We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace of the Lost City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed twice at this fab hotel and its absolute "heaven" from beginning to end. Beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the pool, stunning bathroom, superb service, petals on the bed and candles on upon return at night. Breakfast awesome, a huge buffet with delicacies like salmon, sushi, oysters, and for the mundane eggs, bacon, pastries etc. A guitarist who plays while having breakfast. Personal limo once you want to go to other hotels. Can also take shuttle bus. Lovely pools to choose from, will go back anytime.
Can only recommend.

Room Tip: try and book a room overlooking the pool and outdoor restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelleke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    335
    162
    75
    71
See reviews for
643
601
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Sun City to recover from an operation. This stay came as a huge surprise. We loved our room, the view, the pool, the service and most especially the breakfast. I never knew breakfast could be so good, anywhere. The attention to detail and promptness in dealing with the smallest request were exceptional. A knock at the door while you are changing for dinner? 2 complimentary glasses of bubbly with canapés for you to enjoy while you get ready to dine. The prices, for what you receive, are very very low. I am already planning to return in March. They give you a free Mercedes to take you to the show at Sun City Hotel! It is 10 minutes from the entrance to Pilanesburg park. I urge you to see for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariQueenNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are thinking of visiting this place and you aren't staying at Sun City, don't bother because they won't let you in. They will let you pay the entrance fee, they'll let you catch the shuttle, they'll let you up to the door and then ask to see your residence permit. When you can't get in you'll have to hang around until the next shuttle comes along to take you back to the entertainment complex. In any case I don't think you'd miss much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Palace of the Lost City impressed me the moment we stepped in. I really liked the decorations. The location of the hotel is also the best. You take shuttle to go to the other hotels, to casino for example. Breakfast was very rich. Staff were very kind and caring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgetaylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, Beautiful pool. Bad service, took 30 minutes to arrange my room. Booked a King size, they gave me 2 single beds. Awful wifi range inside the room. Air conditioning inside My room wasnt working properly. Disapointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Staying at The Palace is such a treat, the location is stunning, the rooms are impeccable, the buffet breakfast is unmatched in it's pure abundance - bubbly and oysters, perfect pastries, more pancake toppings than any sweet tooth can dream to consume... All in all it was sheer bliss, less than a 2 hour drive from Johannesburg. With so much to do on a weekend away, you can't help but have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, whether they face the pool or forest, lovely either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl_traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the Palace again after 10 years. Still has the wow factor but it seems that 10 years ago there was more attention to detail. I felt like a king, my wife like a queen and our little princess was the princess during our stay. This is how every staff memeber addressed her. Excellent buffet, dont miss the breakfast for sure and sit outside. Rooms spacious. Some minor maintenance issues but not to a point to spoil the stay and could live with them. Location great and go for the morning safari and catch the wild animals waking up on an empty stomach and if luck witness a chase. Would I go back? Yes

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.8 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
238.0 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing