We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid over the festive period”
Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have really enjoyed staying at the hotel periodically over the year, but coming at New Year was madness, we were ill informed at the hotel to start with, and our 'family' room was a serious squeeze. When asking about New Year events, they told us about them, but omitted to tell us that we needed to book, so missed out! The valley of the waves was heaving - queues to do anything and everything. The kids arcade was a shambles. Room service was not up to scratch - lengthy wait and often things just didn't arrive! The pool was great though, and the greek restaurant is pleasant. (no toilet brush for a family of 4! yuk!) For a 5 star hotel, we were disappointed.

Room Tip: deluxe are much nicer, more room and big balcony windows!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Greetings from The Cascades Hotel,
Thank you for the feedback – Much appreciated! Please be advised that I have noted all the comments raised, i.e. family room seriously squeeze, New Year Eve’s party, Queues at Valley of Waves, room service and the toilet brush. Please note that we have taken the comments raised seriously and have been attended to by relevant management.
Please accept my sincere apology and be rest assured that necessary steps have been taken to rectify accordingly.
Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Cascades, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 622 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

we have just returned after 5 great days,there were 23 of us on the trip as part of a "company holiday" I am sure its safe to say that each and every one of us had a great time so thank you all very much because the service (apart from the fact it was a tad slow) was great.The room are lovely and clean,the food was outstanding...........The only downside is the scum line on the pool,i never saw anyone cleaning it and actually saw graffiti marks in it! I just feel that this is an area that can be improved on.This small detail would definately not put me off travelling the 14 hours to get there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnasth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for the review posted. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the Pool comment, please be advised that necessary steps have been taken to improve the quality.
Once again, thank you so much.
Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

When entering the glitzy and glamorous setting of The Cascades you feel like the movie star you have always dreamed of being. Everthing is glittery and blinged out. The staff are very welcoming and incredibly chatty and friendly. The rooms are awesome and very comfortable. Luxurious bathrooms and everything very clean. The outdoor setting is phenomonal. The bars and pool area is of hollywood standard and the gardens are breathtaking. The breakfast venue is beautiful over looking the pools and gardens and the food is gastronimical. A lovely spoil all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Madam
Thanks for the lovely review posted. We are glad that we were of service to you during your stay with us.
Much appreciated.
Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice hotel, though looking a little tired in places.
Security is strict, which is a good thing.
Nice pool area. The steak we had at the pool restaurant was a bit chewy,however.
Super breakfast choice.

On the whole I'd say it's good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyonsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for the review posted - Much appreciated! Apart from the fact that you enjoyed our lovely breakfast, we have noted that you did not like the steak at the Santorini Restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that relevant management has taken efforts to avoid the reoccurrence going forward.
Regards,
Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a nice stay at the Cascades until the last day. Something was a little fishy. We booked an early morning game drive (through the hotel), arrived early only to discover that the concierge had booked us on a drive with the company responsible for the airport transfers. Hmmmm. Fortunately we were early and went to the desk of the real game drive company. Their agent looked at our booking and said it should never have been made. She said she would take care of it and we had an amazing game drive. Upon our return, we had about an hour and a half to eat breakfast and check out. We quickly ran to the room, threw our belongings onto the bed, and went to breakfast. We thought nothing of it since our room wouldn't be cleaned until after check out. To our surprise, my purse and my husband's wallet had all the cash removed. We knew it was there when we returned from the game drive because we tipped our driver and we both had cash at that time. We immediately realized our cash (Dollars and Rands) had been taken because we were going to leave cash on the bed for housekeeping and had none. I tried to contact the hotel manager to tell them what had happened so he/she could deal with the matter for future guests. No calls or emails were ever returned. It was very disappointing. I understand the gap between those working at the hotel and the guests could lead to this type of thing but the hotel management should have returned my calls/emails. I did like the hotel but would have preferred the main lobby area to open more onto the lush gardens instead of the driveway. My favorite part of the room was the wall of closets. It felt a little like a high end overnight train car. The bathroom was also very spacious with a soaking tub and glass shower. Aside from being robbed the service was good. Just don't forget to use the safe!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SavannahGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a wonderful place for a holiday! My husband had a conference, but I made use of the facilities.I would recommend saving on a plane ticket to an island destination and go for a hot air ballloon ride, a safari into the game reserve or an elephant ride. We had long walks on the golf course and lounged around the pool, drinking coctails and spent long hours in Santorini restaurant (feels like Greece). The rooms were seviced 3 times a day and Mansoor, the conciege went out of his way to help with e-mails ect.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Greetings from the Cascades Hotel!

I would like to take this moment to thank you so much for the great comments provided – It is much appreciated! We are delighted to know that our concierge desk went out of their way to assist you with emails.

Most regards,

Patrick Serakwane, Hotel Manager, The Cascades Hotel, Sun City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We finished our honeymoon here for 3 nigths and were put in a suite, it was amazing!! So much to do and see. Valley of the waves and the Maze were heaps of fun. The staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: The Nick Price suite was excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy1985_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at Cascades, Sun City, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Greetings from the Cascades Hotel!

Thank you so much for the feedback provided and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you back to Sun City - Much appreciated!

Most regards,

Patrick Serakwane
Hotel Manager
The Cascades Hotel
Sun City Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
480 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
670 reviews
22.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
19.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $212 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing