We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't open your bedroom door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hola, you don't want baboons messing in your beautiful bedroom! I got the room by the 'rainforest' and it was super spacious, with super spacious bathroom as well. This 7 star property stands in a man-made city, can be good if you bring your family or loved ones along. Horse riding, wildlife safari, man-made beach with man-made waves, casinos, numerous restaurants... Shuttle is available for free to get around Sun City complex. The Palace has superb breakfast, nice lounge/bar, excellent food choice for lunch, a rich selection of scones and teas for your tea-time, several places to choose to dine, simply. Bedding is excellent, toiletries are wonderful. I like the classic-styled design of the room, I simply feel like a Queen in a Lost City! Although I like it more natural, I still give 5 ratings for this :) Unbelievable to see a place as such.

Room Tip: Ask for the one by the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychedelicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 2,035 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Palace of the Lost City over New Year. We were welcomed by Savita, who was just fantastic in sorting us out with great things to do over our four days - walk with lions (a must do), sundown with elephants, private safari, zip wire, quad biking. Two of our sons had birthdays, and Savita organised cakes and made them feel special for the day. This hotel is actually much better in real life than it looks on the Internet - we had a wonderful experience there and our sons will remember their 21st and 18th birthdays for sure!

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed twice at this fab hotel and its absolute "heaven" from beginning to end. Beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the pool, stunning bathroom, superb service, petals on the bed and candles on upon return at night. Breakfast awesome, a huge buffet with delicacies like salmon, sushi, oysters, and for the mundane eggs, bacon, pastries etc. A guitarist who plays while having breakfast. Personal limo once you want to go to other hotels. Can also take shuttle bus. Lovely pools to choose from, will go back anytime.
Can only recommend.

Room Tip: try and book a room overlooking the pool and outdoor restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelleke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Sun City to recover from an operation. This stay came as a huge surprise. We loved our room, the view, the pool, the service and most especially the breakfast. I never knew breakfast could be so good, anywhere. The attention to detail and promptness in dealing with the smallest request were exceptional. A knock at the door while you are changing for dinner? 2 complimentary glasses of bubbly with canapés for you to enjoy while you get ready to dine. The prices, for what you receive, are very very low. I am already planning to return in March. They give you a free Mercedes to take you to the show at Sun City Hotel! It is 10 minutes from the entrance to Pilanesburg park. I urge you to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafariQueenNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are thinking of visiting this place and you aren't staying at Sun City, don't bother because they won't let you in. They will let you pay the entrance fee, they'll let you catch the shuttle, they'll let you up to the door and then ask to see your residence permit. When you can't get in you'll have to hang around until the next shuttle comes along to take you back to the entertainment complex. In any case I don't think you'd miss much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Palace of the Lost City impressed me the moment we stepped in. I really liked the decorations. The location of the hotel is also the best. You take shuttle to go to the other hotels, to casino for example. Breakfast was very rich. Staff were very kind and caring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozgetaylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, Beautiful pool. Bad service, took 30 minutes to arrange my room. Booked a King size, they gave me 2 single beds. Awful wifi range inside the room. Air conditioning inside My room wasnt working properly. Disapointing

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sun City
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
695 reviews
24.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $269 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing