We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed at the Cascades hotel after a short stay at Leopard Lodge in Hartbeesport where we had been for a friends wedding. We found Sun city very easy to get too, we had hired sat nav with our hired cars though so that definately makes a difference. Entrance to Hotel is amazing, they park your cars for you and you dont see your car again until your ready to leave! Hotel itself was lovely, very luxurious and extremely well maintained. Our room was on the 7th floor and our room was lovely, we holidayed with 6 other friends and they all said there rooms were fantastic. Rooms were throughly cleaned every day and a turn down service offered eahc night. Staff at hotel are so so helpful. We went on Safari, which was amazing, we were very lucky and saw pretty much everything from the top 5. Our safari driver was great with us and kept us out a lot longer than we had paid for.

Breakfast at the hotel was lovely and very fresh, huge selection. Olenty of good places to have lunc in the entertainment centre and Squires and Santorini's are worth a visit for dinner, the food was lovely and great value for money. We also ate at the Palace on our last night and that was really something special, again the service was second to none and the setting was just perfect. One couple we were with on holiday got engaged so all in all we had a fabulous holiday! So much to see and do at Sun city, I'd love to go back and do some of the things we didn't get to do.

Hiring the Segways is a must if there is a few of you's! What a laugh and a nice way to spend a few hours if the sun isn't out! We also used the Gary Player spa for some treatments, I would say this was a little over priced and not really worth the visit but as it was raining anf the boys were playing golf we wanted a little pampering for the girls. Valley of the Waves is a must see! Great fun and a lovely beach and the waves are awesome, we all had a great time there. Definately a must see if you have kids with you or even if there is a group of you's looking for a laugh.

Definately one of the best holidays I've had. Great location, great hotel and great friends to holiday with. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanakim2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Cascades, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 623 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

We were looking for a Las Vegas/gambling alternative due to the poor £/$ exchange rate so decided to take our first trip to Sun City. Friends recommended hiring a car from Jo'burg for the transfer but we got lost both ways, which was pretty stressful after a long flight. There seem to be lots of roadworks in Jo'burg. It's also much further than we were led to believe (2.5 hrs on the way out and 3.5 hrs on the way back due to traffic in Jo'burg) and hardly any Sun City signage if you travel on the toll roads. Next time we'll either take or hire a sat nav or arrange coach transfers. Once there, by the way, we didn't use the car again until it was time to leave.
We had a warm welcome at Cascades, plenty of help with luggage and a quick check-in. We had a superior luxury room which on the whole was excellent. A few niggles, some of which have been mentioned by others - no robes or slippers, no iron/ironing board, no magnified shaving mirror, no bedside clock so you have to guess the time if you wake during the night. On the positive side there were tea and coffee making facilities, the room was serviced twice a day, we had a separate bath/shower and loads of storage space. We played a strange game with the housekeeping staff who liked to take the bath foam we were using as shower gel from the shower and return it to the counter with the other toiletries. It got a bit annoying having to step out of the shower each time to retrieve it. The lifts are positioned on the outside of the hotel so you have a fabulous view as you travel up and down. However, they also get incredibly hot when the sun is shining. They also don't seem to be synchronised at all, so there are two sets of buttons for the three lifts and it means as you travel down you seem to stop at a lot of floors where no-one gets in.
The pool area is lovely, there are 2 pools, one is heated and the other isn't, plus loads of staff to take your drinks and food orders (Peter looked after us really well.) We had a couple of cooler, cloudy days and even the heated pool felt cold then. As reported elsewhere, I did note there were a lot of broken and missing tiles on the side of the pool opposite the slide and I found the sandy area by the pools a bit of an odd concept in a land-locked resort - odder still when I saw one of the cats using it as a toilet. I'd rather lose the sand than the cats though, they were mostly friendly and in very good condition. Peacocks wander about and towards the end of the afternoon baboons pick their way through bins and any belongings left on loungers searching for food. The piped music around the pool was too loud and a bit too electic at times, but once you find out where the speakers are, you can move away.
The breakfast in the Peninsular restaurant is amazing with an incredible choice - it set us up until dinner time. A couple of items I would have liked were porridge (having got used to it over the winter) and bananas, we didn't see any during our stay. We didn't experience the long queues reported elsewhere, even over Valentines' weekend when the hotel was much busier we didn't wait any longer than 10 mins for a table. Sometimes though it wasn't properly laid or not cleaned thoroughly from the previous occupants, probably due to their haste to work through the queues. We had the Valentine's dinner set meal in the Peninsular, which was OK but not exceptional. I did enjoy the the selection of 6 different taster-sized desserts though! We usually had drinks in the Vista Bar before dinner (Peroni on draft was a big draw for partner) and the crisps and nuts they provided were also a big draw for the primates who would launch raiding parties for any snacks left on empty tables - if only we'd had our camera with us!
Cascades hotel is joined to the Entertainment Centre which is where we did most of our gambling on the slots for the first few evenings, but there are no gaming tables here. The Sun City Hotel is the other gambling venue with slot machines and a few gaming tables in the non-smoking area as you go in, however, the best venue was the 'smoking casino' as we came to call it which seemed to have a much better atmosphere, live entertainment, a separate bar area and a bigger selection of tables and slots. As non-smokers, we only went in to have a look halfway through our holiday but we thought it was certainly the best of all the gambling areas in Sun City. On busy nights and with inconsiderate smokers it was quite unpleasant but on quiet nights if you're a non-smoker and enjoy gambling it's probably worth a visit.
For other activities - probably the highlight of the trip were a couple of game drives in Pilanesburg game reserve (cost R360 each.) We did a 9 AM and a 6 AM trip and saw much more activity on the earlier one. Trips are booked in the Entertainment Centre and pick up is from just outside. Our ranger/driver for both trips was Gift who has a great repertoire of one-liners (we heard them all twice and chuckled both times) and who is very knowledgable about the animals and the reserve. He did a great job getting us to the best sightings and on the earlier drive we saw elephants and separately a small pride of lions striding across the veld. Magnificant, incredible and humbling, we would go back to Sun City for this alone.
Food-wise, we both enjoyed afternoon tea at the Palace of the Lost City, booked at the EC. It was fairly quiet when we went at 3pm on a Sunday so it was peaceful and relaxed. Service was attentive and we were invited to help ourselves to more of whatever we wanted so felt we got good value for money. In fact, we were so stuffed we didn't have dinner that night! We also eat in Squires in the Entertainment Centre a couple of times, the buffet in the Calabash in Sun City hotel and dinner in Santorini's in Cascades. We found the food to be generally good quality and compared to London prices, very good value. We particularly liked Santorini's which had a nice lively buzz about it the night we were there.
We booked massages at the Gary Player Health Spa. I had an excellent hot rock massage by Smangele and my partner had a deep tissue massage which he also enjoyed. We're probably one of the few that never took advantage of the Valley of the Waves. It was overcast the first day we went in to have a look around and the day we decided we would try out the wave pool was a Saturday and the place was packed. We couldn't see anywhere shady so headed back to Cascades and lounged by the pool instead.
As a substitute for Las Vegas there is no comparison, Vegas wins hands down for gambling and evening entertainment. After 6 days in Sun City, I started to feel a bit hemmed in, but we enjoyed our stay at Cascades, the weather was warmer than Vegas and Pilanesburg was incredible. Next time we visit we'll probably split our stay between the resort and the game reserve.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tizkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Our main reason for visiting sun city & cascades hotel was the wave pool & slides, with maybe a bit of gambling and drinking on the side! We booked a 3 night stay, and were extremely disappointed, to the point of practically leaving, to find out that the wave pool was closed for a conference for 2 of those days, with no notification given or offer of reduction in fees. On the one day it was open whilst we were there, my husband was sick with a nasty gastro and so we paid for 3 nights accommodation and never got to use the wave pool once. We tried to rearrange flights to enjoy it on our last day (when we had to leave at 6am otherwise) but were unable to do so.

I can only strictly encourage anyone considering staying here to ensure that they have confirmation in writing first that the wave pool is open (if they wish to use it obviously!) for the dates that they are staying & double check it a week before they arrive. It never crossed our minds that they would close a major attraction like that for a conference, but they did twice during our three day stay, and appear to be advertising for conferences all the time so I can only conclude it will happen more frequently from now on. Even more frustrating, on the one day they closed the entire wave pool/water park when the conference event didnt even start there till evening.

We were initially put into a room on the fourth floor which was dark and dingy, although clean with a nice bathroom. They moved us to a room on the tenth floor which was identical, but far more light came through the windows. The bathrooms are clean and fairly new, the rooms are clean, but very heavy, dark, old fashioned furniture. the housekeeping service is very thorough, completely changing all sheets etc every day - although it seemed to take about 3/4hr each time!

Breakfast is brilliant - staff to cook your eggs, omelettes & pancakes as you like them and brilliant buffet. However absolute nothing is labelled as to what it is, which for an international hotel is of very poor standard. As someone who suffers from a few serious food allergies, everything had to be taste tested by my husband first to determine what i could eat, which led to a boring slow breakfast!

To their credit the staff were absolutely excellent, dealt amazing well with our complaints and did everything they could to ensure our stay was good - short of opening the wave pool!

Eating there is expensive by south african standards but cheap by world standards (we averaged about R250-300 per meal inc drinks). The santorini restaurant is well worthwhile.

Internet is available wirelessly, but slightly intermittent and at a reasonable charge. Beware the monkeys which will get into your room and trash the place if you do not lock your windows (amusing to watch from the bar on teh third level as they try to open all windows, as long as you are certain your window is definitely locked!!!).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We spent five days at the Cascades Hotel, it really is first class - Large rooms - food excellent so much choice - the staff especially in the reasturant are so effecient. Nice Bar outside.
The pool area is grass or sand . The monkeys run about the pool in the afternoons and the peacocks wander around,
Unless you like to gamble - five days is enough here -

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filmstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Got to the Cascades after driving from Jocks Safari Lodge ( see my review) in the Krugger national park. This in itself was a miracle as the directions I was given by Avis was realy rubbish. All you needed was follow the N4 and turn right when it says Sun city.

The hotel lobby was quite spectacular and we had no trouble on booking in. Although I had booked a smoking room they did not have any available, although the hotel did not seem very full. I was told not to worry as they would convert a non smoking room into a smoking one and would get me an ash tray which arrived 10 minuted after we got to the room. Very efficient and a nice slice of civilisation for once.

The rooms was very spacious and clean, on the 9th floor and with plenty of wardrobes, The bath room was very good and I thought the standard of the rooms very good. A good turn down service with friendly staff.

The breakfast has been done to death by others suffice to say its excellent.

Only down side was we were told some of the decking around the pool was being redone but the pool would be fully open. This was from Virgin holidays prior to going. The pool was shut and being repainted. We used the Valley of the waves which was free for hotel guests as was free towels. It was a 3 minute walk and no hardship.

We ate at Squires twice the Italian in the entertainment centre and also at Santorini in the hotel. All very good food and good value.

On our 1st day we were told about the lion sanctuary near by and did my daughter want to cuddle a lion cub. Its a good trip lasting 2 hours and we have some good photo's of her holding a 4 month lion cub witha huge smile on her face.

Very suprised at the notice on the back of out room door please put your valuables and firearms in the safe provided and management policy is no firearms in public areas in the hotel. Sounds like Dodge city not Sun city. But we didn't heard or see any trouble at all. Just good hotel well run with people enjoying themselves.

I would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at Cascades at the end of a very hectic and enjoyable 4 week holiday in South Africa so it was just what we needed. It took us a long time to decide on where to stay because compared to the rest of South Africa Sun City is very expensive. When we booked there were only luxury rooms left at a higher price but they were lovely and more like a mini suite. Most of the staff were helpful but we did find some of the staff on the check in desk rude. We loved Santorinis restaurant and the staff there were excellent. Our room was immaculately clean and we were very impressed by the cleaning staff. As we were in a luxury room we did expect to have dressing gowns and the other little touches that make it a luxury room. We were not very impressed with the internet facilities as there were none in the hotel and we had to pay to use them at Sun City hotel. Overall we really enjoyed sun city

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kelhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

1st-4th August 2008

Arrived at 00:30 hrs after a 2hour overland transfer from Johannesburg International. Check-in was friendly and efficient. We had booked 2 rooms, both were quite spacious and on our floor we had access to a terrace with sun loungers etc. We had a slight problem with the lock on the sliding door in the boy's room. But they were moved to a nearby room and that was ok. Both rooms were clean and kept so throughought our stay. The most impressive thing about Cascades was the staff. They were very helpful and appeared happy all the time. Yes, there were the odd exceptions but hardly any that mattered. This seemed to infect us too and went a long way to making this such an enjoyable stay.

Breakfast was superb. So much choice and very good service. In the evening we dined at Squires twice (very good) and once in the Palace (very, very good), top class service and fine dining.

The grounds are realy nice with an aviary, tennis courts, segway hire and led onto a very impresive golf course. There is also a crocodile farm which had more to it than we expected.

Any down sides? Yes, but not much. Sun City is BIG on gambling. Slot machines everywhere in the entertainment centre and at least one of the hotels. The hotel pool was undergoing annual maintenence (which we knew of in advance) but we had free use of Valley of the Waves.

The time of year meant it was the end of winter in S.A. but the temperatures were just right for us at 24C average.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
480 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
670 reviews
22.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
19.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $212 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing