We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect............truely memorable........we will go back!”
Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I've worked in the travel and hospitality industry for over 10 years, we stayed for 10 days and I can say without hesitation that our holiday was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble at all - the waiting staff at breakfast, the bar staff, the front of house team and particulary Maruscha the Leisure Activites Manager were all super attentive, friendly and organised. This level of service really made our holiday.

The hotel itself was superb, very clean, elegant and in a great location for the rest of the resort.

Without a doubt we'll return to the Cascades hotel and I'd happily recommend Sun City to anyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavastere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Cascades, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 625 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Room great, food very acceptable. The whole ambience coupled with the myriad of activities available made for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I spend 4 days at Cascades hotel at Sun city on a recent visit to South Africa from the UK. What a treat.! The breakfast is out of this world. So much choice that no matter what you would like for breakfast, it is possibly available on the buffet. The service in the resaurants is the best. The waiters seems to know what you need before you do. We had breakfast in the morning sitting by 'n waterfull in the lovely sunshine, relaxing and just enjoying each other's company. We had beautifuly prepared food in the evening, chosen from a diverse, tastefull menu.
The room was tastefully decorated with a lovely modern bathroom with a bath as well as a powershower. Our bed was turned down every evening with chocolates on the pillows.
There was plenty to do in the daytime: all kinds of watersport, beautiful swimmingpools: we prefered the Royal pool towards 'the Palace hotel'. It is situated in cleverly laid out gardens, surrounded with waterfalls and lakes. We also enjoyd the 'make believe' sea, very clever and original.
One of the highpoints was visiting the Pilanesberg Game Park. In the 3 hours we were there we saw huge troops of Elephants, Renosteros, Giraffes and most of the other buck native to South Africa.
It was a memorable few days and we enjoyed every minute of it, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here at the Cascades as the final part to our honeymoon and it certainly finished it off for us. The cascades out of all the hotels in Sun City is the best situated as you have the entertainment centre (Bars, Restaurants, casino, shops) right out front, you have the valley of the waves really closs and best of all the hotel has just been renovated and gives the feel of a 5* hotel with its service. I would have given the hotel 5 stars for everyting as we enjoyed it that much but on our last full day we returned to our room to find approx 70 rand missing. It was made up of all my change I had collected over our stay in Sun City as I didnt want to keep carrying around it each day. It wasnt a lot of money it just put a downer on our stay knowing someone had taken from us. The hotel did everything they could i.e. we gave a statement to security and they started an investigation but because we were leaving the next day we were not given an answer or even a refund which again left a sour taste in my mouth, apparently I should hear from them by email which I still havent. That was just a slight incident though and please dont let it put you off, apart from that our stay was excellent but be prepared if your stay overlaps a weekend as it does get very busy from locals spending their weekends here. I would recommend doing the Lion Sanctuary and the Predator World. I read some bad reviews on these two before we went saying they were a waste of money and time. Well we went to the lion sanctuary and we were allowed in the pens with 6mth old lion cubs, allowed to touch and interact and the highlight was we then we allowed in a pen with 3 week old cubs. How cute are they it was amazing, even allowed to bottle feed them some milk, an amazing experience. At the Predator world they have a couple of cheetah cubs, well 18mths old but you are allowed inteaction with them also and it was mind blowing. So please take my advice and visit these two places, they also need your entrance fees to keep up their great programmes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Had not stayed here in over 25 years and times have changed. Despite the dated decor, the hotel remains a showpiece. The scale of construction is a credit to Sol Kerzener, the developer. And, it remains a wonderful hotel for a short break. Casino lacks excitement but hotel and resort facilities make up for this. Terrific breakfast and 'budget buffet' for R100 a winner! Just don't expect to relax on your terrace if you have Room 501 (mine) - the baboons are all over and you simply can't get closer to nature!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to South Africa and our 3rd visit to Sun City. It was our 1st time to stay at the Cascades, our 2 previous trips we stayed at The Palace. Tried to save a little money this time as the Palace is VERY high priced. The fact that this was our 3rd visit to the Sun City Resort should tell you a lot. We think the entire resort is absolutely fabulous. As far as our hotel, The Cascades, we stayed in 2 adjoining rooms so our family of 5 (teen & adults) could all stay together. We paid a very high premium for the 3rd person in the room. The rooms were very nice and fairly large. My only complaint was the location. We were on the lowest level and walking to our room it felt like we were in a dungeon. We used the concierge on several occassions and the service was fine. Our favorite part of our stay was hiking the jungle trails within the resort. So many different trails-across brooks, over & around waterfalls, fun bridges-fun to get "lost" in. We also partook of outside activities - the world's fastest & longest zip slide and the 4-wheeling. Our next visit, if funds allow, we'd stay at The Palace. If not, the Cascades is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesto2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We agonised over whether the pay the extra to book to stay at the Palace, but made the right decision to stay at the Cascades.

The Palace is amazing but a bit out on a limb in the resort. Several South African people we met told us they prefer to stay at the Cascades becaue of its central location.

But do go and have a meal at the Palace and have a look around, it's worth a visit. It's expensive to eat at the Palace for South Africa as eating out is generally very cheap even at Sun City, but a meal for the four of us at the Palace in their Italian restaurant including a bottle of wine (no desserts as we'd run out of room by then !) was 1725R equivalent to about £140 - so only £35 each.

However for accommodation the Cascades is excellent. I tend to judge a hotel room by the standard of the bathroom - ours was very clean, modern and clearly relatively recently re-furbished. The room itself was spacious, the bed large and comfortable, and all the ameneties you would expect in a good hotel.

The Cascades is at the centre of the centre of the resort so in easy reach of all resort facilities. It's pool is half heated and half not - the unheated part was empty !

If you have young children the Cabanas is probably a better option for you however as it has a large play area and lots of facilities for young children which the Cascades does not.

The Valley of the Waves is like walking into a film set and great fun, though the water is quite cold.

The only drawback with Sun City is the monkeys. They run free, try to steal your drinks and food, and invade your hotel room if you leave the balcony doors or windows open. So be careful. This is the same whichever hotel you choose however.

We stayed for four nights and loved every minute. I would thoroughly recommend both Sun City and the Cascades hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
22.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
19.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $213 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing