We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms and Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed at the Bantry Bay Suites Hotel for our last 3 nights in South Africa. The rooms were large and included all amenities that we could want. There was both a tub and a shower in the large bathroom. There was a safe in the room and cooking facilities should you care to eat in. The hotel is only one block away from the ocean, where there is a lovely walkway. The hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. There is a business center with computers - 50R for one hour (the time can be used over several days). We ate dinner at the Opal Lounge one evening and it was a fantastic dining experience. The taxi to town cost about 65R each way.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2009

It is a very pleasant hotel in a very good area .The drive to the office in the morning is especially nice. The hotel is close to the seafront. The hotel has neither a fitness centre, nor do they serve supper, but with plenty of restaurants in the area, that is not a big deal. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Being late with the booking this hotel was the closest available to Waterfront and city centre according to the travel agent. The location was a huge disappointment, being far from anything of interest for vacation visitors, but they advertise it for business after all.

The service in reception and everywhere was nice and friendly. There was no restaurant for lunch or dinner, not even around it inside safe walking distance. So, getting fed and moving around was not too easy, but still manageable after finding a reliable and friendly taxi driver for the vacation time.

Appearance of hotel and it's surroundings were generally a bit weary, but not disturbingly so. Room was spacious and clean with everything working, but located toward a parking lot and a busy street and intersection for an ugly view, and close to kitchen for some noise during the breakfast time. Laundry service, car rental (with help from the hotel) etc. were fine and reasonably priced.

There was some confusion with the airport transports possibly due to the travel agent, but it was sorted out by the reception.

Generally there's not much to complain about the hotel itself, except the value for monay at close to EUR140 per night for vacation use.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xx08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager9, Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2009

Please note that the review submitted for our establishment is not for the Bantry Beach Luxury Suites. We are situated at the end of a quiet narrow cul-de-sac in Craigrownie Road and meters away from Saunders Beach in Bantry Bay. Bantry Beach is not a hotel offering rooms, but exclusive self-catering apartments. There is no on-site kitchen nor any major intersection or parking lot nearby. Bantry Beach is just a few minutes drive to Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, the V & A Waterfront, 2010 World Cup Stadium, International Conference Centre and City Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed in the 5-star penthouse suite, so you know it was nice! We loved our room. It was huge with a living room and kitchen downstairs and the master bedroom upstairs (yes, upstairs!) This was especially nice for us as we had our 10-year-old son with us. He stayed downstairs giving us some much-needed privacy after 10 days of him staying in the same room.

The breakfast buffet was excellent but this was the only meal the hotel served. Lunch and dinner we were on our own, which is generally the way we like it.

The Bantry Bay Luxury Suites are located only a block from the beach and offered a great view of the ocean out front and the mountain Loin’s Head out back. The city’s double-decker tour bus stops just a few feet from the front doors and provides a nice way to see the city. Just remember to wear sunscreen.

Catty-corner to the hotel is a nice little Italian-Greek-Spanish restaurant that doesn’t look all the impressive, but we both enjoyed our meal and it was nice to sit outside.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The building was clean with modern remodeling. The beds were soft and comfortable. Wireless internet connection is available for a price. I very much enjoyed my stay there and strongly recommend it.

My full trip at [-]

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MoscowMark88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed at the Bantry Bay Suites for five nights in November. The staff and the room were very nice. The staff went out their way to make sure our stay was pleasant.

We had one of the penthouses on the top floor with an outside deck. The room had two levels with a small kitchenette. The room was almost too large, as we hardly used the first floor. My only complaint about the room would be that our bed was two twin mattresses put together and would slide apart occasionally at night.

The hotel itself was in a nice neighborhood about 10 minutes from the V & A and 10 minutes from Camps Bay. It was very easy to get to either location.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Newman_5a_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Our family of five have just returned from our holiday in South Africa for the Easter Break and we all had a wonderful time especially as it reminded us of Australia. We found Cape Town was an easy town to drive around and good base to experience most of the the tourist attraction in and around the Cape districts. Through 'Southern Distinations' we stayed 4 nights at Bantry Bay Luxury Suite in Cape town, on the 3rd level and had views of the Atlantic Ocean. The Hotel itself was nice and clean, it was an older building with a bit of character supplemented with a fairly recent refurbishment to give it a more modern look. It had all the facitlities we were looking for: small kitchenette, seperate lounge, bedroom and ensuite. No laundry / washing machine though very affordable laundry / dry cleaning service. I found the rooms in good condition but felt the shower cubical could have been better, the sliding doors didn't really work, the titles were extremely slippery and rather dangerous - particuylarly for little or older people. The light switches were an endless source of confusion / entertainment depending how you look at it. Room service was good though with five of us ranging from 2yrs up, it would have been nice to have the bath room floor mopped at least daily. At the reception desk we found the staff accommodating and I can not say enough about Kristi who was definately multi skilled. We arrived at midnight to discover that our room was not ready for us and she was the one to make up the beds and put up the cot, she was there the next morning to answer all our questions, she was there at the bar to make us coffee and banana smothies, on the internet to get us maps for the wine region or the exchange rate, ringing around to find out what was opened etc so someone give her a pay rise! As for the other staff in the hotel I found them rather friendly and very warm towards my children. My two year old fell over in the sercure car park and they just rushed over and cleaned him up and gave him a buscuit. Breakfast was provided in a very light and fresh feeling dining room and consisted of a hot and cold selection that seemed to suite the hotel very well. No soya on offer though. There is a pool but it was not heated hence it was far too cold to dip your toes in.
Overall the stay was pleasant not sure about the rating. Comfortable, yes; but not Luxurious hence I would rate it a good 3 low 4 star.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_handful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

The Bantry Bay Luxury Suites are actually four or five stars depending on the suite you choose (not three stars as the website suggests). Given the high quality of the rooms and the service provided, they are extremely good value for money. The staff were extremely helpful- one even printed us off a guide of how to go up Table Mountain. Rooms are large and spacious, some with a view of the Atlantic. A perfectly acceptable breakfast is provided buffet style - cold meats, fruit and the like. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting Cape Town - not in the somewhat dodgy centre of town, but on the "riviera" of Bantry Bay, a short walk round the coast from the Atlantic coast beaches at Clifton. Although we didn't know about this in advance, a fee is charged for the very necessary secure parking - but at 35 rand a day (well under a fiver), this does not add too much to the cost.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaeilgeoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.0 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $113 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel - Experience Style & Sophistication Located in wind-free Bantry Bay and a stone’s throw from the popular Sea Point Promenade, The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel offers more than just a luxury boutique hotel experience. With breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, set against a backdrop of the magnificent Lion’s Head, it is located in the most perfect location for guests to explore and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing