We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Spring break”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A pleasing long weekend getaway just an hour and half out of Johannesburg. We have visited the Palace a few times and what we always seem to encounter that the General Manager is always on leave. Bear in mind that the resort was over occupied for the manger to be on leave leaves a lot to be doubted. The receptionist are welcoming but the planners who do the rooms had our rooms allocated our rooms on 2 different floors one on the 3rd and one on the 7th. Holidaying with kids makes very difficult for convenience. Our rooms were changed to be across each other. The rooms are clean but very out-of-date and the bathrooms need a serious renewal. The rooms are not 5 star category. We got exceptional service form the Tusk bar namely Esther. The breakfast is vast and very well prepared. Valdi runs the restaurant very well. The pool area is fantastic and so is the service. Alfred was very caring to the kids. All in all the hotel has good service but the rooms need refurbishment urgently to stay five star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farhana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    353
    169
    80
    71
See reviews for
676
627
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel recently and enjoyed it but we did not think it was worthy of its 5 star rating.

That said the staff were excellent and very helpful - this wasn to surprising as in some areas staff outnumbered guests.

Rooms and general areas look dated and in need of maintenance. The food was OK but nothing special - our last night was the start of the school holidays and we were perturbed to be only offered a buffet as this is the norm evidently. If we would have known that we would have eaten in the restaurant on a previous night.

On balance - an impressive building but does not seem to have been kept to its glory over its last 20 years. I would have loved to have stayed here 15-20 years ago!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Loved the location and surrounding area. Beautiful nature. Mini safaris were incredible (to this newbie). Very nice grounds and seems like a wonderful place to take children. Also monkeys in the rooms if you leave windows/doors open (understandable, as you're in the midst of the JUNGLE!) ...

Worst part for me was horrible internet connectivity, as I was also trying to conduct business while there. Would not return for this reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

T Medupe
I took my mother and two sisters and we were welcomed By a wonderful service from Omphile who took us to reception for check in and then to our rooms. Let's get one thing straight this has to be the most beautiful hotel in the world. We were given the pool facing rooms on the 5th floor and the view is wonderful when u open the sliding door you just hear the lovely sounds of the waterfalls,rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms and there's a couch and its table and on the other side there's another table with two chairs and they all fit perfectly in the room. The furniture fits the theme of the lost city and did I mention the king size bed is huge and very comfortable.
The pool area is lovely and there's a pool bar. You can get foot masssage at the pool while you relaxing on the sunbed and the pool is heated by the way.

Breakfast is the best ever and is served buffet style in the spectacular crystal court while the pianist is playing lovely tunes.
There are a lot of activities within the resort, too many to mention. They will also take u around in a Mercedes and I really enjoyed it when they opened the doors for us we were really treated like royalty. We were well looked after that I was already thinking about my return on our first day.
Overall exellent service and I've already booked for 3 days in December and I can't wait. Yes the December rate is very expensive but u know what they say if the product is exellent then we shall pay.
Go and treat yourself is worth it .
Thanks again to Omphile and the rest of the staff I'm looking forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thato12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent property. (Stunning collection, painting, detailing, chandeliers, furniture, african art)
Excellent Service & Management. ( Well Trained, friendly & helpful staff)
Excellent Breakfast & Buffet.(Come prepared to eat a lot ;))

Overall very Peaceful relaxing experience. Just walk around the property and admire the exceptional amount of work. :)))

Its Over Price but worth going! Have fun! ))

PS: Don't miss Pilanesburg Game Reserve, Predator World, Entertainment area etc etc)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeshagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

OMG. Your very first step into the hotel and you are mesmerised. It is just amazing. Completely different. Very luxurious. Enjoyed my stay at the hotel and within the complex. The rooms were excellent too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SunitaF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel by far is the one of the most beautiful hotels in Africa in a spectacular area, in the heart of the nature!
the Staff also is very friendly,professional and very meticulous.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a High floor room in the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank versed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
238.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing