We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live out your fantasy in the Palace of the Lost City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is spectacular in it's setting. A wonderful fantasy and worth seeing. Rooms are beautifully furnished with stunning bathrooms. Plenty of space. Restaurant, service and food all first class. Staff very helpful and courteous. It's a very special kind of experience one that cannot be compared because it is so different. Ideal for any occasion and you have the amenites of the resort with lots of activities to suit all ages.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthaBilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is indeed a great pleasure to read and share a complimentary review such as yours with my team. As a uniquely designed luxury five star hotel, we constantly strive to deliver memorable experiences such as yours.
My team and I thank you for your comments and hope you will return sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and spent the last weekend in May at The Palace and whilst we were treated very well by staff of the hotel and the rooms were nice, a couple of issues really spolit our break!
The Valley of the Waves was closed for maintenance (which we were warned about), there was a croupier strike so very few tables were open for gambling (an unforeseen event I understand)
but the main issue was that a Hollywood movie was being filmed at the Palace and we were preventing from certain areas like the Crystal Room where we had specifically wanted to experience High Tea! More importantly the hotel was teeming with at least 150 SA film crew as well as international crew who acted as if the hotel belonged to them and even had the gall to tell people not to speak in the vivinity of the film location.......which was smack bang in front of the only lifts to the rooms! One was made to feel we didnt belong there,,,,albeit we paid an arm and leg to stay there!! Quite frankly guests should have been warned and the hotel should have been closed to outsiders! Under the circumstances we were actually extremely bored!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to write your review and it is most unfortunate that during your time you had experienced certain inconveniences. I was very disappointed to read your account of the filming taking place at the hotel and have passed on these concerns to the relevant parties. Added, I have made enquiries with our reservations department as to why you were not advised of the filming prior to your arrival.

It would be my pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us once more and I do hope you will contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at Sun City late May for 4 nights room overlooking pool.
First reaction WOW. The statues, the painted dome, the ornate floors, carpets, furniture, art work, chandeliers, royal albert china for high tea, fountains everything is so over the top.
Our driver dropped us off, we were given an assistant who directs you to reception, then if you like gives you a quick tour. She then takes you to your room and shows you around.
There was a complimentary bottle of champagne and a bowl of fruit on the table which included pears, apples, orange, grapes and plums.
The room is large with dark african wooden furniture, lounge, coffee table, desk and chair, 3 phones, table and chair setting, tv cabinet with fridge inside comfortable and extremely clean. The bed is absolutely divine. There is large room with separate shower with great water pressure, toilet, vanity and bath separated from main room by 2 large sliding doors. There is plenty of plush towels, toiletries, lighted makeup mirror and hair dryer. There is also a large wardrobe with a safe inside. Free internet 100mb/per day you just have to put the code in each day.
A couple of negatives the constant sound from waterfall 3 floors down is very monotonous and irritating after a while, even through the glass sliding doors. The other being the mini bar had not been replenished at any time during our 4 day stay.
Breakfast has everything you can imagine including oysters and if you want even icecream just ask and they will get it for you. You won't need to eat the remainder of the day. This is the only restaurant in the Palace and all meals are served here. But at the entertainment centre there are many takeaway restaurants such as Whimpy, Nandos and our favourite Fish Away which sold nothing but seafood, loved it.
Being a Palace guest you get courtesy Mercedes take you anywhere around the resort.
The entire Valley of Waves entire area was closed for winter which was a disappointment because there looked like there was a lot to see and do in there.
We went to the casino one night over the weekend. If you think it is anything like Vegas you will be extremely disappointed. Not many machines and those that were there were all in use and people queued behind waiting for a turn. They also have a smokers room to play the machines and the table games.
We enjoyed our stay but if anything Sun City is very over rated. I am easy going and have written many reviews and try to be as honest as possible but I do have few negatives. As well as the couple listed above I felt like the ladies, especially in the restaurant and casino weren't really happy doing what they were doing. The 'good mornings and can I help you' seemed 'forced', it was something they had to do, but really over did it when there was senior staff around. They would seat us at a table for 4 and not remove the extra place settings, they had to be prodded by a supervisor. This should not happen in an expensive 5 star resort like this. But look out for Valdi the assistant restaurant manager he is absolutely wonderful and did make it feel like a 5 star experience.
We had problems with our golf booking it had been prepaid yet we we not on the sheet and told it had not been paid. The pro shop even checked with golf admin and they said we had paid for the Gary Player course and not the Sun City course, so we had to pay it again. Finally sorted it out 2 days later and received a credit card refund even though I paid cash. I could understand this if I were only playing the one course but not when the payment went through for 2 courses.
There are so many people working here and this could be part of the problem one person thinks the other will do it. The girl that showed us around on our first day didn't know the Valley of the Waves was closed, she told us we could walk down to the entertainment centre though there, we tried too but told it was closed. They also give you a weekly printout and on there it still had the opening time of the valley of the waves. I don't know how busy the resort was but on the wing we were on they were jack hammering walls to open the rooms up. This went on all day from about 9 am until 5pm. Even though the doors were closed there was dust everywhere. The staff were constantly cleaning it up but it was just so bad.
If it were truly a 5 star hotel these little hiccups wouldn't happen.
I don't think I would recommend the Palace to my friends I don't think the service is that what you would expect of a truly 5 star hotel. Maybe stay for a night just to experience it but you'd probably enjoy any other of the lodgings here at a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your detailed review and I appreciate your open honesty. I have highlighted your concerns regarding the sound of waterfalls around your room location, your comments regarding the resort feel, the casino facility and staff behaviors with the relevant department concerned. Our guest service and satisfaction is very important to us and do apologize should any of these areas had failed to meet your expectations.

We hope that you will return to the resort and enjoy many more of the wonderful facilities on offer during your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our family visited the palace hotel in May 2013 winter during our tour of South Africa. We visited the third floor and found the rooms to be spacious with an extra bed for an adult or two kids and a huge bathroom and balcony. The statues on the entrance and the lobby of various animals are huge and worth a click. The lobby is magnificent and lavish. The buffet area is huge and spacious and serves sumptous meals including a good checkout breakfast. There are shuttles available from the main entrance to all hotels in Sun City and are free. The Hotel has a huge swimming pool also.

Room Tip: Higher the rooms better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumOra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and I am very pleased that you and your family have had such a memorable and enjoyable experience. I will be passing on your compliments and feedback to the relevant members of my team and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

First I need to mention that we were unfortunately caught up in the whole Gupta Wedding fiasco which had a rather dramatic impact on our planned holiday. That being said, management were understanding of our concerns and we have been fully reimbursed for our stay (such was the impact of this wedding).

With this unfortunate incident aside, the Palace of the Lost City is a spectacular holiday destination. The sheer magnitude of the place is astonishing and the grounds, facilities are spotless. The rooms are a little dated, but certainly not in drastic need of renovation.

The Palace has so many restaurants, pools, kids arcades (casino if you really have to do that on holidays) and of course, two great golf courses.

The food (when not being taken over by the Gupta's) was of a very high standard and the staff are very accommodating in the most part. The facilities include a large Olympic size swimming pool, wave pool and kids water slides.

Had we not been involved in GuptaGate, this would most certainly have been a highlight of our 19 day trip to South Africa.

One criticism other than the Gupta's, the service by many of the staff at breakfast was a shambles. Not sure how much the Gupta's had on this, but it took 40 minutes for us to get a cup of coffee, even though there were 12 staff standing around and after telling all 12 what we were after. There were also issues with getting breakfast served (we only wanted a plain omelette)even after the head chef came out to take our order. Best get this rectified asap and the (how to serve customers 101 session) being conducted by your managers whilst we were having breakfast is not an ideal situation.

Special thanks to the hotel manager (Nicholas Forsythe) for taking our tirade of complaints about the Gupta scandal so well and for compensating us for our troubles. A very special thanks also to your other manager Raymond (I think) who greatly assisted my wife and kids with using the facilities over-run by the Gupta's.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher is best to capture the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure in meeting both you and your family. Unfortunately certain areas of the hotel were not available during your stay but I do appreciate you taking your time in addressing these concerns with me and most importantly I was very pleased that we were able to arrange for your family to enjoy the Valley of Waves prior to your departure date.

I do hope that you and your family will return to South Africa and Sun City some day in the future as it will only a pleasure in welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel had all the facilities and comforts you will ever need. Rooms are spacious and comfortable although decor is slightly dated. Breakfast buffet is unbelievable and the best I have ever experienced. Dinner in the hotel is also lovely with great service. We were there during cool rainy weather so didn't get the best of the poolside and didn't use the water park. The gym and spa is very good, however it is a courtesy bus ride away from the hotel so you don't just nip down from your room to the gym. Overall, it has everything you would need with great food and good service, but it feels part of a huge complex and you feel more like a number than a guest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDE260767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Unfortunately, the weather did not allow you to enjoy our magnificent pool during your stay and I do apologies if you found the resort environment surrounding the Hotel a bit impersonal and will share your feedback with the relevant parties concerned.
However, I do appreciate your positive comments of the facilities and service and do hope that you will return to the resort sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The ultimate best place to stay while in Sun City. Try to book ahead, otherwise the rates get horrendous. This place guarantees a surreal Disneylike experience coupled with new-age luxury, as perceived by the designer. It is a fun park meets luxury lodge place, where the gypsum statues mix with real zebra skin armchairs and chandeliers. Hotel disposes of free limo service which is a perk as well as a direct access to the fun park. Finally, the drinks are well priced, which is ok for the western tourist.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Aggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As Sun City Resort offers several accommodation offerings I am very pleased you chose the Palace of the Lost City which offers a truly unique African experience.
Our guests comfort, service and overall satisfaction is of paramount importance and we hope that you will be able to return once more to continue the adventure.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
696 reviews
24.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $270 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing