We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from a holiday in Cape Town and started our holiday with a three night stay at Bantry Bay, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel, we were greeted with a welcome drink and had a fantastic view from our room, the staff were all very courteous and polite and if you want to catch the Red Tourist Bus you can do so from the corner. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a pleasant one !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Angie C,

thank you for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to assist you in having a great holiday.
Our guests happiness is what makes us happy at The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel.

Happy Travels!
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    91
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
120
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip to Cape Town. The welcome was very good and the staff were friendly throughout and very helpful. I liked the room, good size and view and most things worked and in the right place. The hotel had the basic items for business covered, good internet, good bed, space to work in the room, working bath room, good laundry service and a quick breakfast so you could get on the road. It just lacked a small fitness room to keep in shape but a quick run a long the seafront is very easy from this hotel.

The only negative point during my stay was that the door key system stopped working for about 3 days and took a while to get back up again. You had to be taken to your room with the porter who would let you in with a master key! But even this did not spoil the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear SforSani ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am very pleased that you found your stay to be a good one and that we met your business needs.
I am happy to report that the key issue was finally resolved and that we are currently considering a fitness room. But you are indeed correct that the promenade is fantastic for a morning or afternoon jog!

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are truly huge and very comfortable. They are also very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is Ok but make sure you get a sea facing room otherwise you get a lot of road noise. I would have given a 5 rating but the machine that codes the keys was not working so we had to go to reception every time we wanted to get back into our room. Breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Sea facing room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear MelindaCambs,

thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked the size and cleanliness of our rooms. Our friendly staff is really an attribute to our little hotel.
I am so sorry that you had to experience the keycard issue, but I am happy to report that the machine has been returned and is again in good working order.
We are hard at work to improve the areas that need attention, most recently the refurbishment of the pool area and a room painting project. Please be assured that we will get to every aspect that requires attention.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I loved waking up with the ocean view and watching sky colours at sun set from my bedroom. I could also hear seagulls and sounds of the ocean at night, very nice. It felt like I lived here as grocery shops, laundry and such are walking distance, jogging by the ocean is super cool and some good restaurants are not far, while V&A is about five min by taxi.

What would make this place even better is if they had a gym and a more varied bfast. I also found communication to be more of miscommunication although all staff apart from an odd one were very helpful. Since the day one I never got the laundry paperwork and preferred to do my laundry next door for this reason. I also asked that no turn down service is provided as generally I don't like anyone in my room past the maid service, however every night my curtains were down and light was turned on. I truly do not even understand this service nor who wants it?? Interestingly enough, the hotel sent their internal review and asked if I would like to be contacted about the issues but that has never happened. So what is the point of the question then?

Still, I would say that this is a nice enough place with a good rate.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear sister-karamazov,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on our little hotel.
I am really happy that you enjoyed the views and sunsets as much as we do!
Our location is really convenient and we are looking at the implementation of a gym, but I am pleased that you enjoyed jogging on the lovely promenade.
Thank you for pointing out the issues with the laundry and our communication issues. We will definitely use it as a training tool to ensure that we do better next time.
I am a bit concerned about the fact that you mention you responded to our internal review and did not get a response. I monitor the responses personally and would appreciate it if you could email me your details so that i can assure it is feeding through correctly.
My email address is gm@thebantrybay.com

Again, thank yoiu for your feedback.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived very late, got a friendly face and someone to help us to our room. We booked a sea view room, and got what we booked. Our room was stunning, our bedroom upstairs. Loved the bed and pillows!!! Better than home!! Kitchen had all we needed, parking was safe and secure and friendly faces all the time. Situated very good, close to a lot of tourist places. But best of all, the beach!!! And a beautiful view of Table Mountain from our back balcony!! Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene-Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
DEar Irene-Anne V,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

I am very pleased that you loved your suite and found our staff helpful and friendly.
We try to live up to our motto: 'With us, you are not a number!'
We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at Bantry bay luxury suites several times & could never fault anything. The staff were always welcoming & went out of their way to see that I was "at home"! Their Concerge desk is also excellent & I would recommend strangers to Cape Town to follow the recommendations & advice they offer of their city.

Room Tip: Ask for a Penthouse bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Carol M,

Thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel and staff.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and look forwatrd to your next stay!

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely not a luxury venue. Some of the rooms are small and dark with no view at all, and cannot be described as suites. We had to upgrade to get a larger room with a sea view, which although much nicer still does not fulfill the expectation of a "luxury suite". The small kitchenette in the room is a nice feature and we used it quite a lot for drinks and snacks. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom is basic with really bad lighting. The decor is very simple and a bit tired.

The breakfast is average, but the breakfast room needs an urgent upgrade - water stained walls, dirty table linen, faded pictures etc. The pool area is pleasant enough but very small. There is wifi available for a fee which is a rip off. There is secure parking but also for a fee, which really should be included in the rate given the lack of safe parking in the immediate vicinity.

On the positive side: the venue in general is very clean, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and the location is central and ideally suited for magnificent sunset walks on the promenade.

Overall this venue is nice enough, but don't be misled by the description of "luxury suites".

Room Tip: Request a full sea facing room (as opposed to partial sea view), as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear RosG101 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We always value feedback as it allows us the oppurtunity to better our offering and service acording to our guests needs.
I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff of our little hotel. Our kitchenettes are really a nice feature and I agree that the location is really great.

Thank you for pointing out or shortcomings in the restaurant venue. The leak that we have had has been very problematic and sadly the weather has just never held up long enough for us to address the external issue that has been causing the leaks. I would like to assure you that we are currently working on the problem to resolve it permanently.
We have also embarked on a few projects to improve our decor and standards by giving it a fresher look and the restaurant is also on the list. Our Maintenance Manager, Achmat, is working on a repainting project of all suites and a project to improve the lighting in the rooms and bathrooms too and it should be complete in the next few days.

I hope that the next time you stay with us you will notice the improvements.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.0 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
953 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel - Experience Style & Sophistication Located in wind-free Bantry Bay and a stone’s throw from the popular Sea Point Promenade, The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel offers more than just a luxury boutique hotel experience. With breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, set against a backdrop of the magnificent Lion’s Head, it is located in the most perfect location for guests to explore and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing