We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellerman House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
52 De Wet(Bantry Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
President Hotel(Bantry Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
New Kings Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Point Inn(Cape Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Cove(Fresnaye)
View Hotel
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
263
12
6
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
12
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart collectionwine cellarla residencecape townsouth african artistsrelais chateauxbeautiful househouse roomfavorite hotels in the worldstaff to guest ratiowine tourone of a kindattention to detailvery special placeprivate residenceprivilege of stayingspa room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 284 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I’m sure Ellerman House hears this all the time but I can’t stress how brilliant every aspect of our time at Ellerman House was. My wife and I have now stayed there half a dozen times and I have to say that the the staff as always were superb, the food absolutely phenomenal and the place looked the best I have ever seen it. It really is a very special place, I don’t see how one could find better anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We love having you here and so happy to hear that you still enjoy every stay.
Our staff is truly the best, and they pride themselves in offering a world-class experience to our guests.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Ellerman House at the end of October. It is one of the most wonderful properties we have ever stayed in. Suite 11 is jawdroppingly gorgeous. The staff made us feel as if we were guests in their home, not residents of a hotel.
It was great to have the choice of taking meals inside or out, which were superb, and we raided the Pantry on more than one occasion!
They also arranged car hire to be delivered to the hotel which was very straightforward, and the Security men guided us out of the property when we left.

It was a "wow" experience which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We've named the pantry "the sugar shack" here amongst the staff and it is a real hit with our guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House real soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager - Ellerman House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the most beautiful views we have ever seen! Very good food and excellent service staff BUT….
Beware all those people who have just booked to stay at Ellerman House, massive building/construction work is currently taking place (the construction of a new Villa/Apartment block), the disruption is completely unacceptable, however, the management of Ellerman House informed us that they had sent all their agents a letter detailing the work currently in progress… our agent ‘American Express’ had not received any such notification and judging by Ellermans management integrity we believe American Express over them.
On the day of our arrival the road leading to Ellerman House had been closed off because they were dismantling an enormous crane situated outside our room, which took all day, the noise was unbelievable, we complained and they offered 50% off the room rate for one evening, but more importantly they promised to suspend any further work during our one week stay, that’s what we mean when mentioning “Ellermans management integrity” the work continued with relentless inconsideration. It was not until we asked American Express to get involved 3 days later that we were moved to a different room and offered a further 10% compensation together with wine.
Unfortunately, Ellerman House take your money before you arrive, but there should have been a strict ethical code of conduct with a hotel of this standing and reputation, the management was sloppy and unprofessional and most of all not to be trusted!
At these room rates (our room was priced at approximately £800 per night) we feel the hotel should ensure their guests are fully informed of any building work being undertaken – it should also be mentioned that there is further (outside) building works adjacent to the hotel and there is also disruption from this too… The building work at Ellerman House is continuing and judging by the progress to date, it will be some considerable time before this work is completed, do not believe them if they say there will be “no or little disruption to guests” this is absolute rubbish.
When we departed Ellerman House, our taxi awaited us, not one person from the front office came to wish us a safe journey home or even a good bye (perhaps even thank you!) what a shambles.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ChrisJ369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Director of Sales at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

We at Ellerman House are extremely distressed about this review, the first negative one we’ve ever had, and the first time we have had such feedback regarding the building of the new villa and wine cellar on the adjacent property. We have gone out of our way and at considerable cost to ensure that our guests are not disturbed by noise from the site. The builders are under instruction not to do noisy work when guests could be disturbed . However we do acknowledge that there have been occasions when there has been noise, such as when these two guests were resident. We did all we could to compensate them for the disturbance by moving them to an upgraded room and at their request provided them with a generous financial compensation. When the building activity disturbs our guests we instruct the builders to cease what they are doing. Regrettably the day that these two guests arrived was a Sunday and because of the low traffic density, the road was closed in order to dismantle a crane that had been standing behind Ellerman House. Unfortunately it was a very noisy process that lasted some four hours in the middle of the day. On checking in, the guests were offered an alternative room that would not be noisy - however they declined. They then asked to be financially compensated which we did by giving them a 50% reduction in the room rate and they expressed satisfaction with this outcome.

The staff instructed the builders to cease any activity that would be noisy and potentially disturb our guests for the duration of their stay. However, regrettably there were several occasions when noise could be heard from the site that disturbed these two guests. When one of our suites became available in another part of the hotel, we offered it to them and they moved. The feedback is that they expressed satisfaction and in fact were very complimentary about the suite and their stay generally . We did not charge them the higher rate of the upgraded suite and on request gave them a further reduction on their accommodation and provided them with complimentary wine for the duration of their stay. We remain distressed that the noise disturbed their holiday and hoped that this financial gesture would provide some compensation. This review therefore comes as an unpleasant surprise because they had assured us and their agent that they were satisfied with the compensation we had provided and the steps we had taken.

At Ellerman House we respect the guest review process on Trip Advisor because it gives prospective customers authentic feedback from other guests and keeps us on our toes. However, we also get the opportunity to put our side of the story across, which we have tried to do. Consequently we have not agreed to the proposal by these two guests to provide them with further compensation in return for them withdrawing the review from Trip Advisor, because we feel it would be unethical.

When we started the building project, we notified all the agents and asked them to advise their clients. It appears that this message did not reach these two guests, for which we apologise. As a result of this review, we will make doubly certain that every guest will be fully informed in future of the potential noise coming from the site. There will be no activity on the site during the builders' holiday from 15 December 2012 to 15 January 2013. Fortunately, any potential noise should only impact rooms four and five and is restricted to normal working hours. We do have a policy in place whereby if guests are likely to be disturbed, the building activity that creates the noise will be stopped immediately. This is obviously very costly but it is a cost we gladly incur in the interests of ensuring that our guests have the type of experience that Ellerman House is renowned for.

We need to explain the physical location of the new villa that is being built. It is adjacent to Ellerman House and behind (and elevated above) the existing villa. It is the next-door property so it in no way diminishes the substantial gardens and magnificent views from the terraces at Ellerman House. It is not visible from any room, other than from part of the patios of rooms four and five. Both of these patios do have a private area on which there are loungers, from which one cannot see the building site; this certainly in no way detracts from the open vista to the sea. The building site is however visible from the end of the patio, looking backwards away from the sea. This is where the guests stood to take the photographs that they posted on TripAdvisor. The site is boarded up but can be seen from the far end of the breakfast terrace looking backwards; consequently if guests do not want the site behind them to be visible they can sit elsewhere on the terrace where the building work is not visible.

We have posted this comprehensive response in order to be transparent with our guests and invite anyone that wishes to have further information to contact us. We remain totally committed to providing our guests with an exceptional experience in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Three wonderful nights at a fabulous inn. The staff was outstanding, the food was tops and the rooms were first class and then some. The staff went out of their way to help in every imaginable way and always with a big smile.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 4 were excellent and I'll bet the others are just as good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Joe,
Thank you so much for a great review - we really appreciate it, and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the warm South African hospitality!
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House in the near future.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This property exemplifies hospitality to its hightest degree. The staff was truly outstanding in every regard. Our room (# 4) was spacious and very comfortable with great ocean views...and it even had a large patio.

It's location outside the main center of Cape Town might deter some, but for those looking for a sense of exclusivity this is a property I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room # 4 is highly recommended as it has a very nice patio area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boeing747-8I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ellerman House truly is a unique property and our staff is really what makes it extra special.
I've noted your point about it being outside the city center, and would just like to add to any readers of your review that it takes 10 - 15 minutes by car to reach the V&A Waterfront or city center, and also that we are a 5 minute walk away from Clifton beaches.
Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews