We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Relaxed, Great View, Nice Staff”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Relaxed, Great View, Nice Staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent a week there in November 2013.
Compass house has a very good location, situated higher on the hill with a great view.
It is a small boutique hotel with very large lobby and terrasse, so you always have enough place to relax. The attentive staff makes the stay here just more convenient. We also enjoyed the fine breakfast wit a variety of sweets, jams, meat and ham, juices,...
We thank the staff Rudolph and Oliver .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realistic_Review1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
155
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The one word that most comes to mind is "comfortable". From the moment you arrive to a glass of wine on the patio while you get checked in until the time you leave, everything about this place is relaxing, simple, and comfortable. The view is beautiful, the rooms are simply and tastefully decorated in natural wood and stone, the staff is friendly and eager to help with any arrangements you need, and the location is an easy walk down to the restaurants, shops, and beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at the Compass House mid November 2013, in Room 4, which is the centre room, opening to a beautiful shared terrace with a magnificent infinity pool, overlooking the bay. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Rudolph who had a glass of chilled local wine and some snacks prepared for us, whilst we were trying to pry our eyes away from the magnificent view you get from all levels and rooms of the hotel. We had the same extraordinary view from the room, a fantastically comfy bed, luxury Roman style bathroom (within it separated shower, toilet and bathtub). We had a great chat with Rudolph who then suggested for us to go to La Perla for dinner, just a 10min stroll to the beach. Perfect recommendation! The breakfast at the hotel was also superb, fresh orange juice, freshly baked bread and croissants (!!), exotic fruits all freshly cut up for us to enjoy, about 20 different local jams, teas and honeys and a continued view of the magnificent bay as we had breakfast on the terrace. The hotel also has bikes you can take (2 available so just need to reserve them), closed parking space, and a great location whatever form of transport you choose (including no transport at all, we walked to the beach, to V&A Waterfront and to the town centre without a problem). The hotel offers perfect privacy as well as the opportunity to meet others on the terrace should you want to. There is an honesty bar for anytime to use. Rudolph is your man for any local recommendations, and a great source of info on life in Cape Town in general. Overall SUPERB stay, we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekers2therescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Compass House during a 2 week holiday in South Africa. The Team are friendly and attentive, and the hotel extremely clean and comfortable, peaceful and well situated. I particularly enjoyed the 20mtr swimming pool. The website photos do show a true reflection of the hotel's offering. Olivier (Owner), along with Rudolph (Manager) certainly know how to deliver a true hospitality experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We love this place! The staff are cool and relaxed as is the hotel itself. Stunning views and wonderful wine in the honesty bar. What more can you need.
You're slap bang In the middle of everything with the V and A just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A beautiful and tranquil place in the civilised suburb of 'non windy' Bantry Bay, Compass House takes your breath away as soon as you walk in. The Swiss owner, Oliver then invites you to have a glass if chilled South African wine on the deck overlooking the infinity pool and then ocean - and you feel like you have discovered a little piece of heaven.
Spacious rooms, huge bathrooms with mood lighting and chilled out music playing throughout, if you want it, add to the ambiance. I think the flat screen TVs are a recent addition and the wiring visible could do with being covered but other than that - perfect. We never wanted to watch TV anyway!
Our room was on the same level as the pool which was perfect for an early morning dip even though the weather let us down during our three days at Compass House. My husband swam in the rain regardless.
The smell of freshly baked pain au chocolate wafting down the stairs entices you up to breakfast each morning where there is a lovely choice of homemade preserves, cheeses and meats. If you come home late then there is an honesty bar which seems to be the norm in South Africa.
Oliver's able assistant, Rudolph is also on hand for help with anything.
We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in our room rather than centrally and also I was surprised to be charged extra for these.
There is off road parking within the gates but it might be a bit tight if you have a big car.

A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the same level as the pool if you want to be able to be in easy reach of a dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is not an ordinary hotel. It is actually not a hotel (apart from the fact that you have to pay to stay maybe). This is a house. A very beautiful one. On welcome you will not get anything usual. You will be greeted warmly and be offered a glass of wine, champagne etc. while you are seated on a beautiful living room to fill in the necessary papers. You will probably notice the beautiful kitchen and the unique furnitures that are lit by the sunshine coming from the big windows that look into the Atlantic ocean. Zen music is always on creating a unique atmosphere. Breakfast buffet is great. Spend time in and relax. This is a unique place. Enjoy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaMan426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
258 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Bantry Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing