We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning, lavish hotel but guest rooms need refurbishment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stunning, lavish hotel but guest rooms need refurbishment.”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Palace is a beautiful looking hotel with stunning architecture in all public areas. Breakfast has a huge choice and food within the hotel is of a high quality. Service in all areas is excellent and the ratio of staff/guest is very high. Sun-beds around the beautiful pool are extremely comfortable and transport in and around Sun City are complimentary and efficient. However, there are a few points that need addressing:
1. Guest rooms are old-fashioned and the toilet smelt of urine. Water pressure is inconsistent to the point where the shower water frequently stops or cold water stops with the risk of scalding!

2. We found a few ants each night in our bed.

3. Bees were all around the breakfast food.

4. The sun-bathing area is in the shade by 2.30pm and when I requested to move to the other side of the pool which was in full sun, I was told that this was not "procedure." I was in Sun City for the sun and therefore the hotel should have tried to accommodate this! I was forced to move to the Valley of the Waves public area with uncomfortable sun beds.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in The Palace but the above points need to be addressed. Also, anyone visiting Sun City needs to be prepared for the "Disney in Africa" concept which does come as a culture shock after the african experience of a game drive.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    371
    174
    85
    77
See reviews for
712
648
27
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at the Palace from the 10 April for 5 nights and it was too short. The hotel is amazing, the staff very friendly, the location perfect and the rooms really 5 star. We booked a junior suite, room 750 and this was in the corner which was great esp. travelling with 2 small kids. The main lounge had a sleepr couch and was equipped with tea / coffee facilities, which was replenished daily. We received fresh fruits daily with some other treats like nuts etc.

The best part was the main bedroom with the king size bed, spacious bathroom and luxury finishes. The suite had 2 flat screen tv's, one in the main room and the other in the lounge for the kids. That was great, the kids watched their movies while we relaxed in our room. The suite had 2 spacious balconies with wonderful views of the golf course and waterfalls surrounding the property.

The Palace pool was huge and had an abundant of umbrellas and sun beds even over the busy Easter days. The pool was equipped with a lunch venue, bars and they even had massages. Their was a Easter egg hunt for the kids which was really good and kept them busy for a while. The staff at the pool and the managers were excellent with attention to detail to ensure all guests comforts.

The breakfast at the Royal Court is truly the best in the world. You have everything from cereals, fruit, eggs, omelettes, salmon and duck. The fresh fruit juices are really good and the staff help you with your plates to your tables and are vey obiliging. Our boys loved the Palace and did not want to leave. They loved the shuttles via the mercedes to the ec and other hotels in the complex.

All in all, the experience was phenomenal and we will def. return to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durban21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Hotel's name is Palace but without room service such as palace! there isn't any incredible service there,no coffee maker or tea maker in the room & you don't have free wireless internet.House keeper don't change the soap every day & they wait until it's finished,for watching TV you don't have many choice & you should choice between 8-10 channel.We were in the large group & we paid as money as other people in our group,but our room had a bad view only we could see a very big tree but other people had a nice view.
The restaurant has a good quality with excellent waiter I suggest you to take a cocktail in the afternoon, there it starts from 15-16:30,it's not complimentary but the price is reasonable.The breakfast is incredible & excellent too.
In business center you could find beautiful things,the prices are ok & I could say perhaps is cheaper than other city in South Africa.
I suggest you this hotel to others but you should consider which Items is more important to you

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This hotel is absolutly amazing. Everything about it is grandiose. Its size, architecture, surroundings, decoration, wide and impressive public spaces, extra-large and quiet rooms ( all with balcony), impeccably clean, breakfast buffet like I have rarely seen ( you want duck , sushi, caviar, egg benedict, champagne for breakfast..its there over the regular egg, pancake, cheese, cereal, fresh fruits etc.) and last but not least, to top it all, extremely attentive and professional staff, beyond reproach, at all level.

Yes, it is in the middle of nowhere. About 2 hours drive from Johannesburgh. That might be its only downfall or, on the contrary, exactly the point. Once you're there, your first and only concern is to enjoy everything Sun City has to offer.

If boutique hotel are your preference, this would not be the place for you. But if you want to experience the surroundings of kings and queens on their everyday life, you must spend a few days at the Palace. And by the way, their golf courses are quite challenging!

Helene and Andre, from Canada

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Top of the mountain, this hotel gives you a hack of a view up there, only residents and tour groups could get into the sand beach, which was an extra to the stay. Massive buffet breakfast and the best in south africa i reckon, the service i received in the restaurant was gold, but the check out was an utter disaster. First of all, you will see a lot of group checking in at 4pm ish, please, avoid that time approaching the concierge and the reception. You will be crowded with tonnes of people, with loads lining up for check in and maps. I was there at appoximate 4pm for check out, 2 at the counter serving group/tours and there were actually staffs (some managers) running in and out the back office, couldn't be bothered asking a line like 'how could i assist you' as simple as that, NIL. Waited there for like 15 minutes before getting to the counter for check out. I ordered a salad at appoximately 1pm and that hadn't be posted to the room yet. The staff did not smile not did not greet me, just go straight in asking 'erm, what are you paying for'? it took at least 5 minutes just to sort out the in room dining bill. No 'thanks for staying' or 'loved to see you again'. How could this be a 5 star hotel. That check out wasn't a 5 star experience at all. Then comes the concierge. Asked for a map and they will just give you one. No further action taken like showing the different complex on the ground or introducing a couple of point of interests. Not good at all.

Room size was fantastic. Do not ever try to open the window and there ARE monkies/baboons watching ya. Corridors will get a bit dark at night times. There are lights, but it's just dim, they refer this to experiencing the atmosphere. Internet is at charge, but if you're on leisure, why bother knowing news outside this paradise?

The only up side to this place is the massive land and the activities involved in it. You can literally spend a week there not getting bored. Casino (well they named this an entertainment complex, with bar/pub, game centre in it), horse riding, helicopter rides, hot air balloon rides, tennis courts, golf courses free shuttle running up'n' down the different hotels, lovely pool etc.etc. I would love to go back to the sun city, but i don't think it would be for the palace.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

An odd place. Over the top Vegas meets Africa decor. Excellent breakfast buffet. Rooms are not nearly as lavish as public areas, service mediocre. Not my cup of tea -- but not a bad experience. Golf courses are very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabarber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Just spent a great few days at the Palace. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The service was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent – the breakfast buffet was the best we have seen. I would recommend getting there at around 0900 as after this there were queues. The evening meal at the main restaurant at the palace was very good. I would recommend you make a reservation as we had to wait an hour for a table (it was worth it though!).

I would also recommend a trip to the Shebeen for some local specialities!!

We went to the Brai at the Cabanas on the Saturday night – which was a little disappointing. Due to the weather they had to cook the food in advance so it did not taste too great. However I did taste of the freshly cooked meat and it was good.

For the hotel standard, the price for food and drink was very reasonable in deed.

The entertainment centre at Sun City was a bit disappointing– it was full of slot machines, games and fast food type restaurants, which would have been great for entertaining bored kids. Some of Sun City was a bit tacky and not at the same level as the Palace, however everyone we met was very friendly.

As the previous post mentioned, the lifts were a bit erratic and sometimes you had to wait quite a while (we could not find stairs!). I would also recommend locking everything of value in the room safe. A friend of ours and warned us that things can go missing from bags left in the room.

There we lots of activities – almost all off site – the best thing was the Game drive safari booked through the visitor centre. Even though it meant an early start, it was worth it and we got to see so much. It cost about 700 Rand for the two of us and was worth every penny!

I would bring a jumper (for early starts on the trips) and waterproof / umbrella – when it rains it really rains!!

We stayed for 4 enjoyable nights. I think any longer would have been too much though.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
238.5 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
659 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing