We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Great”
Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights mid Oct. Hotel was having some renovation works. The coffeehouse serves breakfast only. The room furnishings were rather old. Nothing very memorable about the stay or Sun City itself. Okay for short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calaislily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear calaislily

Thanks for the feedback provided – much appreciated.
We have noted the comment regarding the renovation that was taking place during your stay.
We are happy to advise that the lobby’s renovation is complete, open and working
Once again, thank you so much for the feedback and time taken to send to us.

Most Regards,

Patrick Serakwane, Hotel Manager, The Cascades Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I spent the last 2 days of our SA Vacation at Sun City staying at The Cascades Hotel. We very not at all happy with the quality of accommodation. The room was small and felt dark with the choice of interiors and the carpet. There was repair work going on hence the hotel had just a reception and no lobby at all. WiFi was complementary but the signal never reached into the room. The only good part about the property was its location in the center of the complex to visit the Casino, Entertainment Complex or the Wave Pool. The service at the reception was not upto the mark and felt rude at times and also the concierge had just one person and people had to wait their turn sometimes for long.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear JeetFuria
Thank you for the feedback provided – much appreciated.
We have noted the comment regarding the insufficient lighting in the room, the renovation that was taking place during your stay and the concern around staff members.
It is through our guests’ feedback to be aware how we deliver to what we promised. As for the room and staff comment, please note that we have taken these comments seriously and addressed accordingly.
We are happy to advise that the lobby’s renovation is complete and working.
Once again, thank you so much for the feedback and time taken to send to us.
Most Regards,
Patrick Serakwane, Hotel Manager, The Cascades Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The problem with this place is the expectation , due to the hype surrounding Sun city . Was utterly disappointed , Casino was absolutely nothing to talk about other than the 100's of slot machines and a few table games completely in favor of the casino. The staff are not that courteous and the room cleanliness and house keeping is just an eye wash. Hope they can get this property back to its old standards .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEVz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear DEVZ18
Thank you so much for the feedback provided – much appreciated!
We have noted the comment on fewer tables and slots machines in the casino floors. Please note that we have taken note of this seriously and recorded for future developments. As for staff not courteous and comments on room standards, please note that it is not how we operate and it has been addressed accordingly.
Once again, thank you so much for your time and efforts in providing us with feedback.
Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager
The Cascades Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

On 6th sep 2013 we checked in at cascades hotel (sun city). My room no. Was 516.
On 7th sep 2013 I was playing game at entertainment centre, to put tokens into machine, I keep my bag pack down for a moment and someone steal my bag within a moment from their.

My bag was containing whole of our cash of 6 people total amounting to 50000 zar+/- in different denomination.

Some of my expensive clothes and gucci accessories amounting to around 10000 zar +/- was also in the bag.

As soon as I realise that my bag wasn't there I contact to security people. They found in the CCTV cameras that someone was picking my bag but they didn't show that video clip to me.
I doubt that security of suncity is involved in this case as they misguided me for around 4 hours.
First they told me that the guy who steal bag is in suncity and they are searching for him, then they told me they have found him and he is on sky train and they have send guards to exit point, then I got an information that guy has already make a exit from suncity.
Then I decided to complain in police, my case no. is "61/09/2013".
Surveillance people were not even ready to listen when I told them to show me the video clip. I went there as a tourist and your people misbehave with me regarding this case.
infact the security at the casino said that this is quite frequently occurring in south Africa with tourist.
they cant help us
they made fun of me, insulted me and din help me.
I left cash less
full of shame
I hate south Africa and its nationalist and its police etc etc
I am under debt now
I lost nearly 10000 US dollars

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shubhamgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Greetings from the Cascades,

Thank you for the feedback provided - much appreciated!
It is noted that the alleged incident referred to on the feedback was reported to our complex Security Department and under control. Please note that relevant feedback and findings will be provided accordingly.

Once again, thank you for the feedback.

Regards,

Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager
The Cascades Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A very nice spot that was relatively well priced. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and my room was clean and comfortable. Probably the best situated hotel to the entertainment center in the Sun City complex, and an easy walk to Waterworld, Sun City Hotel and the Cabanas.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back, as they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Greetings from the Cascades Hotel
Thank you so much for taking time and efforts to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. It is well appreciated and happy to hear that staff are friendly.

Once again, Thank you so much.

Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager
The Cascades Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked a luxury room. The size/quality of which was very average. The hotel staff was not so polite- both at front desk and dining. Had to request several times for even basic amenities like water. Also they served stale fruits for breakfast both the days we were there. Absolute no-go for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anki_151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you so much for the feedback received – it is much appreciated. We have noted the comment on staff not polite (both front desk and dining) and stale fruits at breakfast room. We have also noted that the same comment for staff not polite was also posted for Raj Restaurant on the same day. Please provide us with more information so we can holistically address the issue.
Once again, thank you so much for the feedback, your time and efforts.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked 2 rooms and stayed for 4 nights before moving to the Palace. The hotel was undergoing some renovations, so expect a little disturbance. Try to get a room on the 7th floor and above, as the view towards the pool would be nicer and less noise from the construction below as well.

Service from the staffs were average as we got mixed attitudes from all of them. But one thing I'm very sure about, that they don't like to repeat themselves if we're not sure about anything. Certainly something that I find it quite unpleasant for tourists. And for some reason, the hotel simply has too many staffs, especially at the front desk. Some of them look as if they don't want to be there.

Other than that, everything else was fine. Room was good enough, though during winter there wasn't any heater. Breakfast was nice, but I wonder why there wasn't any salad or some sort of greens? The food variety catered mostly to Westerners, so we Asians found them to be quite heavy at times.

Outdoor pool during winter was completely unusable. Imagine dipping into a bucket of ice water. With that being said, an area of the pool near the slide was slightly better, but not by much.

The hotel is located right beside the entertainment centre, which we liked a lot.

In general, if you're here on a short vacation trip to Sun City, and don't mind spending that little extra cash, stay at the Palace. It's nothing like the rest of the other similar looking accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiliam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you so much for the feedback received – it is much appreciated. We have noted the comment around renovations. We would like to confirm that indeed we are renovating the bar, reception lobby, hotel entrance and lounge - the project started from the 18 June 2013 and planned to complete by the 31 Oct 2013.
As for the non-availability of salads and some sort of greens on the breakfast buffet, we have noted the comment and kept for future consideration.
Once again, thank you so much for the feedback, your time and efforts.
Most regards,
Patrick Serakwane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
493 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
681 reviews
22.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
19.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $205 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing