We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigrownie Guest House
Ranked #4 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
durban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceptional quality!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an enjoyable stay... at this very well-run guest house. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and efficient.. the rooms are comfortable and clean.. the breakfast and pool area is charming.. and the location is superb! Private terraces with sea views and the noise of the surf at night are an added bonus! There is easy access to the seafront walkway for that morning stroll... as well as being off the beaten track so as not to be too noisy and busy! Quite a find... i would love to return! Well done to Manie and the staff.. thank you.. and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Wendy

Thank you so much for taking the time to say "Thank you". I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're most welcome to return to CGH whenever you're in need of a well deserved break. :-)

I wish you all the best...
Manie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I arranged a booking at Craigrownie for my family who were travelling from out of town for my wedding. Manie (the manager) went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everything went smoothly and perfectly. No request was too small or too large for his attention, and I would recommend Craigrownie to anyone looking to spend time in the Cape Town area. In addition to the amazing service, my guests raved about the rooms and the delicious breakfasts. My heartfelt thanks to all those at Craigrownie for not only making the booking process stress-free, but for also ensuring that my guests had the trip of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nm563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Nancy

Congratulations on your wedding and I wish you both lots of happy years together :-) Thank you for your much appreciated feedback. I'm very pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us and don't worry as we enjoyed having them at CGH. Planning a wedding can be stressful and I think that you did very well. Just a thought "Your one year wedding anniversary at CGH" :-)

Warm regards to you and your family...
Manie and the CGH team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Craigrownie is a charming and delightful guest huse very near the sea. It has a lovely pool, the breakfasts were lovely and the staff very obliging. We had a lovely room with a private terrace with sea view and at night we could hear the surf. My son had a very nice room with a terrace overlooking the pool and the sea. Parking is secure and although limited this did not cause a problem and all the guests got parked. We had five good nights there at the end of Dec / Jan 2013. Most happy and would certainly return one day. Thank you Manie and Thomas.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to spread the great news :-) I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at CGH. We'll be more than happy to welcome you back to CGH...

I wish you all the best...

Kind regards
Manie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for a few nigths from 23/12/12 - 28/12/12. A very friendly place with a very pleasant location. We did not use the swimming pool and the breakfast was medium, but tasty. We did not spend much time at the geusthouse as we have family in Cape Town, but for overnight this is good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 3 has its own balcony off the bathroom with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review :-) I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at CGH.

Kind regards
Manie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

my husband and I stayed at Craigrownie in november this year. It is a very pleasant venue and we had a confortable room complete with sea view, offering an enjoyable breakfast with a good selection and pleasant service! the manager is charming and very helpful and his staff efficient. We didn't stay long but we would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area. and all the beautiful places are a stone's throw away. thank you for your warm hospitality - yvette mc donald

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, General Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Yvette

I trust that you're very well and that you had a peaceful festive season. Thank you so much for your feedback and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at CGH. You're always welcome to return ;-)

Best regards to you and your hubby.
From: Manie and staff :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at Craigrownie Guest House for 3 nights in October and absolutely loved it. The place is near the sea but also close to the city center. The staff are really nice and helpful. My room was just outside the pool, with a big comfy bed and was really nicely decorated, very clean and had a really nice feel to it. What was really nice was also the bath and thick bathropes which came really handy after a very windy day. All if this topped with a perfectly cooked breakfast makes this a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ms Lena Hansen

Thank you so much for your feedback :-) and I'm very happy to hear that you loved your stay at CGH.

I wish you all the best and you're always welcome to return to CGH.

Kind regards
Manie Smith and Staff...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Craigrownie in October 2012. This guesthouse is very money for value. Although the rooms are simple, they are clean and spacious. From the lovely terrace you can watch the ocean or relax by the small pool. It is situated in a nice residential area of Cape Town and yet close to everything. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome.
Last but not least, children are welcome (ours was 6).
Definitely a place to remember and to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Stephanie

I trust that you and your family are all very well. Thank you so much for your "positive" feedback. Was great meeting you and you're always welcome to return to CGH :-)

All the best to you and your family.

Kind regards
Manie and staff...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
893 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
488 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigrownie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigrownie Guest House

Property: Craigrownie Guest House
Address: 10 Craigrownie Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigrownie Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet cul-de sac at the foot of Lion's Head in Bantry Bay, a mere ten minutes from the heart of the Mother City, you'll find a haven of tranquility and a home away from home. The luxuriously furnished and fully equipped six en-suite bedrooms each have their own balcony offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and Lion's Head, as well as all the modern home away from home conveniences required. Wifi, air-conditioning and 4 star quality makes this THE destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigrownie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigrownie Guest House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing