We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff, slightly off location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely staff, slightly off location...”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We got a great deal on hotels.com, for the penthouse suite for 5 nights, Inc breakfast. Check in staff friendly and efficient, we were able to check in just after 11am so really pleased! Penthouse suite was amazing!! Fantastic views to front of the ocean, and a small patio area at back with view of lions head! It's split on 2 levels, on entry level is bathroom, lounge, and kitchen. Top floor is another bathroom and the bedroom! Bed is huge and very comfy. Tv in bedroom and another in lounge! DVD player in lounge too. Kitchen has 4 hot plates and microwave, no oven. Wifi is at a charge but we thought it was quite reasonable at 295 rand for 5 days and no data limit! Breakfast was good too, nice selection of cereals, fruit, pastries, fresh juices, toast, and full English with eggs cooked fresh. There is a laundry place across the street that does 5kg wash & dry same day service for only 45 rand! There is a Woolworths food hall and a Spar 2 minute walk away. A BP petrol station next to the laundry for those who have cars! (the hotel does ave parking for a charge). The city sightseeing bus stop is also on same corner as hotel very convenient! Overall we loved the hotel and the staff, very handy liction having the shops and laundry so close by! Hotel has a small pool and sun lounger area. You can walk to the beach in 2 minutes, however there is not much beach to speak of mainly rocks. We found there to be a few homeless people around, asking for change etc, and I don't know if it is just this time of year but it was not busy at all with tourists and we felt uncomfortable walking down to the beach. There is no nightlife to speak of here but that suited us. It depends what you want really - neighbouring Camps Bay is much nicer - you do still get homeless people but it's much busier with tourists and has a lovely beach - BUT you do pay for that obviously!! We just wanted to hole up somewhere, watch tv, read etc with a nice view and the Bantry Bay does that well for a good price. We didn't feel threatened walking to shops just to ocean... So just bear this info in mind when booking - do you want the tourist hustle and bustle and pay for that, or do you want a view for cheap? If your not really gonna use the beach then don't bother paying to stay in camps bay as the view from this hotel is just as spectacular! Would recommend this hotel overall ad the staff worked really hard, were professional and friendly, the hotel was clean and comfortable and was a bargain!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    90
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
119
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very helpful staff - they accommodated me very well and were very pleasant. The room was very big, spacious, clean, and quiet. It is a bit (a little bit) far from CT's main attractions (beyond walking distance), so be prepared to take a taxie to places that you want to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed 5 nights with my wife and 2 boys, and my mother in law (in another room!) and in summary we had a great time. Hotel staff were excellent, particularly the barman who served us swiftly and often! Two storey rooms were suitable for four with boys using the sofa bed downstairs, food was good and good value, boys had bar food as room service one night.
Would go back, not that busy and kids enjoyed the swimming pool. Located 100m from the front with some decent restaurants nearby, check out the Casa Nostra italian, and make a trip to Camps Bay.
Only glitch that I pointed out to the management was price of the internet access - R195 per day, naughty!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is supposed to be a 4 star grading, yet the service, furnishings and guest care was most definitely not of a superior quality. In fact, it was not even of a good quality.
The hotel staff seem to be poorly trained, all levels up to the manager. And the overall cleanliness of the room was also far below par.
We were truly disappointed.
We do not think it represents even a 2 star facility.

Room Tip: It is extremely noisy, very close to a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsD231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed at Bantry Bay Luxury Apartments for 4 nights.at the end of our holiday. Having stayed at the start of our holiday by the V & A Waterfront these aparments were a bit disappointing. They were clean and spacious but could do with some redecoration. The balcony had no chairs or table and the room did have a sea view but it was over the top of roofs (we were on the 2nd floor). Bantry Bay is between Camps Bay and the City so the location is quite central for both beach and city. The pool was very small and looked unappealing, We drove to Camps Bay every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you can to avoid looking at the roofs of buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Set back one block from the sea, the location is perfect. Right next to the bust areas of Sea Point and Camps Bay. Room we stayed in was the Penthouse and we were pleasantly surprised to find we were put there because we had booked for 5 days. Small but adequate area for a kitchen which had a fantastic selection of coffees for the machine. Staff extremely helpful and even the manager carried our bags in from the basement! Perfect for our busy trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Despite the name of the place, this is not all "luxury". No duvet cover on the duvet, a shortage of towels in the bathroom (not resolved despite multiple requests to reception), evidence of previous guests (Mr Tayov) - their customized letter left on table (none for us). Facilities limited and not that close to the beach either. You can do better - saw a 5* hotel further down the road for cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.0 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
948 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
335 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel - Experience Style & Sophistication Located in wind-free Bantry Bay and a stone’s throw from the popular Sea Point Promenade, The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel offers more than just a luxury boutique hotel experience. With breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, set against a backdrop of the magnificent Lion’s Head, it is located in the most perfect location for guests to explore and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing