We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all luxuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Despite the name of the place, this is not all "luxury". No duvet cover on the duvet, a shortage of towels in the bathroom (not resolved despite multiple requests to reception), evidence of previous guests (Mr Tayov) - their customized letter left on table (none for us). Facilities limited and not that close to the beach either. You can do better - saw a 5* hotel further down the road for cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed 8 nights in this hotel, in February. The area is very safe, near the seaside, with lots of restaurants and shops nearby, and on the route of the two sightseeing buses. There are plenty of taxis and minibuses in the surrounding area. We even went to Clifford beach on foot (more or less a 20 minutes’ walk).

We were given a duplex on the fourth floor, with a small kitchen, two bathrooms, a living room and a large bedroom. The hotel is very clean, well furnished, tastefully arranged. The staff is polite and very helpful. The breakfast was good, with choice of juices, fresh fruit, cooked eggs, cold cuts, sausages, and cereals, etc.

The swimming pool is quite pleasant after a day visiting Cape Town, but it’s not very large. Anyway, there was never more than 3 or 4 people around…

I would really recommend this hotel to everyone wishing to be in a quiet, well communicated place in Cape Town. And I think it’s very cost-effective!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vetraz74100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here for a few days and thought it was value for money with good service and great location. It's a short walk from the beach with nearby shops and restuarants and a short drive from attractions such as Clifton beach, Camps bay, Hout Bay & the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wez-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

While the architecture and interior is not exactly the most modern version of luxury, the clean room certainly provides you with more than the average requirement of any hotel room on offer. Very spacious suite fitted with large beds, full ensuite. Dining area available in the suite and LCD TV's available in lounge and bedroom area. The view of the sea is always breathtaking at any time of the day and this was obviously the highlight. We found staff to be quite friendly and attentive.
The breakfast area is quite beautifully located next to the pool with dining area on the upper floor.
The location is perfect to move around to popular beaches and restaurants in the Cape Town area.
Parking is extra and the spacing to park in is quite tight in the basement area, so be careful.
The pool is not that big and very limited on sun loungers so best you try to find one before the crowds gather or else you will be sitting at a breakfast table or on the floor area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel. But the use of the word 'Luxury' is a bit of an over-statement.

Our room was spacious and clean. A view over the main road/busy round-about. The air conditioning was greatly appreciated.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

We were shocked at the internet use charges. £20 for 24 hours - so you are paying their monthly bill in one day!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurdieParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Located in Bantry Bay a few steps from the sea - our mini suite had a great view over the ocean from the balcony. It was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It felt like a home from home and we genuinely had a great stay there. Apart from the stunning sea-point/Bantry Bay location, it is also conveniently located round the corner from a good Spar supermarket and a Woolworth (M & S) food hall. There is a great little laundry opposite which means we got all our holiday laundry washed and pressed before we left for home! (this was just R45 per load with ironing a few rand extra). Great value. There are numerous restaurants nearby. This is an ideal hotel to stay while in Cape Town. Thank you BBLS staff for a super stay - especially France at the bar!

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room if you can - the view is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had to attend an event in Camps Bay & needed accommodation in the area. This small Hotel offered all the amenities of much larger establishments and was priced competitively. We stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites with stunning Ocean views. The actual suite was well appointed & included a small kitchenette neatly disguised behind folding doors when not being used. Although perfectly located for easy access to restaurants, pubs & clubs, being situated close to the main road does bring with it a small amount of road noise. Other than that I cannot fault the Hotel. Lovely place & I recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoubaixTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,190 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#52 of 112 in Cape Town Central
438 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $112 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel - Experience Style & Sophistication Located in wind-free Bantry Bay and a stone’s throw from the popular Sea Point Promenade, The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel offers more than just a luxury boutique hotel experience. With breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, set against a backdrop of the magnificent Lion’s Head, it is located in the most perfect location for guests to explore and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing