We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGH TEA AT THE CRYSTAL COURT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“HIGH TEA AT THE CRYSTAL COURT”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

For visitors from the UK especially ,at R145 pp,excluding the bottle of local sparkling wine and tip,this IS value for money.
Entrance to the Crystal Court is gained through the impressive foyer of the hotel complex leading to the vast,high-ceilinged room below.
The room itself is massive, furnished with an array of tables as well as tastefully decorated sofas and chairs with a Grand Piano maestro playing a selection of tunes to suit any preference in music.
A sculpture of elephants as part of a relaxing water feature dominates the centre with metres high sliding doors allowing fresh air to circulate on fine days.
In contrast to many similar High Teas around the world, the varied selection of eats to choose from is displayed buffet style to fascilitate choice and self-service.
I prefer this to requesting a waiter to replenish the serving trays.
The sweet and savoury eats are,to say the least, tempting to the eye and taste buds.
A well-laid out selection consisting of hot quiches,sandwiches,tartlets,scones,cakes of various types with jams,cream and custard are on offer.
The tables are decorated with a white linen tablecloth and serviettes with a selection of white,brown,multi-coloured and cube sugars.
A variety of cream,jam and custard completes the table display.
Crockery is 'Old Country Roses' Royal Albert Bone China.
There is a variety of teas to choose from, the reviewer opted for the Hot Cinnamon Spice and Tropical Cocktail. Refreshing.
A deliciously decadent indulgence.
Be warned, it appears the High Tea is not always available,so check in advance.
A varied choice of local sparkling wines as well as Champagnes are also available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillyJozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    371
    174
    85
    77
See reviews for
712
648
27
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

the entrance and building is amazing. however the rooms and elevators are tired. the service however is great, and the resort itself is HUGE!!!!! take some comfy walking shoes if you want to explore. definately try the onsite zipline experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling regularly for the past 20 years. We rate this Hotel at the top of our list. From the moment we arrived, our every need was looked after. Our room was oversized, extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed.

All of the employees were smiling and very helpful. They were so kind, even though they probably didn't understand my American accent any more than we understood theirs SA English.

Some of the memorable people we wish to thank are: Anthony in guest relations (a superstar) who gives a tour of the hotel daily at 11:30 daily. Maria in housekeeping was so sweet and concerned that we had everything in our room. Mpho in Crystal Court who made sure we had a great daily breakfast buffet. Mr. Nico, the General Manager was at the entrance, speaking with guests. Kudos to ALL of the Palace employees........

Everything we expected from LHW.

We suggest visiting the Hotel during the week rather than weekend. It's less crowded everywhere.

Room Tip: Lion wing is the nicest location....but, every room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Gaube
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the moment we checked in to teh moment we checked out we couldn't have wishe for better service. We were given a family room and had champagne on ice waitng for us.

We were only staying one night but we fitted in swimming drinks by the pool, and a fantastic dinner in the italian restaurant. This was followed by a trip to the entertainment centre.

Next morning had a fantastic breakfast overlooking the cascading rock pools and then checked out . All very stress free and very enjoyable....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Palace many times over the last 20 years. Happy to say its all as good as it always has been. Well maintained, magnificent established gardens, mad bird life, a true oasis amidst a forgotten Lost City. Had a suite , Sabrina Fick and her crew are super smiley, warm, and helpful. Rooms,service, and attention to detail is of the highest standard. Easy shuttle service to all parts of this super complex. Breakfast is an unforgetable experience. Fine dinning was had and it was an experience well worth having. Looking for a great location, good service? Something you will never forget? Come to the Palace

P.S do not go out on the balcony for a smoke, and slide the door closed! You will be locked out and stuck.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbowock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

- When we entered the Hotel, the Impression is very good and Grand but when we went to the reception, it seems that you are Checking IN in some normal Guest House.
- There is no greet, No smile, Very Sad Face ( especially in the Night shift people ).
- After all we are greeted by the Duty manager Mrs. Savitha ( indian Lady ) very nicely.
- Almost Half of the Hotel was empty but They give us the room ( African suite booked by us ) at the end of the hotel which made us difficult to go long way and come back 5 to 6 times in a day.
- We have allready declared during our booking that All family are Vegeterians but The Hotel Inroom dining always straight said " NO WE CANNOT PROVIDE ANYTHING EXCEPT SPICY VEG SANDWICH ".
- It seems you are in Ordinary Guest house.
- The rooms were Big enough and well furnished but bathrooms are without LOCKs.
- The WORST EXPERIENCE WE HAD IS WITH THE GAME CENTER MANAGER. They took our booking for Quad biking One day ago on Friday 8th March confirming twice personally and suddenly cancelled the BOOKED GAME RIDE before 2 hours of the Game ride... The reason is because THEY GOT THE GROUP BOOKING FROM SOME GROUP, SO THEY CANCELLED OUR CONFIRM BOOKING and even never appologise for their TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL ATTITUDE and the Palace Hotel management is blaming the Game center Manager and not ready to take any responsibility.
- IF YOU ARE INDIAN, PURE VEGETERIAN OR IF YOU HAVE TRAVELLED TO ANY WATERPARK, GARDENS, SHOPPING MALL ANYWHERE IN YOUR TOWN OR IN THE WORLD.... PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY FOR GOING TO SUNCITY ESPECIALLY IN THE HOTEL PALACE OF THE LOST CITY.
- Its better you stay in Hotel The Cascade OR The Cabanas or The Suncity Hotel.

Apart from Some Good Employees ( Managers of the concerned departments ), the attitude of the staff seems like They don't want you in this Hotel.
- Breakfast is Good and lot of varieties.

OVERALL.... DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THE PALACE OF LOST CITY HOTEL... THE HOTEL IS FIVE STAR BUT THE SERVICES GIVEN IS NOT UPTO THE 5 STAR STANDARDS...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaniMayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Sun City complex many times but never in the Palace. On this visit we stayed at the Palace. We booked a Suit and was upgraded to the Dessert Suit on arrival at a very good rate. Sabrina Fick is surely a great plus for the hotel as she made out stay a delight as was always available for any needs we had. If only more hotel management staff around the world could be like her, I would probably have no issues at all with hospitable outcomes. Thank you so much for taking care of us and making our stay so enjoyable.Everything worked and the suit is something special. The two days we spent there was to short but indeed I can highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Consider the suits. They are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
615 reviews
238.5 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
660 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing