We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only perfect!”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

You cant really write a report about Compass House, its something you have to see by yourself. ITS JUST PERFECT in every meaning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFinland32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 239 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

Fantastic views, matched by comfort, attention to details and service. Safe environment. Very very worthwhile experience

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a new boutique hotel situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic ocean. It's a few kilometers from downtown and has many restaurants, shops and supermarkets just down the hill.

The owner Olivier's Swiss heritage is clearly seen in the design of the hotel. It is impressive in it's styling and attention to detail - from the infinity pool, to the Linn home audio system in every room, to the selections of wines, all the way to the minute details in the decoration and styling. All the furniture and materials are South African.

Thanks for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Have travelled all over and Compass House rates very high of all places we've stayed in.

The location and view is breathtaking.
Compass House has a very elegant decor .
You will appreciate the tranquility and ambiance of CH.
CH is very suitable for a romantic stay.
Olivier is a perfect host and spares no effort in advising what to do in Capetown.

We have recommended CH to several friends in many countries already.
Do not miss the opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BloomsHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed in COMPASS HOUSE, Cape Town 2 weeks (end january/beginning february 2009). Its was not my first time in Cape town but my first time in COMPASS HOUSE. This small "boutique" hotel is simply wonderful :
1- The hotel is centrally located, in a quiet and "wind free" area (very important since wind can be a serious dark point in Cape Town). It has a view to die for !
2- the service is just perfect, discreet and efficient. Even from the owner (french speaking) of the hotel who is fully dedicated to his guests' well being.
3- The rooms are fully equipped with modern furniture and high tech music and video equipments.
4- The pool is amazing (huge) and the pool area very quiet with breathtaking view on the Atlantic Ocean.
5- If you can afford, spend at least one night in the luxury suite and enjoy your Champagne flute in the private terrace jaccuzzi, watching sunset : unforgettable experience !

I've already recommended Compass House to friends who stayed there and fully share my opinion about this hotel. Try it, you'll sure love it !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludopata1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is the best boutique hotel on earth. The location, pool, rooms, service and atmosphere are amazing. Forget camps bay this is way better than everything else in town. Olivier is a great host and amandine makes you feel at home. Roel & Esther

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We had a superb stay at Compass House ! Great design, magnificent vieuw, beautiful and very comfartable rooms and very kind and helpfull Olivier and Rudolph. We had a great time with you !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarelHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $304 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing