We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the effort”

Drakenstein Lion Park
Ranked #202 of 1,025 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“worth the effort”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A bit difficult to find, but worth the effort to visit this park. The lions are well cared for and not made to do amusing antics just for business. go just before feeding time, 3 times a week in the afternoons, when the lions are especially active. the staff are helpful and provide good insights on the lions. worth supporting!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenyapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited Drakenstein in June this year and it was a real highlight of our holiday. To read the stories of the lions is heartbreaking but then to see how happy they look in their new lives is absolutely wonderful. It is never ideal to see wild animals behind wire but considering their previous lives, these animals are much better off where they are now. We stayed overnight in a tent in the park. The tent was quite comfortable and the dinner cooked by one of the staff was very tasty but the noises the lions made during the night was the most incredible part of the experience. Overall a very worthwhile concept and organisation well worth supporting with a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wonga26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for an amazing humane organization”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was fortunate to visit the Drakenstein Lion Park twice in one week. I went first with friends on a sunny afternoon to see the lion feeding. Being in the humane industry, I am always looking at animal care with a critical eye, and I ask all the strange questions most guests wouldn't ask. (What's your budget? What's the cost of upkeep per lion? etc.) The staff were all warm, open, and anxious to talk about their ambition to rescue and care for lions in need.
I returned later in the week to spend a night in one of the tents at the park. Such a nice, but simple, set up. The accommodation are definitely the nicest side of "roughing it," with regular beds and running water. One of the attendants made us dinner, and the lions were happily attentive to us, running and playing as the sun went down. Truly a unique experience, and would be great for a group of animal loving friends. I found the prices at the park to be more than reasonable in their prices.
I applaud Drakenstein Lion Park for their efforts to treat these gorgeous creatures with the respect and care they deserve.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraLee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hidden gem 60 kms from cape town a must see”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

visited with school excursion .wonderful experience camping facilities available @ R600PER NIGHT PER PERSON.easily accesable just of the N 1 national rd .use exit 39 .entrance fees R5o per adult .60 km from cape town close to Paarl and Francshoek.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank aqsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accommodation with a difference”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stay in tents amongst the lions.
These animals are not captive they are rescued from often awful conditions. The park staff are wonderfully comitted people with a real love for animals and an equal level of care towards their human guests
With only 4 tents (of various sizes), the service is very personal, but not intrusive. I had a fantastic stay and the noises during the night from the lions 'just outside' the tent was the icing on the cake!

Helpful?
Thank Chris1190472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakenstein Lion Park also viewed

 

Been to Drakenstein Lion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing