We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRUE THE THE NAME”
Review of Cascades, Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades, Sun City
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A very nicely situated hotel in the Sun City complex...walking distance to the golf, man made beach and the most beautiful gardens on the premises to cascade around and the complex. The staff was excellent and very friendly..clean and we could not falt the place at all. Restaurants on the premises catered for one and all.

Room Tip: If you can ask for the rooms looking over the pool and gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bokka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Cascades, Sun City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 625 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Cascades room we stayed in had been upgraded a few years ago (say 4 years ago) and already show signs of unattended to wear and tear. (For example the sleeper couch in our room had 2 obvious tears, and our phone and fridge were not working....how much effort can it really take to check and fix these things..). We slept in a Superior Family room. The overall room quality is average to good (but not wow) and certainly not worth its heavy nightly price tag. However what Sun City has going for it (and which many hotels will find hard to beat) is the range of things to do. As a guest at the hotel you will also have access to the facilities offered to guests of other hotels in the resort. The Cascades has a fantastic pool, but if you get bored of that you can also enjoy the Lost City Valley of Waves and the Lost City Hotel main pool which are also great. The resort offers water sports, tennis, squash, nice jogging/walking paths, gambling and arcade games etc. etc., and there is also nearby game reserve if you wanting to enjoy an early morning game viewing drive. There really is allot on offer. I played the Gary Player Golf course - it’s a brilliant course and if you enjoy golf I highly recommend you try this course and then, if you have time, also try the nearby Lost City Golf course.

Room Tip: The higher levels have a good view of the golf course and Sun City. We had our baby and pram with us...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreekMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Sun City is one of our favourite destinations, for so many reasons. It is a true holiday destination insofar as there is something for the whole family to enjoy.
We enjoy the restaurants, the shows, and of course playing a bit in the Casino. There is a relaxed atmosphere around the pools and some nice walks around the lush gardens on the property. There is of course the famous Pilanesberg Game Reserve on the doorstep, which is well worth a visit.
The Peninsula Restaurant offers a fine dining experience, with gentle piano music playing in the background while you sip some wine and enjoy a fine meal prepared by the executive chef.
Santerini restaurant is great for the outdoor eating experience. Although there are inside tables, some are placed around the sparking blue pool, with soft lighting to light up the pool and the waterfall at night.
The Cascades rooms are well appointed and have very comfortable beds and amenities. The room we occupied this time round had air conditioner problems, which took a bit of the edge off an otherwise delightful stay. Management have since made contact with me regarding this and have assured me that they have already devised ‘a plan of action’ should any of the guests have similar problems. The operation of the air conditioners are vital to a good night’s sleep, as baboons/monkeys can pose a problem in the mornings, so you do not want to fall asleep with your windows open, as you might awake in the morning with an uninvited primate in your room! It is comforting to know that Management react to their guest’s reports and take these matters seriously.

Room Tip: Check your air conditioner works on entering your room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We'd expected 'kitsch' which Sun City was, but we'd expected the hotel to be so much better than it was. Rooms are just fit to inhabit, they should have been refitted 5 years ago as should much of the hotel. The hairdryer fused & couldn't be fixed - makes me think the eletricity might be dangerous. Part of trying to fix this consisted of trying the various plug sockets & giving them a bit of a bash!!! A technical skill clearly! Do not have washing or dry cleaning done. 1 pair of good trousers were washed instead of dry cleaned & ruined. The washing seems to leave or even add grease marks to some items & the ironing was from another planet - presumably done by some animals in the park whilst drunk & blind. Pool area in bad need of thorough facelift & monkey friendly bins - scruffy & unclean. If you ask for your car to be washed, you may wish to take bets, after 2 promises we still left with the same dirt we'd arrived with! Have to say that the food in the Italian restaurant near the pool was lovely & good value too & that the staff were fine.

Room Tip: don't go if you do, don't use dry cleaning service
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Flew to Suncity from Capetown on a business trip for a long weekend.
Staff were great at reception although our room was not ready when we arrived at 13.00??
When we entered the room if smelt stuffy......Opened all the doors to clear the air but smell persisted.
Called maintenance who cleared a "Blocked drain". ....the smell remained.and lasted the entire weekend despite repeated visits from maintenance to rectify.
The airconditioner also never worked for the entire weekend.
To crown it all breakfast on Sunday was a disaster.....Waited in line for 20 minutes before
being seated in a dining room that was not full??????.

Definately not five star service!!!!!!! ?

Viv

Room Tip: dont chose room 122 on the ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

All the hotels at Sun City are good but this one is probably the best priced and certainly the best situated. Great rooms and good service. I was very happy with the choice to stay in this hotel and would advise anyone else to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was recently given an amazing surprise birthday present to fly up from Cape Town to Sun City for the weekend. We checked in at the Cascades hotel and were warmly greeted by a porter (Osio i think he said) He directed us to the parking and said he would take care of our luggage as the room was not quite ready. After a brief walk around, we returned to the hotel where we found our rooms were ready. We headed up to the 11th floor and were greeted by stunning view of the surrounding hills and pool terrace below. From there, we just had a wonderfull time on the resort at the pools, a game drive, vally of waves and a great dinner at Santorini restaurant. I must make a mention of the food and service at both fishmonger and squires - below standard.
I would like to thank Johan Oerson and his team for the wonderful service, the fruit and cheese bowls and bubbly, the lady from in roomn dining who delivered our hot chocloate at 5am on the day we went game driving, she was super friendly.
I must certainly recommend Sun City for a weekend getaway, it really felt like an extended holiday. From the last time I was there a few years back, the level of care and friendliness of the staff has improved vastly

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
22.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
19.8 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades, Sun City

Address: Sun City Road | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $213 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascades, Sun City 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Sun City
Cascades Sun City
Hotel Cascades Sun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing