We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS !”
Review of 52 De Wet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
52 De Wet
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had an unforgettable stay at De Wet !

Service : Marnie, Russel, *David* and their team were irreproachable. Thanks so much !
Situation : no wind, safe, incredible views.
Rooms : , spacious, huge balcony (penthouse), bathroom with ocean views, X-Large very comfortable bed.

We highly recommand that Luxury Hotel.

Room Tip: Any ocean facing room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehdi_Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Bless you & thank you. It was a real pleasure having you both & David misses you dearly.
I can see him sat outside looking in as I type. You won't believe I brought him a collar yesterday & we can safely say he will not be wearing it, he's defiantly still a wild one.
Please let me know if you'd like to return, in the meantime everyone sends their regards & keep warm! Marnie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sadly we only had one night at 52 De Wet - but what a special place! We received a warm friendly welcome, despite arriving later than planned. We were immediately offered whatever we would like to drink - and a cup of tea at that point, was exactly what we needed.

We drank this is the small lounge alongside the dining room - where both breakfast and dinner (by arrangement) is served. The views at every angle from the pool deck were absolutely breathtaking.

The décor is sleek and modern, with a touch of Africa. Our room was a very generous size with a HUGE bath - as well as a shower. No view from our bath, but I understand there are other rooms that have baths with a view.

The staff members we met were friendly, efficient and helpful at all times. Breakfast was fresh and generous - everything you could think of. Hot breakfasts are made to order too.

It is such a beautiful and peaceful place that if we had had longer there, we would have been tempted to just hole up there - and not bother to go anywhere else! It really is a 'destination' in its own right.

For the really sensitive sleepers - there are frogs nearby in what I imagine is a mountain stream - I personally found the sound friendly - and made me feel as if we were deep in the countryside.

Every city option is very close by. Cabs are the easiest to get to and from 52 De Wet, but if you are there for a long stay, a car rental is probably the best choice. Lots of interesting things are in walking distance - but you have to get BACK - up quite a seriously steep hill. I'd suggest walking there....... but taking a cab BACK if you have not got a rental car.

Room Tip: Each room has its own special features - some have their own plunge pools, some have huge baths with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBarbieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review & I'm sorry I personally missed your visit but it's always a joy to know that in my absence my staff are on top of everything.
They absolutely enjoyed having you both stay and I hope you will visit for slightly longer next time, so I can have the pleasure also.

Kind Regards & Best Wishes,

The 52 De Wet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently stayed at 52 De Wet during third week of August. Excellent location, seconded with pampering super friendly service of professional team (including Russ, Marnie, Anatoly) and excellent food, made our stay homely, familiar home like feeling. Would recommend friends to visit and definitely wil revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marns23, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for the amazing review, it was a real pleasure meeting yourself & your wife.
It would be lovely to have you visit 52 De Wet in the future.

Kind Regards,
Marnie, Russell & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spend a few days for the second time at 52 de Wet!! And again it was fantastic. First time we stayed in the apartment which has a plunge pool, a lot of space and a great terrace.
Second time we booked the penthouse suite and I wished I could stay there again this year between Christmas & New Year, but already booked. View is amazing, room is spacious and the bathroom...... great
Anatoly & staff thanks for taking care of us we had again a lovely time and definitely come back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PienAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnie F, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing 52 De Wet. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a real pleasure to have you.
If you'd like to visit again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Marnie, Russell & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 19 nights at 52 De Wet in July/Aug 2013.
We were pampered by Anatoly, Russ, Marnie, Vaz and Team. Thanks guys.
We stayed in room # 4 which had a private balcony with spectacular ocean and city views.
Rate includes a sumptuous breakfast (fruits, cereals, juices, coffee, croissants, salmon, and your choice of eggs benedict, omelet, poached eggs, fried eggs, etc.).
Complimentary laundry was a very nice surprise and since we stayed for a long time, it was a huge win.
Complimentary bottled water was also a very nice touch. We usually grabbed two bottles every morning and took them on our daily walks. BTW great walks around Lions Head are easily accessible one road up on Arcadia Drive (you can walk or drive and park your car at trail entrance). Amazing views all around.
Free WiFi worked great in our room and in the common areas.
The location is very close to all the beaches and downtown Cape Town. I recommend that you rent a car as it'll be far cheaper and more convenient than using taxis. We rented a manual/stick-shift (~ half price of automatic) from Thirfty/Dollar on Chiappini St. Make sure you get online car rental prices.
For transport from/to airport, they arranged a Unicab/Unitaxi which was very reasonable at R320/~USD32.
All in all a fantastic stay and I highly recommend 52 De Wet!

Room Tip: Room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Jeremy, thank you so much for the great review.
We really enjoyed having you at 52 De Wet and are so pleased you enjoyed it.
We hope we'll see you all again in the future, until then best wishes to the family, The 52 De Wet Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Super friendly, caring and accommodating staff. Eggs Benedict was best we had in a long time. The views are spectacular!!! Modern furnishings and sleek looks. Would certainly revisit. Not all the rooms seemed to have a bath so ask if thats your preference. Loved the fresh flowers in the room. Our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMmysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for finding time and writing a feedback about your stay at 52 De Wet. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and hope welcoming you again soon. With all the best wishes, 52 De Wet family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here in early June as part of our honeymoon trip from the USA and the experience was unforgettable! We booked the penthouse suite on the top floor which was truly stunning (especially the bathroom and soaking tub) but we also took a tour of some of the other vacant rooms and I can say with certainty that you will be in great shape in any room they offer.

Great breakfast every morning, and absolutely great staff that took care of anything we asked, and then some!

The views were incredible and to put things in perspective, many people told us to go and have sundowners at the 12 apostles, but after doing that, we found that we actually preferred the views and company at our very own 52 De Wet.

The location is close to everything important yet just far enough away to feel at home. Awesome experience all round! Thanks so much to everyone!

Room Tip: if you can afford it, try the penthouse..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for nice feedback about your stay at 52 De Wet. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your trip to Cape Town. Looking forward hearing from you in the nearest future... All the best wishes from 52 De Wet Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
663 reviews
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
266 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $163 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing