We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Cabanas, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabanas, Sun City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with a friend celebrating my birthday, I do believe that for a 3 star hotel this is definately worth the while. The staff were friendly and helpful and the other guests staying at the hotel were very entertaining. There was much more fun and going on at the Cabanas than at the other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalavani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for eth positive feedback received from you about our hotel. We value your support and feedback very much.

We are glad that you found the Cabanas full of friendly and helpful staff. These are the standards we always strive for.

We hope to see you soon


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    234
    188
    91
    80
See reviews for
339
173
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Cabanas for 3 nights and 4 days in early spring. The service by the porters, concierge and receptionists were excellent, they really went out of their way to provide us with information and to assist us with our queries.

The hotel room had everything we could have asked for. It was equipped with an electronic safe, bar fridge and kettle with coffee/tea facilities. The room had a double bed and a sleeper couch and could accommodate 2 adults and 2 children - it was a bit of tight fit though. The colouring scheme of the room was cream and pink and very relaxing. On the opposite side of the door to the hotel room, there was a sliding door that opened onto hotel gardens and there were two pool chairs for us to relax in. Although we could not hear the neighbours in adjoining rooms talk or hear their TVs, we did hear their toilets flushing and the water running when they had a shower/bath.

The rooms were cleaned daily and the service was good. The bathroom had a bath and shower in one. There was also a washing line to hang wet swimsuits and towels on - this proved very useful during our stay.

The hotel has a large pool with a lifeguard on duty the whole day. There are plenty of loungers at the pool and also a bar to order drinks from while lying in the sun. Towels can be rented. The facilities were clean and of a high standard.

A buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and was scrumptious. There was something for everyone, halaal food is also provided.

The Cabanas are located close to Water World with lots to do for kids and adults alike. Transport is provided throughout the Sun City Complex through shuttles and buses. In other parts of the Sun City complex there are also lots to do such as butterfly world, the maze, Valley of the Waves and the entertainment centre.

The Cabanas is the cheapest of the Sun City complex's hotels, but it is still somewhat expensive even though kids under 18 stay for free (2 kids for 2 paying adults). We did enjoy our time there thoroughly and our daughter didn't want to leave - so it was worth it!

Room Tip: If noise from adjoining rooms is an issue for you, ask for a unit on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. We value the time you took to send this to us.

We at Cabanas are happy that you experienced the thrills that we continue to give to our guests. It is with your feedback that we grow and rectify our mistakes. We also hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited Sun city for 3 nights in September 2013, staying at the Cabanas Hotel. The hotel stay was surprisingly pleasant after reading all the reviews on trip advisor. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The rooms were small and yes we could hear people in the corridor and toilet flushes etc but it was not as bad as the reviewers write. If you are that critical then opt for the more expensive sun city hotel or cascades hotel. The breakfast was good and a constant supply, the staff of the kitchens need to be commended for their hard work and on the ball service. The hotel is huge and to cater for so many people must be a mission, yet the staff do it with a smile! Well done Cabanas! You are what you say you are, A good 3 star hotel with free access to valley of the waves and loads of free activities and entertainment for kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2426, there is no lake view and its on the first floor. Room was nice and air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaistha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for such good feedback. We are happy that you experience lots of thrills throughout our hotel. We value your feedback and would like to say that we will definitely pass on the feedback to the staff. These are the standards we strive for.

We hope that you will visit us again and enjoy the service given by our staff.

Thank you once again


Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place might work for families with children or people visiting in large groups. But leaving aside our dislike for Sun City itself, the Cabanas hotel is certainly not worth the money you pay for rooms there.

We had a lake facing room on the ground floor. The rooms are really old, and not very well maintained. The main door would not close till we banged it shut. You can hear people outside in the corridor as if the door was left open. When someone uses the shower or flushes, you can hear it in your bedroom, even with the bathroom door closed. This was not what is expected from a hotel of this supposed standard.

The only meal we had at the Cabanas was the breakfast, which was good, albeit too crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the feedback you sent us on your stay. We are very sorry that you did not experience any thrills from the Cabanas. Your feedback will help us rectify and perfect our service so that when you come back you do not go through the same issues again.


We value your support and feedback very much.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sun City hotels

boksburg
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good morning
I was there this past weekend on a company birthday. 13/9/2013 to 15/9/2013
The rooms are adequate. A bit small especially for more than one person in the room. They are not very soundproof. I was in a ground unit and all night I could hear the people upstairs flushing their toilet just about the whole night and the scraping of the dressing table chair. I arrived on the friday afternoon, then at 12.57 on Saturday night my TV goes on automatically and there was a "welcome" for me.....Why only then? And it woke me up. I wasn't impressed.
Breakfast was very nice. Pool bar service not that great. Not what I would expect from a Sun City resort.
regards
Michelle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleks s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking time to give a review about your recent stay at Cabanas. We are glad that you chose to stay with us.
.
We at Cabanas, apologises to you for not completely meeting your expectations. These are definitely not the standards we strive for.

We will address all the issues you have mentioned.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights for a business conference, rooms are a bit basic but very clean and the view is beatiful. A nice place, surrounded by lush gardens, golf courses, a nice lake and all the fancy attractions of the Sun City.
Definitely worth a stay - will be back with children and quite sure they'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest

Greetings from Cabanas hotel! Thank you very much for this feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Cabanas with your family for your holiday.

Regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked two rooms in August. We were two adults and one teenager. The first rooms allocated were terrible no privacy no light and actually faced a corridor. We moved rooms but they were very basic. Think Ikea type furniture. The breakfasts were a bun fight. We were lucky- we got a table. When we left there were about 30 people queuing for breakfast. The gardens and lake are nice and there are activities for kids from age 3 up to 11. Adults and teenagers don't bother. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Check your room it should have a terrace or a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Your comments will help us improve our products in aspects that mentioned. The Cabanas is a family hotel and has a very children friendly environment.

We apologise for the service at our restaurant, Palm Terrace. It is one of the busy restaurants on complex. We will definitely relook at how we can make the experience a good one.


Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
612 reviews
238.0 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
787 reviews
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Property: Cabanas, Sun City
Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing