We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, good for the family”
Review of Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay, good for the family”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Sun City Cabanas and it was a nice stay.
The place is really good for families and the structure is very good. The room was confortable and clean, the breakfast had tons of options and the pool area was great.
The staff was friendly but some of them didn't speak english.
There is a shuttle to the Entertainment Center every 20 minutes, so you can go anywhere without a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    229
    185
    91
    78
See reviews for
333
172
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Checking and going to a room and notice there was no bottle water to drink, phoned the reception, no answer. Coming back later, I asked for the bottle water and was told it's not part of the service in the room, (suprise, I mean bottle water is a standard in the room, even for guest houses but Sun city). opting to buy, only a vending machine buy, so I couldn't beacuse I didn't have coins. as if that was not enough, I asked for room service - no room service in Cabanas! All this provided by a very annoyed reception assistant, you could just I am wasting her precious time.

As for the service in eating area (restaurant), asking for coffee or juice was like pulling tooth, the bar was worse. All in all, it was the worst experience I've had in a long time in South Africa and never again would I find myself there even with business. the staff made me feel less of a citizen of this country.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Cabanas, better yet for peace of mind and holiday do not go to Sun City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Whitehaven UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

we had two nights here in January as a side trip, I was worried about staying in the cabanas becuase of the review but to be honest the rooms were really nice and spacious, clean and modern. We had ground floor rooms with lake views and as we were three couples it was great having the space to sit outside at night and being able to share the outside space. The room was arranged so that the shower, sink and loo were all separate which was very convenient. The breakfast was really good and the price of drinks not too high. Beware of the monkeys that appear as if by magic when the cleaners arrive with their trolleys, they will b in your room in a shot, although they were very cute. We had entry in to the waterpark included in our deal and it was well worth a visit. The bus service around the site was very welcome as it was very hot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn.gilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

On arrival at the Cabanas, there was only one receptionist for check in - we were a group of over 15 and the check-in process was frustrating. The very helpful and friendly porter (Philip) made up for the disappointment. On a previous stay, I stayed in a garden facing room on the ground floor with shower and bath. I was very disappointed when I arrived at my (very small) room on the second floor with a view of the parking area and only a shower. Admittedly, the shower was spacious, but I had no hot water on the second morning. The room safe did not work and I had to lock my computer in my suitcase in the cupboard. Tea and coffee were provided, but no sweetener - only sugar. The bed was comfortable and I would not have survived the crampiness and humidity if it wasn't for the aircon.
Dinner was a buffet and offered a wide variety to suit everyone's tastes.
Breakfast consisted of a variety of fresh fruit, cheeses, pastries, good coffee and the usual egg, mushroom, bacon, sausage etc. The service in the restaurant was good.
Check out was a huge improvement (still only 1 staff member, but at least there was not que of being waiting to check out).
Overall Sun City experience was good - however, the Sun City experience is always an expensive one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens or lake, not the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Our family of three (my wife and I and 18 month old toddler) stayed at the Sun City Cabanas from 10 to 12 February 2012. We enjoyed our stay, especially the number of things to do at the Sun City resort. The resort is beautiful and well maintained.

A few comments about our stay:

- Breakfast was good, nice variety. Breakfast staff, however, was not very friendly.
- Room was a bit small and overpriced. My wife also picked up some spots in the room that were not cleaned properly.
- Transport between hotel and entertainment centre was very good, even though we chose to walk to the entertainment centre most of the time.
- Lunch and dinner options were plentiful. The entertainment centre had the usual fast food outlets and there were also a number of restaurants available at the various hotels in the resort.
- As already mentioned, there are many recreation activities available, e.g. Valley of the Waves, jetski, quad biking, activities for children etc.
- Very good babysitting/ creché facilities available at the main entertainment centre

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It is just a pity that the room was priced at R2 215 per night, which would put it out of reach of most ordinary South Africans. We also booked the least expensive of all the rooms available at the Sun City resort, which further highlights the high cost of accommodation at Sun City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 10 day trip to South Africa. We had a 5 & 3 year old at the time and the children's facilities were really very good both in and outside the hotel. The evening food was ok but breakfast much better though there were wasps on everything! The kids loved the balloon modelling clown, a nice touch. The rooms were nothing special but clean, comfortable and absolutely fine if you're not spending hours in there! We only used the valley of the waves out of all the facilities and thought this was spectacular! Good fun, lots to do, excellent facilities and even the fast food was of a very high standard. All in all a really fun few days

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kish Island, Iran
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

it was nice stay and we loaved there was a big lake and all sea sports were avalable.
other interesting places in this hotel was: safari track for kids ,golf ,mini golf for kids,play grounds, nice outdoor restaurant

Room Tip: try to reserve a roon near entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najafihamideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
0.2 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
603 reviews
238.0 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
775 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas

Property: Cabanas
Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing