We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

it was the great hotel i ever accomodated you feel like prince and princesses! Breakfast and the italian restaurant inside the hotel will never be forgetten.. Service anf hotel personel are also great

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunesisikci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is truly out of this world. The entrence Is amazing. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. My only negative was that the pools were not heated. The spa was one of the best I have ever visited. Walking around the resort was very relaxing with its beautiful landscaped gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My two sisters, cousin and I stayed in the Palace the past weekend.

It was one of the best hotel stays i ever experienced.

What really set the Palace apart from other luxury hotels we stayed in is the level of service. They couldn't do enough for us.

A special mention must go to Khorutlha Jafta who served us at breakfast. He anticipate your needs before you even realize it. He spoiled us with strawberries and cream, champagne and peking duck pancakes. He really embodies service.

Other people we would like to mention is Margaret who served coffee in the morning and the other Margaret who received us on arrival.

We stayed in a twin room and the accommodation was very comfortable.

We enjoyed afternoon tea and this was also of a very high standard.

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindafrompotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband stayed at this amazing hotel in August 2012 along with 120 fellow travellers. Our mouths dropped in amazement when we drove into the driveway. The entrance is so beautiful and very unique. The foyer is a work or art, the pool area is perfect as well as surrounding outdoor dining areas. Every inch of this hotel has an African theme and is done to perfection. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with excellent room service daily. The grounds are like a wonderland of discovery. Apart from the casino area, there is a movie theatre, extensive games options and dining area for kids (including a Wimpy Burger onsite), wave pool with beach and slides, beautiful water features everywhere and grounds to explore. We ate at Santorini restaurant, nothing special but good enough. We booked an afternoon safari that I would definately do again and recommend. It was only around $100 for both of us. Great elephant experience and I was amazed at how many animals we saw. There are many more activities such as quad biking, elephant encounters, zip line and spa to name a few. Breakfast is served in a lovely area and the buffet is quite extensive. Staff were not as friendly as other hotels we experienced in South Africa but very accommodating just the same. A climb to the top of the palace is a must if staying here to experience the grounds from above. We would love to return with our kids one day. Don't miss this hotel is you get the amazing opportunity to visit South Africa.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there being a bad room here. I was travelling with 120+ people and didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in The Palace. It was our 3rd stay and it’s just going downhill.
From the moment we arrived, we saw that amazing infraestructure and a lot of unhappy and listless employees. Overall, you get the impresion that the hotel has too many employees but none of them cares enough about the guests.
For example, entering the hotel, there is a table with welcome drinks and 2 ladies but they will not offer you any.
The hotel looked desolated, except for breakfast time.
We booked a Family suite and was exactly as the other ones, but with a convertible sofa bed. The sofa was beaten, to the point that it was inestable to sleep in it.
Wi-fi is free up to 100 MB per day and only one device can be conected.
Pool and restaurants looked desolated also..We went to the new Maze but seemed expensive for what it was.
Nice hotel, but I would only return to rest after a visit to a game reserve as we did this last time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I and my wife stayed in the Palace of Lost City to celebrate our 5 wedding anniversary on the 01st October 2012. The place is so magnificent to such an extent that I can only describe it as belonging to a class of its own when it comes to service, comfort, glamour, aesthetics and food! The money paid is well worth it given what they offer.

I highly recommend the Palace of Lost City for anybody who really wants to have joy. It is outstanding. I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Europe, North America and Africa, but my experience at the Palace of Lost city has been extra-ordinary. I had fun, a life time experience, permanent memories of joy and pleasure.

I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lerotsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This will be our 3rd weekend trip to The Palace. Many might view the Palace as very smart, sophisticated and only for the well-to-do. In many ways it is but what we love about it is how welcoming and accommodating they are of children and how relaxed and family orientated they are. The staff are very well trained and we always greeted with such warmth and friendliness. I would like to make special mention of Sabina Fick who has taken care of us each time we have visited. Sabina is always available and has ensured that all our needs have been met. We had an unfortunate incident with a lack of hot water and unsatisfactory housekeeping service which we spoke to her about on this last trip. Before we knew it, we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite - which certainly was a once in a life time experience! The buffet breakfasts are one in a million and cater for every palate imaginable. Being a 5 star resort, it is obviously priced accordingly however, well worth it and we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: if you are traveling with a young family, Room 850 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishingjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.4 mi away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
635 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
816 reviews
803.3 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
681 reviews
22.7 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $289 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing