We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing”

Chapman's Peak Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$244.47*
and up
Sea Kayaking and Cape Point Private Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$52.78*
and up
Urban Safari in Cape Town
More Info
$73.73*
and up
Guided Morning Coastal Cycle Tour in Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 1,036 things to do in Western Cape
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chapman’s Peak Drive toll road winds its way between Noordhoek and Hout Bay on the Atlantic Coast on the south-western tip of South Africa. Chapman’s Peak Drive is one of the most spectacular marine drives in the world. Chapman’s Peak Drive is affectionately known as #Chappies.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most Amazing”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This has been the most amazing drive I've been on in a long time.
Definitely will go back every time just to see the most spectacular views.

Cape Town is truly a beautiful place and there are so many things to see, this should be one at the top of everyone's list.

Loved every moment of it!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kanasashi_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    127
    17
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oberwil-Lieli, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Take your time”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was probably one of the nicest drives we made during our stay in S.A. Unfortunately the weather only turned in our favour after we had finished the drive, but nonetheless it was a beautiful drive. There are plenty of points where you can stop and enjoy the scenery, which we did on many ocassions.

The road is paved, so it's not difficult to drive it, but you do need to keep your eyes on the road as every curve can be different.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Challenge: Keep your eyes on the road”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Drive from South to North and take in the magnificent views over Hout Bay. The biggest issue is trying to watch where you're going because the views are so encapturing. However there are plenty of lay-bys along the way to pull in and take in the views. Would really recommend doing this if you have access to a car. Well worth it! Note there is small toll charge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinBrian92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING VIEW ALL THE WAY!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This 9 km drive from Hout Bay to Noordhoek with its 114 curves offers endless stunning scenery over the coastline and mountains. Stop at Chapman's Peak to enjoy panoramic view across the deep blue waters of Atlantic ocean and the beautiful coastline. We drove through this spectacular route on our way from Cape Town to Simon's Town. There are endless curves and twists and at every twist you will be surprised by astonishing beauty of the majestic Cape Town scenery. Don't miss it when you visit Cape Town!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VANESSA983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wow, what a scenery”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I drove on Chapman's Peak Drive from south to north so I could be on the "view" side of the road (in South Africa, you drive on the left). This drive has breathtaking views. Too bad there are not enough places to stop. The closer to you get Hout Bay, the easier the road gets and there are more curbs on the side to stop by. It's not an easy drive. Narrow road on a cliff but it's worth it. You pay R36 for a regular car, that comes to about $3 as of now (March 2014). Also, this is the only place where you can see Hout Bay right from across (unless you get there on a boat), and it is a gorgeous view.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Peak Drive also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Chapman's Peak Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing