We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The High Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The High Life”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently spent a fabulous 4 nights at the above Leading Hotel of The World and can confirm that they have managed to maintain the high standard experienced by us almost three years ago!
My e-mail of specific requirements was sent to the hotel 6 weeks prior to our arrival and was attended to in every detail by Sabrina Fick and her wonderful team. We had previously stayed in the African Suite, one of two Presidential Suites, and this time were upgraded to the Royal Suite. The two bedroom suite was extensive in size(over 250m^2) and the kids (aged 9 and 3) enjoyed every minute of it. The attention to detail, such as snacks for the kids, specific flowers for the wife and bottled water with a specific pH etc. were all as specified, WOW! The concierge and butler service courtesy of Vinny Maharajh was of a world class standard, always there when needed but never obtrusive. No request was too much trouble and we were even treated to dinner, in the dining room, in our room having ordered from the menu of the afro-french fusion restaurant(no children allowed). The long weekend proved to be a real relaxing experience and we'd recommend the Palace for a luxury weekend away anytime. It is certainly worthy of the LHW title.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    355
    170
    81
    73
See reviews for
687
633
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liuzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Palace and all the other hotels in the resort, just fantastic! Service brilliant, friendly staff. Will always go back! One of the best attractions. There is something for everyone, and so much to see and explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisvc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is so beautiful. It make you feel so exclusive and important and no other guest are allowed only palace residents are allow, which make you feel important. We had a room which was quite far that was an issue for me. But this place is so beautiful it didnt not even worry me where the room was. The design of this whole hotel is breath taking. The breakfast and dinner is excellent, if you feel for a take out meal or something else, the entertainment centre is the place to go. My only issue is that i actually would like to have seen a private casino there only for the palace residents hopefully they might put one there. But i will stay again there soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapeel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

When staying at The Palace of the Lost City be prepared for everything to be OTT: Over The Top! It is not often you stay at a hotel with a theme (a lost civilisation) and you are staying at the palace of this civilisation’s lost city. But despite this, it all seems to work. While our room was suffering a little of ‘the faded glories', it seemed to work against the backdrop of the overall hotel. That said, our room was immaculate and had everything we required.

The hotel itself is spotless and grand in every way, befitting the ‘palace of a lost city’.

I would really recommend a drink out on the balcony at the Tusk Bar in the early evening. Our drink was heightened watching two baboons scale the heights of the hotel and then climb through an open balcony door into someone’s empty hotel room – all this despite warnings to keep balcony doors closed and locked for this very reason. Someone would have returned to a nice surprise!

The buffet for breakfast caters for every taste, including sushi, oysters, and much much more.

Before you have splash in the beautiful heated swimming pool, explore a little further a field and have a dip in the ‘plunge pool’, which is hidden away up the hill on a beautiful grassy knoll. If the thought of having a skinny dip doesn’t cross your mind I’d be very surprised!

All that said, this hotel may not be to everyone’s taste. Everything is OTT, but if you want a hotel experience with a difference you can’t go past The Palace of the Lost City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strachur
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a ball in this incredible hotel. Less is more certainly doesn't apply here, it was opulent, visually stunning with an unrivalled attention to detail re the wow factor decor. Our corner room was huge, bright, clean, well appointed and equipped, and had lovely views. Room safes are provided, a must anywhere in SA. The breakfast choice was amazing, (though I expected freshly squeezed orange juice). We had lovely dinners in both restaurants, with the food being top notch and great value, and Tusk bar served great cocktails The pool was super and the pool side food was first class, served by really lovely staff. Too many different activities to list, we did plenty and had fun. Thanks to the boys who taught my son to wake board with such patience. The horse riding was also excellent with beautiful horses and ponies based in lovely riding countryside.

There is nothing understated about this hotel, but we really enjoyed our stay and we will certainly return and recommend.

Room Tip: Go riding and allow plenty of time to make the most of breakfast complete with pianist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This wonderful hotel really needs some loving care! Our room though spacious had a couple of problems. The hot water tap at the basin couldn't open. The cold water tap screeched when opened, the shower door couldn't close. The service staff are VERY noisy even at 7 am in the morning. The service telephone outside of the elevator was out of service so when at 11 pm we find our room key wasn't opening the door, we were forced to go down to the reception. The breakfast is truly amazing ! From champagne to oysters, eggs and traditional fare. The high tea was truly disappointing

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the atrium. The service staff can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was always on my bucket list to stay at The Palace of the Lost City but this experience puts me in a place where I will never return. It was a birthday surprise to visit the hotel and to my horror the experience leaves me speechless. I never once felt happy to be staying there the way the people who worked there behaved. The guards at the entrance who literally block you in your path demanding to know if you are in fact staying there when you return from somewhere within the resort. The way you are treated when you need transport - there's always someone who has to go first who's no where in sight waiting and then you will be attended to while there are numerous hotel vehicles in the vicinity. The breakfast matron who wants to seat you in the hidden corner behind the stairs and then gives you 2 separate tables for 5 people -and then because 2 people are still to arrive gives the allocated table to someone else. In general the staff here have no clue how to provide you that personal touch of patronage, to make you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay. I definitely will not return after this experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sumaiyah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
603 reviews
238.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
634 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing