We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Honeymoon Destination”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in Jan 09 and it was absolutely fab! Great if you want to completely relax, switch off and enjoy good food, great people and fantastic outdoor adventures! Would highly recommend!
Hotel has fantastic breakfast and evening dining facilities.

Room Tip: Well we were on honeymoon and didn't scrimp on rooms - to be honest, can't even remember how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenno2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    353
    169
    80
    71
See reviews for
676
627
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a place!! From the moment we arrived for 4 nights we were treated to an extravaganza of opulence. The luxury room over looking the pool was extremely comfortable,the bed huge, the shower so powerful. We had booked a meal for our first night in the Villa del Palazzo but when we arrived due to unforeseen circumstances it was closed, obviously we were very disappointed but Nico and his team more than made up for it as we were given a private dinner in the African Suite on the Monday. Phat was great in arranging it, even down to the bouquet of flowers. We played both golf courses and they were in great condition.The caddies we had, Sam and Strike were both friendly and extremely helpful and without them our scores would have not been as good. This trip has been in the planning for my 60th for a long time and it was all I ever dreamed of and more.
If you get the opportunity of visiting then I can thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We got 3 day at the Palace City. The place is really amazing! All decoration and the stuffs doing the place very luxuous! The service was very good. However, I didn't see the employees working happy! They were all the time talking by themselves in a native language and sometimes, although the good service i didn't fell well to stay there. Many people serving you in the same time and looking for the tips! A little bit strange for me! For example one day, during our lunch, 6 waiters went to our table to check if the softdrink was finished and We couldn't stay alone during our meal!
We had 3 problems in our room. With the TV, the restroom and the cofee machine. I called the reception and they fixed it fast. However, you don't expect this problems when you buy a seven stars hotel.
We got 2 tours. One to see the elephants and the other to see the Lion babies. It was a great experience! My children loved it!
It was a good experience and I recomend, but is a not a hotel to come back!

Room Tip: Take money with you for the tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to The Palace in Sun City two weeks ago. From the first impression to the last, it was really high quality. We traveled there with a large group along with our two children. At the check-in they gave us a basket full of snacks + beverages and we partook. This small detail was most welcomed as we had done a bit of travel in order to get there, and we were hungry. We especially enjoyed the Ostrich jerky!

The service was always professional and friendly. Every employee would make eye-contact and greet you with a warm "hello" no matter what time of day. You really felt special here.

The room was spacious and clean. Extremely large bathroom which reminded me of some of my stays in Las Vegas. The food in the restaurants were very good. The buffet was always very well stocked, and fresh. If you wanted to indulge (pancakes with chocolate sauce, caramel sauce, etc) you could. If you wanted healthy and light (muesli, yogarts, avacado salad, fresh fruits,etc) you got it. If you wanted European breakfast (croissants, danishes, artisinal cheeses, etc) go for it. If you wanted custom omelets, you're eggs are up! Really there was something for everyone.

The concierge was very helpful in organizing our Game Drive, visit to see Crocodiles, Lions, and Elephants. All with a smile. There were always shuttles or cars to take you to the other properties for your activities.

Everything was spacious which is great when you have small children, especially two boys who love to run. There was a lot for the youngsters to do with babysitting services either in your room or in the kids center. We made use of both services so we can get our drink on. Speaking of which, I was espcially delighted at how reasonably priced it is to get this level of high quality. In NYC a beer in a hotel room is $20. In San Francisco a beer in a hotel room is about $16. In Rome a beer in a hotel room is about $12. In The Palace, a beer in the hotel room was 35 Rand, which was about $4 at the time of our travel. I usually don't drink hotel room beer but I just couldn't help myself at The Palace. Wines are very good too. Just stay away from the ones that are too inexpensive, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Since its such a large place, you can ask to have a room closer to the elevators so you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromSF_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

it was the great hotel i ever accomodated you feel like prince and princesses! Breakfast and the italian restaurant inside the hotel will never be forgetten.. Service anf hotel personel are also great

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunesisikci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is truly out of this world. The entrence Is amazing. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. My only negative was that the pools were not heated. The spa was one of the best I have ever visited. Walking around the resort was very relaxing with its beautiful landscaped gardens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My two sisters, cousin and I stayed in the Palace the past weekend.

It was one of the best hotel stays i ever experienced.

What really set the Palace apart from other luxury hotels we stayed in is the level of service. They couldn't do enough for us.

A special mention must go to Khorutlha Jafta who served us at breakfast. He anticipate your needs before you even realize it. He spoiled us with strawberries and cream, champagne and peking duck pancakes. He really embodies service.

Other people we would like to mention is Margaret who served coffee in the morning and the other Margaret who received us on arrival.

We stayed in a twin room and the accommodation was very comfortable.

We enjoyed afternoon tea and this was also of a very high standard.

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafrompotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
238.5 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
3.4 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Property: The Palace of the Lost City
Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing