We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the Palace again after 10 years. Still has the wow factor but it seems that 10 years ago there was more attention to detail. I felt like a king, my wife like a queen and our little princess was the princess during our stay. This is how every staff memeber addressed her. Excellent buffet, dont miss the breakfast for sure and sit outside. Rooms spacious. Some minor maintenance issues but not to a point to spoil the stay and could live with them. Location great and go for the morning safari and catch the wild animals waking up on an empty stomach and if luck witness a chase. Would I go back? Yes

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,942)
There are newer reviews for The Palace of the Lost City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Palace of the Lost City is a hidden gem. The attention to detail is just unbelievable, each pillar, wall, carpet and chair is intricately and beautifully designed, a feast for your eyes. The rooms are beautifully clean and spacious and once again the attention to detail is fabulous. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive and add to the whole experience. If you are looking for a true African gem, look no further, just be ready to be taken on a huge sensory rollercoaster when you stay at the Palace. Luxury and quality and African magic are what await you.

Room Tip: Take a trip to the Kings tower at night and marvel at the unbelievable view. Ask for the right lift...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pebbles7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As soon as you pull up outside you just say Wow! From the luxury of the lobby, to the fabulous and spacious rooms to the endless breakfast ( oysters,champagne,sushi and everything else!). The lovely pools and grounds,a short walk to the wave pool, golf and other restaurants just a short hop in the Mercedes courtesy cars. It was all well worth the £450 a night that we paid. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doyleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed December 20 to 23 2012, and from the moment you hit the front door to the unfortunate time of your departure the service from the staff Savita, Ivy, and countless others was amazing. The room over the top! The attention to detail unbelievable! The Moment you walk in with the structure of the building and at every turn a photo moment. If you have children you are taking them to a wonderland of activities from the games room to the wave pool and water slides. You will need a few days and a map to explore the entire grounds. If you golf you will have the opportunity to play a Gary Player course. Spectacular!! This hotel is worth every penny!

Room Tip: In this hotel I would think that it doesn't matter where you stay, you won't be disappointed...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we expected a "Las Vegasy" theme hotel, and were surprised to see that this beautifully well-managed hotel has an elegant European feel to it, beginning with the warm reception of Savita, whom I would describe as the hotel's special ambassador; truly a jewel for this hotel.
We would also like to thank Christinah, se night manager for helping us with a personal urgent issue very late at night. Christinah showed concern and dedication and helped us through a delicate moment. Truly very special! Thank you!

Service at the breakfast restaurant is good. The breakfast buffet is legendary. The rooms are excellent, and the hotel magnificent as a whole. Service at the pool area and restaurants could be better. Thank you for two very special nights!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the place in December 2003 for 4 days, Wonderful time i and my 3 mates had hear wile thay played golf i enjoyed the ambience of this lovely hotel and wandered around all of thr grounds and you need 4 days to see it all. We also so went on a drive round the local game reserve and that just made my time thear. Food, Staff, Accomadation just perfect a must hoilday destenation..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncle54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

At the price that they charge, the experience should be pretty exceptional. It was alright, beautiful ambience, could stare at the ornate carvings on the walls and ceilings for a lo...ong time. Just like to put in a special mention to their guest relation officer , Savita ( hope i got the spelling right). She's fantastic, warm and represented service at its best. Made us feel at home and lend our stay a personal touch which make up for the commercialism of Sun City. Thank you and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rOza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
623 reviews
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
480 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
670 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
20.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $286 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing