We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I travelledwith our 2 daughters in their 20's. We have stayed at some great hotels and resorts in years gone by, but the Clarendon Bantry Bay was Outstanding. It is a small boutique hotel with a spectacular view overlokking the bay. The entire hotel has been decorated to the highest standards. Te breakfast is outstanding, and the service from all staff is 5*+.
Should we ever make it back to Cape Town we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here on our first trip to Cape Town earlier this month. It's a teeny tiny hotel with excellent personal service. All the staff went beyond the call to make our experience excellent. Views over the ocean are breathtaking. Rooms are spacious and designed to be stylish and also very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is scrumptious. Location is good - not far from downtown by taxi and close to Camps Bay where the good beach and restaurants are. And price for what you get is lovely!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porkoprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is almost as good as the Camps Bay Retreat, just not as much nature around. The rooms are great, an unbelievable bay view (I wonder if this can be had anywhere else on the world for such a price...).
The bathroom is equipped with rainshower, minibar is fully stocked and the rooms are nice and spacious. Various pillows to your comfort. The pool is nice and clean and actively cleaned every morning. Nice rest area and great sunbrellas. At night we even got candles to light our way outside on the stairs. :-)

Room Tip: Room 20 is right on the pool. Standard category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have traveled Cape Town 4 times for Cape Argus bicycle race and stayed on different places. The Clarendon - villa Bantry Bay is without any doubts the best place. Great view, nice place, fantastic service and more great small things could be said about this marvelous place. Place not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoohPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We always feel so welcome and at home at the Clarendon Bantry Bay. The atention to detail, the comfort, the sumptuous breakfast and tea, the setting, the friendly professional service and personal touch all combine to give this Luxury Guest House 10/10. Its a luxury "Home from home".
During our last stay my wife took ill. The owner Shirley and her staff bent over backwards in every respect to help us through this time. We would highly recommend The Clarendon Bantry Bay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our 28 day trip to South Africa was punctuated by 4 different stays in Cape Town, with all our stays at this fabulous guest house. The four of us were so well treated by every staff member on each an every moment of our different stays, it felt more like being at home than any other place we have ever stayed.
The location was perfect for us as we were close enough to the wharf area or to Camps Bay to reach either in minutes. We each stayed in 3 of their rooms and all were different, well appointed, and very roomy suite stye rooms. The view off the balconies of every room we stayed in, not to mention the public area where breakfast or tea was offered was as beautiful as anywhere on earth. Bantry Bay and the Atlantic Ocean from our perch on the side of the hill above the bay is a stunning vista, and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancoriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have just returned from an eleven day stay at The Clarendon at Bantry Bay and it could not have been better. We were given the most incredible room at the top of this lovely 10 roomed guest house. The room was huge, beautifully decorated with a large terrace overlooking the bay. Shirley Lipschitz, the owner/manager could not have done any more to make us feel welcome, special and utterly cared for; and her staff were helpful, cheerful and always charming. A stay here is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKatieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
328 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
0 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#3 of 6 in Bantry Bay
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Bantry Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Bantry Bay

Address: 158 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $371 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clarendon Bantry Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel in the best area of Cape Town. Close to beaches, shops and restaurants. 7 Mins drive from the V & A Waterfront. 10 Mins to the City Centre and 5 mins to Camps Bay. We have 2 resident chefs, parking and free wi fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarendon Bantry Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Hotel Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing