We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Show and No Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked The Palace of the Lost City, based on the raving reviews and publicity that the SunCity and the Sun international group has been getting.
I am sorry to say that this was the worst stay in a 5 Star Hotel me and my wife have ever had.Our introduction to the hotel was as transfer from Joburg airport to the Suncity with a friendly driver called Patty, organised by another gentleman called Madgwik from the concierge desk. (Sadly the only 2 people the knew what service with a smile meant).
As soon we got to the checkin counter, a snobby man asked us to go to another counter to be served, although pretending to be busy he was not doing much. The rooms were big but dirty, the bathrooms were the same, the bathroom sink kept clogging every time we tried to use it and no one did anything about it. My booking included breakfast and I must say the spread was ok, but the staff there was just standing around, no one even offered to pour us a coffee for the second time. We decided to visit the Grill Restaurant Salt and Pepper which has got raving reviews only to find out that it had hopeless service too, we had walked in at 7:30 pm and did not manage to get out till 9:30 pm due to the slow service, even after asking for the bill several times, we did not get the bill till we walked up to the register. To make matters worse, there was a power failure at 1:00 am in the morning and no one did anything to even turn on the generator till about 6:00 am, neither did anyone inform us of anything, even the phone lines were down for the whole night and half the day. After all this each and every staff that we came in contact with expected a tip and I know its Africa and people expect tips, but even after paying them the tip, people did not do their jobs.
No free internet, with is quite surprising for a 5 star place like this considering we had free internet in the Bush when we where on safari.
The worst Service ever, I will never go to Sun City again because of the culture there and will think twice to book any of the hotels from the Sun International Group.

Room Tip: Just don't go to this place, instead if you want to visit a casino go the the Emperor's Pala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NSolanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Palace of the lost city, I was deeply disappointed when reading your account of your recent stay with us as we pride ourselves and are known for only offering the highest level of service and standards within a truly unique 5 star facility. Your comments and concerns have been distributed to the relevant parties for further investigation.

I do hope you will contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your review and will reconsider that one day we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel, so that you can truly experience the levels of service and customer focus we are international renowned for.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

My Wife and I took advantage of the Winter break special,and stayed for a night at the Paace hotel,part of the Sun City Complex.From the time we parked and got escorted to reception,where we were welcomed and given a refreshing drink,to our beautiful room,overlooking a green forest,everything was absolutely first class.The breakfast which was included in the tarriff,really needed to be singled out,as the choices were nothing short of unbelievable.All in all a really great stay,at a very reasonable rate.Highly recommended for jaded travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Palace of the lost city.
My team and I are pleased you and your wife have had a very special and enjoyable time with us.
We look forward in being able to welcome you back for your next visit and perhaps a longer break in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

When you come down on the road that leads to the hotel and get to it's higher higher point. the main entrance of this hotel hits you like a dream. The services, restaurants bars and the casino compliments the whole experience. As I read in other reviews, it can be a little apart but perfect for an OASIS stop while visiting other main cities in the continent. Enjoy cocktails at the main bar or around the pool, hang at the beach or explore the casino. If you take the sunrise elephant ride be sure to be early. Have a safari in the evening and note to self! book a round of gulf for him in advance and a spa for you right after the safari. Staff comes from all over the continent, very attentive and willing to share experiences. Amazing, will definitely visit again:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleCanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and I am very pleased that you have had such
a memorable and enjoyable experience. I will be passing on your compliments and feedback to the relevant members of my team and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fabulous hotel on the whole good service, food excellent at each of the various restaurants.

Good base and Sun City is great location for a break but overall is limited unless you are heavily into Golf and Gambling.

If you expect Sun City to be the Las Vegas of South Africa you will be disappointed BUT the 2K Zip wire, Predator World, Sunrise Elephant Ride are all great events to experience.

Sun down on top of the Kings tower is also worth a look.

Overall worth a visit but unless your into your Golf then 3 days is about the optimum time before exploring further a field

Room Tip: Pool View rooms are pretty god and well spec'd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and very positive comments. My team and I hope to be able to welcome you back for your next holiday.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Palace is still the most breathtaking hotel we have visited yet. This coupled with the excellent service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We are fortunate to be a few hours away from The Palace so it’s easy to take for granted. On a side note, glad to see the other hotels and the entire resort going through an upgrade its been needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewkiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and very positive comments. My team and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. You will be pleased to note that several upgrades to facilities are underway and I encourage you to enjoy them on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I fell in love with this hotel in all its splendour. Our room was comfortable and on the other side of the beautiful elephant sculpture which I personally think is the quiter side of this hotel. The views from the tower is amazing! The breakfast staff were extremely friendly and service exceptional. The buffet was out of this world and the highlight of my mornings. We had a few transport hicups however I trust that these have been delt with as we informed the managers of this via their survey. All in all we had the best time ever and should the opportunity arise again would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZJordaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Palace of the lost city.
I have shared your feedback with my team and we do hope you will be able to return to our Resort to enjoy yet another exciting vacation.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Sumptuous, extravagant and excellent customer service! The meals were fantastic, pools were delightful, and the surroundings were gorgeous if not slightly over the top! Excellent value for money and we really enjoyed our time here. Best buffet breakfast I have ever experienced; I felt like a naughty, but up judged, child!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty_kat_65_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed on your comments regarding the food offering to my Executive Chef and shared your review with our service team. We hope you will return to the Palace soon and enjoy more of what is on offer.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
816 reviews
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
681 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $289 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing