We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, bad rooms”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Within the first few hours of arriving, I could tell that this hotel would not suffice. Firstly, there was no parking available and I had to park quite a distance away while carrying luggage. The reception area was unnecessarily overcrowded with Waterworld visitors. After a long time trying to check in, and finally getting to the room, it was noticed that the TV was not operating properly, the shower door did not close, and the shower drain was completely blocked. However, a thank you goes out to Maureen who tried to help the situation, which eventually resulted in me having to get another hotel. For the price paid at The Cabanas, it is not worth it, rather spend a little more for the Sun City Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the feedback received about our recent stay. It is with regret that we failed to create a Million Thrills during your stay.

We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again. We will pass the compliments to Maureen for moving you to another hotel in order to experience our Resort different.

Kind regards

Ntebi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 774 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Sun city is a fun place to be for couple of days. The casino, pool and other stuff will make your day's. Unfortunately, the hotel room was to old and definitely need a renowation. Although the stuff was helpful, we needed to wait to take showers because there were no towels in the room. If you have a few bucks more to spend, I recommend to stay in another hotel at Sun City.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank UgurYal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on your stay at our Hotel. We also want to say that we apologise for not creating thrills during your stay. We have addressed the issue with housekeeping.

We apologise for the inconvenience and wish to see you soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The postive about our 3 day stay was the friendly and helpfull porters and security staff.
Our room was a smoking room ,with an old tv and a shower with a slippery floor
The pubs are not properly stocked and the waiters are not doing their jobs
All in all a total rip off

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to let us know how you experienced our hotel.


We apoplogise that some parts of your holiday were not what you expected. We hope to see you again in order to experience all the activities positively. Sincere apologies.


Kind regards


Ntebi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was a total disaster. Firstly the room was not up to scratch as the bathroom door couldn't close properly and air-conditioning didn't work. It also took a full day for someone to repair the leaking fridge. The service however wasn't any better, staff at the breakfast didn't know the difference between 'muesli' and 'music' and the lady at the breakfast clearly tried ripping us off by charging different rates every morning. Reception staff are unfriendly and seems like customer service doesn't mean much around here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JhbScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention. We would like to apologise for this and assures you that these are not the standards we strive for.

We will address all the issues you mentioned and take staff through training to correct the behaviour.

Once again we apologise for not creating thrills when you stayed with us.

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the opertunity to stay in the Cabanas for 5 days. We had exellent service, helpfull and friendly staff. The rooms were in immaculate condition. Opening the door you look over the lake and garden. All in all we were happy with out stay.
Jose and Andre Myburgh
Star Riders of South Africa

Room Tip: Choose the room with a garden and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Myburgh

Thank you very much for the good feedback on your biker''s week stay. We are glad that you had a wonderful time with us at Cabanas. These are the standards we strive for at our hotel.

We hope to see you soon.

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a friend celebrating my birthday, I do believe that for a 3 star hotel this is definately worth the while. The staff were friendly and helpful and the other guests staying at the hotel were very entertaining. There was much more fun and going on at the Cabanas than at the other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalavani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for eth positive feedback received from you about our hotel. We value your support and feedback very much.

We are glad that you found the Cabanas full of friendly and helpful staff. These are the standards we always strive for.

We hope to see you soon


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Cabanas for 3 nights and 4 days in early spring. The service by the porters, concierge and receptionists were excellent, they really went out of their way to provide us with information and to assist us with our queries.

The hotel room had everything we could have asked for. It was equipped with an electronic safe, bar fridge and kettle with coffee/tea facilities. The room had a double bed and a sleeper couch and could accommodate 2 adults and 2 children - it was a bit of tight fit though. The colouring scheme of the room was cream and pink and very relaxing. On the opposite side of the door to the hotel room, there was a sliding door that opened onto hotel gardens and there were two pool chairs for us to relax in. Although we could not hear the neighbours in adjoining rooms talk or hear their TVs, we did hear their toilets flushing and the water running when they had a shower/bath.

The rooms were cleaned daily and the service was good. The bathroom had a bath and shower in one. There was also a washing line to hang wet swimsuits and towels on - this proved very useful during our stay.

The hotel has a large pool with a lifeguard on duty the whole day. There are plenty of loungers at the pool and also a bar to order drinks from while lying in the sun. Towels can be rented. The facilities were clean and of a high standard.

A buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and was scrumptious. There was something for everyone, halaal food is also provided.

The Cabanas are located close to Water World with lots to do for kids and adults alike. Transport is provided throughout the Sun City Complex through shuttles and buses. In other parts of the Sun City complex there are also lots to do such as butterfly world, the maze, Valley of the Waves and the entertainment centre.

The Cabanas is the cheapest of the Sun City complex's hotels, but it is still somewhat expensive even though kids under 18 stay for free (2 kids for 2 paying adults). We did enjoy our time there thoroughly and our daughter didn't want to leave - so it was worth it!

Room Tip: If noise from adjoining rooms is an issue for you, ask for a unit on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. We value the time you took to send this to us.

We at Cabanas are happy that you experienced the thrills that we continue to give to our guests. It is with your feedback that we grow and rectify our mistakes. We also hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.8 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
655 reviews
24.1 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
508 reviews
3 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
861 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $137 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas hotel offers guests a contemporary twist and great ‘base’ to explore the resort. As the sun sets over the open spaces and rolling lawns the nights begin at the Cabanas Pool Deck, with chic cocktails and a vibrant island setting. No other resort in South Africa has as wide a variety of accommodation options as Sun City. If you’re looking for unsurpassed 5-star luxury, something to suit the whole family, or your own comfortable unit away from the crowds – we’ve got everything you need. Each hotel has its own unique style, character and attractions. These are your five Sun City accommodation options: The Palace of the Lost City, part of the Sunlux Collection. The 5-star Cascades hotel is elegant, comfortable and central to all of Sun City’s attractions. The flamboyant 4-star Soho hotel boasting the Sun City Casino where all the action is. The 3-star Cabanas hotel and the self-catering time share option, Sun Vacation Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing