We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
52 De Wet
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Compass House Boutique Hotel(Bantry Bay)(Great Value!)
$492
$450
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel(Bantry Bay)(Great Value!)
$88
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
President Hotel(Bantry Bay)(Great Value!)
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$635
$583
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa(Bantry Bay)(Great Value!)
$138
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Kings Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$49
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Point Inn(Cape Town)
$43
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mojo Hotel(Cape Town)(Great Value!)
$109
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
316
23
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
23
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousecape towninfinity poolthis small boutique hotelstunning viewsfeel at homeamazing hotelstayed one nightrooms are greatlate at nightlovely boutiquedelicious breakfastmini barresidential areaamazing servicespent nightscamps bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 349 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Super friendly, caring and accommodating staff. Eggs Benedict was best we had in a long time. The views are spectacular!!! Modern furnishings and sleek looks. Would certainly revisit. Not all the rooms seemed to have a bath so ask if thats your preference. Loved the fresh flowers in the room. Our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMmysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for finding time and writing a feedback about your stay at 52 De Wet. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and hope welcoming you again soon. With all the best wishes, 52 De Wet family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here in early June as part of our honeymoon trip from the USA and the experience was unforgettable! We booked the penthouse suite on the top floor which was truly stunning (especially the bathroom and soaking tub) but we also took a tour of some of the other vacant rooms and I can say with certainty that you will be in great shape in any room they offer.

Great breakfast every morning, and absolutely great staff that took care of anything we asked, and then some!

The views were incredible and to put things in perspective, many people told us to go and have sundowners at the 12 apostles, but after doing that, we found that we actually preferred the views and company at our very own 52 De Wet.

The location is close to everything important yet just far enough away to feel at home. Awesome experience all round! Thanks so much to everyone!

Room Tip: if you can afford it, try the penthouse..
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for nice feedback about your stay at 52 De Wet. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your trip to Cape Town. Looking forward hearing from you in the nearest future... All the best wishes from 52 De Wet Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came to Cape Town for a wedding. As usual I do not book accomodation till the very last minute as we never know where we will end up after a day of wine tasting. This time was no different. At 9pm I searched on the internet and found 52 Dewet. I phoned and spoke to Anatoly who was extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived Anatoly helped us with our luggage and pored us a glass of wine. He even made us some nice sandwiches. The next morning we were served a very tasty breakfast. My girlfriend misplaced her purse and was returned to us on departure. I would recommend 52 Dewet to anyone. Christo van Jaarsveld.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristovJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Christov,
Thank you very much for finding time and posting feedback of your stay at 52 De Wet. It was greatest pleasure to accommodate you at such a short notice. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and looking forward welcoming you again in nearest future. Best regards, 52 De Wet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been to Cape Town a number of times in recent years. We have stayed in a number of establishments and we thought we had lived in the best. How mistaken we were.I was weary to book off the net because of my previous experience in Cape Town .It was a little difficult to find even with a gps.But low and behold. I was not expecting anything like this. The views are to die for. The management and staff are so welcoming and sincere. It was never a problem to get anything from a wine glass to a slice of an excellent homemade cake. Someone was always at hand to welcome us back home.Thanks guys we really appreciated your great caring attitude.Russel thanks for the excellent meals. It was like us having our own chef.Anatoly, thanks for always being there in front office. Marnie, u know what a woman loves... my wife was impressed.Make that me too.keep it up. We will be back sooner than you think.

Room Tip: We used the penthouse suite. Stunning. The pixs you see in the review are real. This was not photoshot.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Anesh, Thank you very much for you writing you review straight after your departure. It means a lot to us that you had a pleasant stay at 52 De Wet. We are looking forward for you and your wife to become one of our regular clients and good friends. Hope welcoming you again very soon! Till then, keep well! Anatoly, Marnie, Russel and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel 52 de Wet was simply outstanding. It was the highlight of our visit to South Africa in so many regards.
First and foremost, Willy and Anatoly were great. They always went out of their way to ensure that we were well hosted and always made to feel at home in the hotel. Willy in particular was an absolutely pleasure one early evening as we regaled us with his noteworthy knowledge about South African wines.

Second, if you can't tell from the photographs, the hotel has simply exquisite views. Our room in particular was on the top floor, had a lovely private terrace, and floor to ceiling windows in both the bedroom and bathroom with which to gaze out at the coastline and the city. On top of the that, everything was immaculately clean and tended to. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable, the closet space was huge, and the bathroom and towels rivaled most others that I've ever used. Unfortunatley, one minor inconvenience was that the wireless internet never seemed to work consistently in our room, although it functioned perfectly in the rest of the hotel.

Third, while it was a bit cool most days, the hotel had a lovely pool and wonderful terraces with which to sit and relax. Moreover, the living areas also enjoyed wonderful views and very comfortable couches to lounge about in prior to dinner. We did make good use of them as a result of the above-mentioned problems with the wifi in our room and they proved more than sufficient to the case.

Last, breakfasts were excellent. A pleasant buffett was set for pastries, hams and such, and the kitchen provided wonderfully cooked eggs, bacon, and whatever else we might have wanted. Indeed, waking up in the morning and enjoying a lazy start to the day over breakfast was one of our favorite parts of the trip.

Basically, it was just an awesome experience. For those of you seeking a lot more action and activity, Camps Bay might prove more appropriate what with its hustle and bustle. However, we were more than happy with the calm and peaceful environs of 52 de Wet in Bantry Bay and ended up spending quite a good deal of time on site. Moreover, we had a rental car and the trip to Camps Bay to meet up with friends was short and easy. We really couldn't have asked for more and I only regret that we didn't have the chance to stay longer. Should I find myself back in Cape Town, this is where I'm staying the entire trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed special from what we could tell, but the penthouse, where we stayed, was truly special.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback from your stay at 52 De Wet. We are very pleased that you had a great experience of a Cape Town. We have taken your comment about the Wi-Fi reception and will improve it accordingly. We will be also very delightful to welcome you again one day! Best wishes from the whole 52 De Wet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews