We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice”
Review of Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabanas
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always nice”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms are quite small. Breakfast are wonderful! Very good value for money, I highly recommend. Sun City is always a big adventure. Cabanas are great for if you stay on budget. Friendly service and very welcoming. Busses come round about every 20 minuets so you can either walk or take a bus to the entertainment centre and valley of the waves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjibbolet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Good morning

We are pleased that you love our resort and enjoyed your stay with us at Cabanas. Your feedback will help us in informing other future guests about how wonderful it is to stay at Cabanas.

We hope to see you again in order for you to create more memories at Sun City.

Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    224
    183
    90
    77
See reviews for
329
167
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dullstroom, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A perfect weekend at a perfect location with the perfect partner.
The room was lake-facing as booked and was perfectly situated.
There were no hicups -from reception to departure!
You've done a great job!!



Room Tip: Althouigh we've been boooked as a couple, we've found 2 single beds. It was however rectifie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Jacobus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day sir

Thank you very much for the feedback you have sent on your recent stay our hotel, we really apreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that all was perfect during your stay at Cabanas. We hope to welcome you and your partner back again at Sun City.

Sunny regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Cabanas are great fun, they are clean, comfortable and have excellent amenities. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake with the trampolines and other activities on our doorstep. Excellent breakfast buffet too.

Sun City is one of my favourite places on Earth, and we have been lucky enough to stay a few times, I'd highly recommend both the Cabanas and more importantly, Sun City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the feedback you have sent on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you had fun at Sun City and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We would like to apologise for the one staff member who did not meet your expectations.

We will continue to ensure that all are friendly and helpful at all times.

We at Cabanas hope that you will visit us again and come create more memories with us.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights from 23rd May.We were a group of ten including my family(my wife and eight year old son).
Staff members at the reception counter were very helpful.Check in was smooth and fast.But rooms could not match our expectations.Electrical sockets were loose and bathtub was leaking.Sleeper couch was not comfortable to sleep on.Beware of monkeys!They are everywhere!.
One cannot exchange currency at this hotel.Only place to do currency exchange is casino at Sun City hotel.
Breakfast was great and we had varieties of juice,bread,fruit,nuts,cheese.You will never go hungry.But Cabanas do not offer lunch or room service.Dinner is a set menu and expensive.However,one can go to Sun City hotel or entertainment center and can have food from multiple restaurants or fast food centers.
Water world situated in Cabanas is nice but expensive.The lake is small.Kids enjoy multiple activities like mini golf,finder keeper mine,animal world and adults can relax on vast green lawns.Swimming pool at Cabanas was closed for maintenance.Valley of waves was also closed.
We wanted to go to Palace hotel for dinner but were told that they were not taking booking on weekends.
All members at the information counter were polite and helpful except one lady.She was very rude.She might be having her own problems.Not impressed at all and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandipkumarbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear sir/madam

Thank you very much for writing to us about your recent stay at the Cabanas. We value your feedback and and want to apologise for not meeting your expectations in other areas during your stay with us.

We have addressed the issues you raised and want to promise you that this is not how we treat our valued guests like you.

We hope you will visit us again in Sun City to see how good we can be.


Thank you oncce again.

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The price of this place is dictated by the fact that there are so few hotels in Sun City, hence you end up getting a run down, 90s mega complex which in no way offers you a good value for money. The rooms are old and the toilet in my room was not working. The staff needed a day to move us to a different room. The design of the place has not changed for a long time and looks ghastly. Plus is a short distance to any other location in Sun City. That said, everything in Sun City is close enough to walk. Beware of the dinner buffet, choose other restaurants to get less cafeteria tasting food. My suggestion, if you can upgrade, choose the Palace, it will make your Sun City experience a much better one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day


Thank you very much for sending the comments on your recent stay at Cabanas

We would like to apologise to the fact that we did not meet your expectations. We apreciate the time you took and the comments you sent to us.

We action and address all comments given to us as it helps us to ensure that more guest do not experience this at our hotel.

Once again accept our sincere apologies from Cabanas


Kind regards


Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Vereeniging, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Two night stay and what a major let down. First the shower head did not work, water sprayed in every direction. All the plastic numbers on the safe have worn off, had to call house keeping for assistance. The hair dryer cable is so short you can't see yourself in the mirror. Coffee and tea was not replenished during the day and I had to call house keeping for more coffee and sugar. The plug points did not work and the enamel plate cover was missing. The only highlight was the breakfast. One of South Africa's gems is no longer sparkling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divediva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear sir/madam

Sunny greetings from Cabanas. We would like to thank you for sending us comments on your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in our rooms. We will address the issues with housekeeping.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and the frustration endured. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and will like to promise you that all issues you have mentioned will be addressed

Kind regards

Ntebi mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Cabanas for the weekend with my wife and 2 kids (aged 7 and 11). The room was nice with two beds and a sleeper couch which the kids said it was perfectly comfortable to sleep on. The room was clean although the Cabanas bathroom look dated. It was clean but the shower had no water pressure and you constantly had to adjust the hot/ cold water combination to keep it as a decent temp. There was small mini fridge in the room and enough cupboard and drawer space for everyone's stuff. There were also lots of plug point to charge the various electronic equipment.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was superb with everything you need including eggs, meat, salads, pastries and cereals.

There is a frequent shuttle bus from in front of the hotel that takes you to the Entertainment Zone (where the kids games are, restaurants and Valley of the Waves) and the other hotels (where the casino is).

There is parking for your car on a first-come basis so sometimes we parked right in front whilst other times I dropped the family off and had to find parking elsewhere. Not a big deal though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTechieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for sending us feedback on your stay with us. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the sorroundings.

We will continue to ensure that we meet all your expectations at all times. You and your family are welcomed to visit us again in order to create more memories.

Kind regards

Ntebi Mathope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
238.0 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas

Property: Cabanas
Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing