We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, highly recommend”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, highly recommend”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Oh wow !! What a lovely boutique hotel. Great views from all rooms, lovely pool area, fabulous lounge area with sea views too. Great rooms, although on our visit I think the plumbing needed attending to. However, this did not mar our visit and with an honesty bar, which we made use of and honestly recorded what we had, it was a most pleasant and enjoyable stay.

If you ever dreamt of a house by the sea with all the mod cons, then this is a good role model.

Absolutely loved our 2 night stay here ans recommend highly.

Room Tip: All appear to be good, ground floor ones have a terrace you can sit out on, while upstairs have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
156
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I would highly recommend Compass House, the view is spectacular and the infinity pool outstanding.
Only draw back being a very firm mattress, and no cooked breakfast, with the exception of a boiled egg, but having said that, a wonderful continental breakfast provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David_M1234London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A typical Cape Town "mansion turned into boutique hotel", Compass House is a good hotel, but not the best that we've stayed in.

The hotel is very well located in Bantry Bay. It's very convenient to the beaches of Clifton and Camp's Bay, though you should plan on having a car (or uber account) as there's very little within walking distance. The single best part about the location is the view though! Virtually everywhere you are you have brilliant views to the ocean.

The rooms are also very good sized, the bathrooms are excellent, and they're well decorated. The cleaning staff do a fantastic job as well. And the honour bar is so cheap there's no point in not using it.

However, there are definitely some negatives. Our room had exactly 1 available power socket, which was probably fine when the house was converted to a hotel, but we had 8 devices we were trying to keep charged. In addition, the internet service is truly dire. It's a slow service at best, but the wifi access points can't penetrate very far, so it's a frustrating experience attempting to use the internet (we had to leave our iPads on the floor next to the door just to download the paper).

The pool is gorgeous, but it's not heated. Just something to be aware of.

All of that would be just little details, if it wasn't for the unfriendly staff. Between the two of us we've been at least 10 times to Cape Town, and neither of us ever had such unfriendly staff. I don't know if it was that it was the very end of a very long and busy season (we were in late February), but the staff were aloof and distant. That's everybody: the owner, the manager, the staff.

We would have been fine with that, until there was one day when the owner was actually friendly with every other guest other than us. Not sure if they were long standing friends of his, but it really didn't make us feel particularly welcome.

With so many fantastic alternatives, we won't be going back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KirkWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Küsnacht, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

For the 4th year in a row we spent another amazing 2 weeks at this ***** bed and breakfast in the residential "posh" area Bantry Bay, Cape Town. The rooms are stylish, cosy, with all amenities from fridge, free WiFi to air conditioning, TV and very tasteful bath rooms. The huge infinity pool with unobstructed views to the sea, set in a lovely tropical garden with large pool deck and honesty bar is second to none. And the daily breakfast buffet is in a league of its own - including fresh croissants and pains au chocolat flown in from Europe. A turly home from home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Waxmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location with beautiful ocean views and wake to the noise of waves crashing against the shore. If just the location it would be fantastic but also a beayutiful hotel with large, luxurious rooms and a large infinity pool that straddled the width of the garden. The Manager Rudi was also extremely helpful and knowledgable booking great restaurants and advising on routes etc. Absolutely first class and very strongest recommendation.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has a very private balcony and is very quiet. Think it's probably best othje...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

our stay at compass house was truly special. the house itself is beautiful and lovingly decorated, the rooms very nice, quiet and clean, breakfast delicious (we loved the warm, really good bread and croissants!) and the staff is very helpful and nice. but the pool and the view are TRULY EXCEPTIONAL. everything about this place is thought through, is lovingly decorated in order to make one feel truly relaxed. and it has the best infinity pool and view! rudolph, the manager and olivier, the owner are most wonderful, helpful and make you feel truly welcome. an exceptional boutique hotel that i can only recommend highly! PS: in 10 minutes you can reach main st. and the beach on foot, the area is safe, so occasionally stepping out for dinner or a walk on the beach is no problem. :-) we will definitely return. first class with best view and pool.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 and loved it! its a little bigger and it is wonderful to sit outside on your lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elkspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Compass House for 4 nights in January in one of the pool side rooms. The hotel itself is very well designed with some very special places to relax - both inside and out. Breakfast with a remarkable view and a lot of choice - great freshly squeezed OJ!
The outside area and infinity pool is by far the best feature.
Overall the place had a very personal and boutique hotel feel. We were very sorry to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing