We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingdom of Thrills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Kingdom of Thrills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What an awesome hotel. We loved the hotel, the architecture is breathtaking. Management and staff were absolutely efficient and friendly. The rooms are so spacious and beautifully furnished. We have stayed at the other hotels in Sun City before, but the Palace is definitely the best. But brace yourself, the prices of everything here is very expensive from food to drinks. But the facilities, peace and tranquility is worth it. Sun City was extremely busy during the period we were there, but being at the palace, away from the hustle and bustle was worth every cent. The kids also enjoyed the lovely walks and facilties that the palave offered. The food was divine. Breakfast was an absolute feast. The variety, quality and service was exceptional. Will deifinety stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms should be pool facing, the view is spectacular. But any room at the palace makes you feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kershree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    345
    165
    78
    70
See reviews for
657
616
25
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a dusty 20 days camping trip in Namibia, we decided to have a 3 days treat at The Palace of the Lost City, at Sun City, South Africa. With exception of the avenue that takes to the casino and the casino itself, which reminded us of Las Vegas, it was spectacular. Wildlife is the theme. Every element of tasteful design, every facet of aesthetic beauty has been incorporated within the realm of the resort. The man made beach would rival the most glorious of natural beaches anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the pool have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabizoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having lived overseas now for 5 years, my husband and I returned to South Africa for a quick Easter break to visit family in JHB. On a whim we decided to go up to Sun City for 4 days and it turned out to be our best holiday ever - and we went with two small kids (age 4 and 6)! With no pre-planning we were lucky to find a room in the Palace and it was our best decision we made. Everything about the Palace is first class all the way, the staff are so helpful and friendly and accomodating - it is worth every cent and more!
Here are just a few highlights of our stay:
- Concierge organised so much for us in minutes: dinner reservations, baby sitter, salon bookings, spa bookings, turn down service for our kids bed in the lounge area every night - you name it they did and even made suggestions that we would ordinarily have not bothered with: shuttle services etc.
- Fresh fruit everyday in the room and a bottle of champagne on arrival.
- The food (breakfast and supper) was incredible - I honestly could have just eaten their salad buffet (over 20 different options) and yet one could not say no to all the main course dishes and the desserts! Absolutely divine!
- Lunch at the pool with a make your own pizza and ice cream sundae bar.
- Free entrance to The Valley of the Waves.
- Easter Egg Hunt on Easter Sunday, holiday programme for kids.
etc.
For anyone who is looking for a luxurious break, in easy travelling distance of JHB, The Palace really is such a good choice! And I was pleasantly surprised how accomodating they were with young kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have always had a wonderful stay at The Palace!
The staff are exceptionally friendly and always helpful.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a weekend away (or longer!) - we had our
kids with us and they were always made to feel welcome and had a wonderful time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 746carolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at The Palace over the long weekend 22/23 March with an entourage of our children and grandchildren..16 of us in all. This was a special occasion and we needed to have entertainment on tap for both children and adults. It is indeed impressive arriving at The Palace. The architectural features create a wonderful backdrop for photographs and the Entrance Lobby is still beautiful after all these years. The staff are friendly and welcoming and you are made to feel special in every way. Check-in was smooth and efficient but not without its 'challenges'. Our group had booked long in advance with very specific requests relating to proximity and outlook. This review would have been an entirely different one were it not for the speed and responsiveness with which our 'inquiries' were dealt with. Thank you to Sabrina , Fanele and Annelize for the upgrade and concern for our well being. Breakfast in the Crystal Court was fabulous and by far the best food at Sun City. Dinner at the Palazzo was at best very average and overpriced. There should be somewhere at Sun City where one can have a great food experience at whatever price and this restaurant is in the right setting but.... Having said that, we came away with many more positives than negatives. The kids loved the water features and the activities at the Valley of the Waves. The adults enjoyed the spa, the 'secret' private rock pool behind the big heated pool, as well as all the other activities on tap. This is a great place to celebrate a special family occasion and we left feeling exhilarated and very happy (albeit exhausted, if you were a little person).

Room Tip: request a room on the front, high up, overlooking the Pool . The rooms over the ball room can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Palace hotel sun city, what a nice hotel with a very lossy management and services, after paying all this money they only gave me very limited Internet connection and when I complained to the duty manager, he was very negative in his response, I believe they do need to invest in their staff training or change them with better qualified staff and not only to focus on the lobby and the facility, later when I used my room I found out that the bath robe had holes and old and without a belt, and when i put it in the cleaning basket they just took it back out and hung it again for me, and when I called the house keeping they said this is not good and it should be changed and I have told them train your staff to do that and do not tell me that. In short it is not worth the money as the service level is the lowest when you compare it to 5 star hotels in UK, US or Dubai. Be careful and stay away from it.

Saad Alkhalb

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salkhalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had lived in South Africa for a few years and the Palace of the Lost City had been on my bucket list for some time. I decided to splurge and spent a fair whack of money on a room for one night as a treat.
The valet service and concierge upon arrival were really helpful but from then on it all went down hill. The palace is splendid and the mosaics are amazing but the foyer was full of tourists taking photos and you had to battle through tour groups to get to the lifts. It feels as though we were twenty years too late!
Sadly, although our room was very comfortable the decor was very dated and simply not worth the price tag. We decided to go for high tea and we were shocked to find the cake table absolutely covered in wasps and no one doing anything about it. I appreciate that it is hard to deter wasps but I was surprised to see that none of the cakes were covered and the chocolate gateaux alone was almost covered in wasps. The outdoor bar area was also swarming with wasps and at breakfast on our final day there were birds landing on our table and trying to make away with our breakfast. It just wasn't the five star service I had expected and there were no personal touches. I have experienced five star South African hospitality for less than half the price at lodges across South Africa and at high end hotels; this by comparison did not come close. The complimentary bottle of MCC was a nice touch but for the price tag I would have expected it to be all-inclusive. It saddens me to admit that I spent that much money and came away so unimpressed; I am not a typically picky traveler but in this instance, we were ripped off. Splurge on a lodge somewhere in Kruger or a swanky Cape Town trip...Sun City is just not worth it any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
238.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing