We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at The Palace of the Lost City, it was our second stay there and it was lovely to revisit. Our children loved the wave pool, lazy river and slides at the Sun City water park, plus the pool at The Palace.
Our room was lovely and spacious, our bed was comfortable but the sleeper couch our children slept on was not great, but really would be our only complaint.
The choice at breakfast time was amazing, and general restaurant choices were good.
The children loved the entertainment center but we had to keep it one visit else we would have spent a small fortune.
The close proximity to the Pilansberg Game Reserve meant that we were able to go on a game drive for the day.
All in all a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaguireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that you and your family had chosen to return to our beautiful Resort and have enjoyed your holiday with us at the Palace of the Lost City Hotel.
Your comments have been noted and I have shared these with my team, we hope to welcome you and your family back someday in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    371
    174
    85
    76
See reviews for
712
645
27
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Last weekend my husband and I booked into the palace for a "special" weekend.
I was extremely disappointed with the following.
1. Curtains were coming off hooks in bedroom
2. T.v Cabinet left side door, kept closing while we were trying to watch t.v (we had to unplug the kettle that was next to cabinet to try "wedge" the door between the tray and the t.v cabinet.
3. cheap toilet paper was used.

Room Tip: High floors obviously have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very disappointed in reading your review and extend my sincere apologies if we did not meet your expectations. I have initiated an investigation based on your comments as we have not had these standard issues reported before.

I do hope that you and your husband will choose to return to the Palace and allow my team and I an opportunity to show our five star service level and standards of which we are internationally renowned for.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our family had 5 days there
the rooms were lovely
breakfast fantastic
pool best ever & food around pool was great
staff great
whole set up & interconnection with sites & activities extra great
free busses to take you anywhere in resort

Room Tip: over looking pool was breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
I have shared your recent review with my team and we thank you for your positive comments and feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband surprised me with a long weekend away for our wedding anniversary at The Palace of the Lost City. Just a 2 hour drive from Johannesburg and were greater by friendly staff. We had a lovely room which overlooked the pool area. Breakfast was a large buffet and you definitely will not go hungry! Dinner was a choice of a buffet in one restaurant of al la carte in the others. If you do not feel like eating at the Palace you are able to go to one of the other hotels in the Sun City complex. There are shuttle buses ever 15 to 20 minutes which was the only thing that was a bit frustrating. Sometimes we waited to long for a shuttle in the evening. However, staying at the palace gives you free access to the Valley of the Waves so thats a plus if you want to have some fun in the waves. Had a great weekend of relaxing by the pool, 5.30am game drive into the Pilansberg game reserve booked through Gametrackers and full body massages at the Spa. Relaxing stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
A belated happy wedding anniversary to you and your husband, my team and I thank you for your kind feedback and comments which I have passed on to the relevant department. I do hope that you will choose to return to our beautiful Resort and enjoy more of the facilities we have to offer.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to sun city as a family and choose this hotel to stay . It was the best experience ever. The hotel is very beautiful. I couldn't stop looking at every little detail that made this hotel stunning . The service was at its best ! The biggest variety of food and it was really delicious !! This hotel is my favourite hotel and we will definitely come again and again
Linde family

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaivaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Linde family,
Thank you for your kind review and very positive comments. My team and I hope to be able to welcome you back for your next holiday.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Best hotel in Sun City by miles. Excellent service from check in to meals to swimming pool beds allocation! Everyone is friendly and professional. Massive inclusive buffet breakfast in palatial hall with live piano playing suitable music! Decorations everywhere out of this world beautiful sculptures and paintings everywhere. Massive bedroom with beautiful view over the large pool waterfall and hills. A Venetian style palace with fountains and water all round in the jungle! Was booked 4 nights but extended our stay. Game drives to Pilanesberg reseve were arranged at the concierge desk - collected from and dropped back to the hotel by shuttle. 10 plus rating!! Can not wait to visit again

Room Tip: Ask for a view across the pool area and surrounding hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
The Palace of the Lost City is truly a unique property and I thank you for your positive comments and feedback regarding the hotel, its staff, and the high levels of service offered.
My team and I look forward in being able to welcome you back soon for yet another holiday.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, superb breakfast and fantastic room. One of the best hotels, i have ever stayed.

As i was with the group, Check in experience was not good due to staff attitude. hotel staff is not cooperative as they should be.

But over all, it was excellent experience.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zynul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and positive comments. Your experience during check in has been noted and shared with the relevant management. We hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
614 reviews
238.5 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
658 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing