We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice at sun city”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Cabanas is not exceptional but not that bad as well. Didn't stay at the other hotels at sun city, so couldn't compare, but I believe its a good starter. Plenty of facility available but I enjoyed the valley of waves most, and if u stay with the hotel u get a free entrance to the valley of waves, so don't miss it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for sending a review on your recent stay at Cabanas. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay and the overall activities we have on our resort.

We hope you will take time again and visit us to enjoy more.

Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 723 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a fabulous stay here
went with my partner and was amazed. At the time of my visit room was beautifully appointed, heard not a peep from the people around me. The level of service was amazing and the selection of food at breakfast was divine. Obviously the furthest from the main "attractions" but the walk was fine.
We used the tours offered on site to go to the Lion Park and a sunset safari an experience I will remember for the rest of my life

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank megwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you took good memories with you and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon bringing more friends and family to enjoy our resort

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I called central reservations to Make a res they gave me another no to call. It took me 3 days of trying to get through.On the 3rd day after 10 minutes of ringing Sharon answered the call.She was extremely professional and a pleasure to deal with.I told her how long the phone rang however she said on her side it rang once.this maybe a technical issue you need to look into. It's my honeymoon I was making bookings for.Sharon asked me for Payment I did not have my credit card so I said I'd do an Eft. I did not have time to do it so I called the hotel to give my CC details as a guarantee OMG to my shock some guy answered the call I thought I reached someone's home line. I asked 3 times is this the Cabanas.I eventually heard it was Joseph. I told him I want to guarantee my booking he said he couldn't do it I must call after 8 the next day.He was quiet rude saying he cold only see reservations for the current day not for future dates. What a load of crap. I asked if I wanted to confirm my booking what would he do.He put me on hold and when he returned he miraculously was able to confirm a future booking. I wanted to cancel the booking because I was afraid of what will happen on arrival my honeymoon however my better half wants to stay here. Management I am appealing to you please ensure my stay will be pleasant unlike my experience thus far. This is a special day for us so please don't allow it to be ruined. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley_Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for this review on your experience in making sure your booking is guaranteed. We apologise that it was not easy to do so and all before you even come and stay with us.

Please will you email me your details as we want your honeymoon to be the best. My email address is ntebi.mathope@suninternational.com.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We checked in at the Cabanas on the morning of the 20th of dec, 2013. We were checked in to a room and we were totally shocked to discover the room in complete shambles...the bed was not made....the toilet was dirty. We immediately informed the reception and they promised to send someone. But they took a long time to come and after repeated complaints, we were shifted to another room. The rooms were desperately in need of renovation. The sofas were stained and dirty. The curtains were dirty and unwashed. The bathroom was stained and definitely needed a renovation. We are frequent travellers and every decent hotel we've stayed in offers atleast a complimentary bottle of mineral water every day. But not in Cabanas. Dinner buffet was offered in the evening but the names of the dishes were not mentioned. As a result , we had to keep on asking the waiters and they seemed confused, too. The food offered definitely did not measure up at all as compared to the cost. The lawns were not kept clean...there were burning cigerettes in the grass on the lawn. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to my friends !

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are a bit quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nilakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for sending us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologise for not meeting your expectations. We will address all areas mentioned.

We continuously strive to make all our guests happy. We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a quick 3 day visit with my two 10 year old daughters,the room was spotlessly clean,air con worked well and staff were courteous and attentive throughout.I have been an international traveller for many years so my standards are high!I am surprised by some of the other reviews,we were delighted with our experience and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alithea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear guest

We are so happy to receive a review from you about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed Cabanas and found it to be your best destination.

Thank you very much for this and we will keep on working hard to make all our guests happy


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been going to Sun City for a number of years and the experience has always been great except for the last couple of months. We stayed at the Cabanas the weekend and boy - I will never ever stay over at Sun City Again. We had family from Europe and they are visiting South Africa for the first time, we thought we would proudly show off our "Sun City" unfortunately it was disappointing.
We waited extremely long to check in.
The family standard room is small and we were not supplied with bedding for our 7 year old daughter, wee needed to call reception.
Our safe was out of batteries (that could be overlooked)
Our floor was so sticky that it wanted to make me vomit
Our bathroom was horrible, shocking shocking maintenance (I actually took photos but wont post)
Prices are ridiculous and we still have to pay R250 per person for dinner?!?
Our German family member who cant speak English was treated so rudely by the bar staff-he was very embarrassed
Service took min 30min while we were at the bar
Fish Monger - Service shocking, lack of skills, no plates or knives and forks on tables and after waiting over an hour our food came cold. After speaking to Manager he told us he told the kitchen to not serve cold food. How did that help us????? We still paid full for our food.
Valley of the Waves - Horrible service and the pool deck bar - disgusting treatment! After waiting 30min my fiancé asked the one woman if she can please help, she answered horribly No!
OH yes and at the beach bar you pay anywhere from R45-R55 for a small cocktail. Is it normal to pour 2 glasses from 1 tot of alcohol and pay double the price??We questioned the lady to why she was doing this, she said all cocktails only have a 1/2 a tot -BULL. You ripping your bread and butter off!

I am so angry. I do not remember growing up to a this Sun City...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for giving us feedback on your stay with us at Cabanas. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience and promise you that these are not our standards.

The feedback you gave us is helping us improve on our daily running of the hotel. These issues will be addressed to ensure that they do not happen again.

We will also send this report to other places mentioned in order for the outlets to address these issues.

Apologies once again to you and your guests.

Kind regards

Ntebi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Checked in 2nd Jan 14, took room 2229& 2230, still here till 8th, the service here is horrible , rooms r not cleaned , linen not changed till I complained, food horrible! Staff has a tendency to speak in Tswana thinking that u don't understand , staff has to be trained in customer service, it doesn't matter how many times u complain no 1 will apologise even managers like Obakeng & Jack. Feel like am at a 1*, chose to ignore previous negative reviews till I experienced it my self. Will not advise any friend to come to cabanas ,,,,,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for this feedback on your holiday. I am glad to say that all was sorted out after we met.

I really apologise for this and can confirm that these are not our standards at Cabanas.

Kind regards

Ntebi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
625 reviews
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $128 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas hotel offers guests a contemporary twist and great ‘base’ to explore the resort. As the sun sets over the open spaces and rolling lawns the nights begin at the Cabanas Pool Deck, with chic cocktails and a vibrant island setting. No other resort in South Africa has as wide a variety of accommodation options as Sun City. If you’re looking for unsurpassed 5-star luxury, something to suit the whole family, or your own comfortable unit away from the crowds – we’ve got everything you need. Each hotel has its own unique style, character and attractions. These are your five Sun City accommodation options: The Palace of the Lost City, part of the Sunlux Collection. The 5-star Cascades hotel is elegant, comfortable and central to all of Sun City’s attractions. The flamboyant 4-star Soho hotel boasting the Sun City Casino where all the action is. The 3-star Cabanas hotel and the self-catering time share option, Sun Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing