We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guesthouse, near the sea and close to city centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigrownie Guest House
Ranked #5 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse, near the sea and close to city centre.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at Craigrownie Guest House for 3 nights in October and absolutely loved it. The place is near the sea but also close to the city center. The staff are really nice and helpful. My room was just outside the pool, with a big comfy bed and was really nicely decorated, very clean and had a really nice feel to it. What was really nice was also the bath and thick bathropes which came really handy after a very windy day. All if this topped with a perfectly cooked breakfast makes this a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ms Lena Hansen

Thank you so much for your feedback :-) and I'm very happy to hear that you loved your stay at CGH.

I wish you all the best and you're always welcome to return to CGH.

Kind regards
Manie Smith and Staff...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
16
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Craigrownie in October 2012. This guesthouse is very money for value. Although the rooms are simple, they are clean and spacious. From the lovely terrace you can watch the ocean or relax by the small pool. It is situated in a nice residential area of Cape Town and yet close to everything. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel welcome.
Last but not least, children are welcome (ours was 6).
Definitely a place to remember and to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Stephanie

I trust that you and your family are all very well. Thank you so much for your "positive" feedback. Was great meeting you and you're always welcome to return to CGH :-)

All the best to you and your family.

Kind regards
Manie and staff...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geer, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This very clean and spacious B&B was really money for value. The very friendly staff accommodated us in all our needs and the rooms very very nice. We had three rooms so we were able to discover more or less the whole B&B. Our own rooms had a private terrace with view on the sea and the beds were very comfortable. Important details that make your life easier are the European adapters for the power plugs and the free wifi. So thumbs up for Mani and his staff and thank you for an unforgettable stay in Capetown. Oh, and kids are welcome too...not always easy in SA...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

I trust that you're very well. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I'm more than happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our guest house. You're always welcome to return and please say hi to the two little ones :-)

I wish you and your family everything of the best.

Kind regards
Manie and staff :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at Craigrownie Guest House in November 2011.
It is a lovely quaint guesthouse in a wonderful location!
Manie, Doreen & Thomas made our stay extra special with their wonderful and friendly service.
Doreen & Thomas' breakfasts were wonderful and highly recommended!
Would definitely recommend this guesthouse for great value for money, great service and great location!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, General Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Kerre

I trust that you're all well :-) Thank you for the pleasant review. We enjoyed having you and your friends at our guest house and you're always welcome to return. We strive to improve wherever possible and it's always nice to hear that people like yourself appreciate the little things that we do.

All the best to you and your friends and family.

Kind regards
Manie, Thomas and Doreen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Would definitely recommend this guest house. Great location however lots of seagulls and birds gave us some problems sleeping. Would liked to have had an honesty bar as they do in many guest houses as it would have been nice to relax by the pool with a drink. We brought our own but as a convenience it would have been nice. Very clean and comfortable perfect for a few nights. Will book again when we are next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManieSmith, General Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Leigh

Thnak you so much for your feedback and I'll definately be happy to welcome you back to Craigrownie Guest House :-) Thank you for the tip - honesty bar :-)

I wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Manie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#68 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigrownie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigrownie Guest House

Property: Craigrownie Guest House
Address: 10 Craigrownie Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigrownie Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet cul-de sac at the foot of Lion's Head in Bantry Bay, a mere ten minutes from the heart of the Mother City, you'll find a haven of tranquility and a home away from home. The luxuriously furnished and fully equipped six en-suite bedrooms each have their own balcony offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and Lion's Head, as well as all the modern home away from home conveniences required. Wifi, air-conditioning and 4 star quality makes this THE destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craigrownie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigrownie Guest House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing