We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable in every way!”
Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellerman House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable in every way!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the villa at the Ellerman House. The views are stunning, the furniture and art are very unique and tasteful and the service was beyond expectation. Our every need was considered and there was a staff 24/7 to prepare meals, clean and attend to any requests we might have had. The villa is spacious as well, accomodating six of us with plenty of room. There are three seperate bedrooms all with private bathrooms. The villa also has access to the gym, spa and bar. This is an excelent choice for a couple wanting privacy or a group who wants top notch accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreakmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our Villa. We really appreciate it, and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back to our home in the near future.

Best regards,
ELLA CUYLER
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    11
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
162
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic place! The service was personal and attentive, food was off-the-charts great (Gareth is incredible), and the Ellerman Villa was beautiful! The overall feel was simply perfect! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike_chicago_60093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcome you to Ellerman House in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Suite 1 is the place to be for this top of the line hotel. The staff are numerous and all equally amazing and sincere. Slightly more expensive than most of the other five star locations, but I now know why and it was worth every Rand.

Room Tip: Suite 1 has both a mountain view and ocean view because it has a wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RacquelMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we greatly appreciate it and look forward to welcome you back to our home.
Kind regards,

Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful Saturday night at the beautiful and tranquil Ellerman House - truly one of Cape Town's best-kept secrets. One of the world's foremost art hotels, you are confronted by priceless works of art around every corner - even in rooms - and a visit to the contemporary gallery is a must.

You do feel like you're staying in vast house, where every possible detail has been thought about. This is a destination in itself - you come here to relax, walk around the stunning gardens, soak up some sunshine and take in the most amazing views. The rooms are all individually decorated and ours was particularly spacious, with a large balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Here you can sink into the comfy down duvet and read a book, or pour yourself a little cocktail and soak up some rays on your cushy sun loungers.

We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel and I have to compliment the kitchen on some of the most melt-in-the-mouth fillet I've ever tasted. The Hotel has a jaw-dropping wine – list doesn't quite do it - wine bible to page through. All wines are lovingly stored below the house. Service is top notch, decor is contemporary and luxe and the atmosphere is wonderfully relaxed. I would definitely like to return on another special occasion. This place is very special.

Room Tip: Our room - Room 4 - has the largest balcony in the whole hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Johannie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We strive for perfection here at Ellerman House, and I'm grateful for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back to our home.
Best regards,

ELLA CUYLER
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The 5 * restaurant serves only meals to hotel guests. We were not staying there, but friends were, consequently we could enjoy dinner with them. Awsome place, the building extraodinary, awsome views over Bantry Bay. And then its magnificent art collection of South African art. We wil certainly be staying here, when we next in the Mother City.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllermanCapeTown, Marketing Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear David,
Thank you so much for your review of Ellerman House. This is greatly appreciated and so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact me in future, and we look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House.

Kind regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager - Ellerman House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a really special place that we are always drawn to when we're in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at EH for 7 nights after our safari and rovas train trip. What can I say about this beautiful house and staff? words just don't seem to do it justice. Riad met us at the station and drove us to EH, where we were met by Ella who greeted us as though we were part of the family arriving home. We were kindly upgraded to the Ellerman Suite, where we stayed for a few nights and then moved to room 8 which was equally beautiful. there was complimentary drinks, wine and scrummy snacks in the room. There was also a pantry next to the kitchen where guests were welcome to help themselves to sandwhiches, cakes, snacks, fudge (yum) and soft drinks any time day or night. Breakfast was served on the terrace by attentive, friendly staff. The pool was a lovely relief from the heat, and the pool attendant was there to organise towels, shade and refrershments.
We booked a couple of day trips to the wine region and Bolders Bay with Riad, who was an excellent guide and his knowledge incomparable. We had lunch at Le Petit Ferme in Frenscheock, which was superb-definately recommed this. We ate our evening meal at EH both in the restaurant and on the terrace in our room, nothing was too much trouble. The laundry service was also complimentary, I left the laundry to be collected in the morning and was delivered back to our room at evening turn down service. This was fantastic as we went home with suitcases full of clean and pressed clothes!! We were truly sad to leave EH, and we met people who stay at EH every year - and said it's just like going home! We will definately be returning,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Property: Ellerman House
Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing