building work. We are really looking forward to sharing our incredible new Villa with our guests, and we hope that you will be back soon to enjoy it.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

we stayed at Ellerman House at the end of a three week holiday in September. It has taken me this long to write my review as the visit has mixed emotions for me. We arrived and were shown to Room 10, which on the face of it was beautiful. We unpacked, had some lunch, sat on our terrace for a while and then I decided to have a siesta.... then things went wrong. It was a hot day and when my head hit the pillow there were heavy vibrations and a loud humming noise. On sticking my head out of the bathroom window to see what the noise was, I saw at least 6 air conditioning units working flat out, so this is where the noise and vibrations came from. Being a bit noise sensitive, we asked for a change of room but the only room available was Ellerman Villa, which normally comes with a hefty price tag of circa £2500 a night. We were taken to the room in the villa we had been allocated and on the way the male staff member made a comment that upset me greatly, He inferred that we had planned a rather good upgrade and we should be delighted with the move. We were not. The Villa itself is beautiful but we were only given access to a bedroom and bathroom, no drinking water, none of the treats that were available in the main house and no where to sit, not even a key to lock the door. I tried sitting in the lounge on the ground floor but was in the way of staff cleaning the floor and doing whatever they were doing to welcome the next villa guests. The following morning we met Ella the General Manager at breakfast and she asked how we were. I dont know why but I felt very upset about the moving around, and the comments that had been made, so all she had to do was look at me and see tears in my eyes. Ellerman House was just not working for us at all, we had now been in 2 rooms in 1 night..... not very restful. We were moved again to a lovely room, room 2.
at last did we have a quiet room... sort of. The plumbing from the room above made a lot of noise every time the occupants of the room used the bathroom, and the doors out on to the terrace were just below our room so we knew every time the door was opened as it banged.
It is hard to describe fully how we felt, although I felt that I was made to feel a nuisance as how dare I criticise a hotel that never gets complaints. I think the service is OK until something goes wrong. I felt some arrogance in some of the staff when I dared not be 100% happy with things. There was also considerable noise from the building works at the hotel and other builders in the area. If I had been paying Ellerman Villa prices I would have been less than happy as the building noise at this end of the premises was considerable.
The setting is beautiful, the rooms are decorated to a high standard, just too many things went wrong for us and we were glad to leave. We were so disappointed that the end of our three week stay in SA was not the bliss we had expected it to be.
Clearly 3 months on this still is upsetting for us...

Room Tip: Dont choose room 10 if you dont like noise - a number of air conditioning units on the side wall tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sue,
Thank you for your review, and we are so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to standard and disappointing to you.
We've investigated the situation and spoken to the entire team. We've rectified the noise outside Room 10 with regards to the aircon units.
We hope that you will consider returning soon so that we can show you what a true gem Ellerman House is.
Best regards,
Ella Cuyler - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Long Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Ok, its Ellerman House and everyone loves it, but how good could it really be? Well just as good as the reviewers say and perhaps even better. Everything is wonderful here and if you are lucky to be staying at Ellerman House then you are feeling wonderful too. So many thanks to the entire staff who made us feel at home and went out of their way to assist two weary travelers. Three nights were not enough, or were they?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSEasternLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations as we pride ourselves in offering true South African Hospitality.
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
300 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Property: Ellerman House
Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing