We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of The Fishmonger - CLOSED

The Fishmonger
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve got a soft spot for seafood, then you will love the Fishmonger. This well known South African restaurant offers the best in seafood, plus a sushi bar. The bright atmosphere at the Fishmonger is suitable for the whole family.
Standerton, South Africa
1 review
“Shocking”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This restaurant is a disgrace and an embarrassment for Sun City. Sunday afternoon 16 June 2013.Four attempts on the wine selection,bad service,no bread or condiments,raw sole fish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pmb, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Town”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great service and food excellent. Highly recommend the 8 Queen Prawns, the Salmon and the Avo, parmasan and rocket salad. Norman is a good waiter too !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my second visit, having raved about the restaurant after the first time. We were welcomed with a huge smile and promptly seated at the table of our choice. Freshly baked bread rolls were brought without delay. We shared a sushi starter and a rocket, avo and parmesan salad - wow! What a wonderful taste explosion! We both ordered the calamari extravaganza (as I had eaten it before) and we certainly were not disappointed. The generous portions of calamari, cooked four ways, were excellent, with fantastic flavours and all cooked to perfection. We were too full to consider dessert - maybe next time (and there certainly will be a next time!) Good value for money (R450 including drinks and tip) and the waitron, Lerato, offered warm friendly and efficient service. Highly recommended and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A civilised restaurant.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is so much better than the other options in the Food Court here.

We found the service excellent, food good and well priced and the wine good value.

We ate here on both our nights at Sun City

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good service , great taste”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited with friends and the service and quality of the food was excelent. I will recommend this as a friendly relaxing eat out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishmonger also viewed

Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing