We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for price”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a day in April because of the price and convenient location. We found that the gps directions as on the website (using their link to Google maps) took us to a location 15 min away from the lodge. We had to call for directions and heard that this happens often. This needs to be fixed.

The room seemed as if new furniture was needed as the sun didn't come in and everything smelled slightly like a lack of ventilation.

Breakfast had a good variety taking the size of the lodge into consideration.

I think it's a good choice in the area and price range, but beware that it is strongly war themed and not a modern option. A history lover would love this lodge.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia4Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    76
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
84
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I selected the Kedar Country Lodge because it is close to Pilanesburg National Park, the great rate and reviews on TA. I was pleased with my choice as it was quiet, comfortable and an easy 20 minute drive to Pilanesburg. It also had a much better rate than anything in Sun City.
My room was large and the bed comfortable. The bath was nice with a huge shower. As others mentioned here, I found the room a bit dark and the lighting in the bath inadequate for shaving. I never used the television as I preferred to wander the grounds or have a beer at the bar.
The food served at the bar was fine but nothing special and breakfast was normal fare. Wifi access in the bar and internet lounge was fast enough for FaceTime.
Service was always with a smile and the staff was great.
All in all, I will stay here again if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra Hill, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Kedar Country Lodge was a great place to stay, game animals running on their reserve and a great selection of walkways to see them in their natural habitat. They had a couple of small hippos available for viewing if you caught them at the right time and beautiful weaver birds making nests in the swamp. Also a bit of history could be seen by taking a walking tour to Krugars holiday house on the reserve. Food available was excellent ,great selection and rooms set in a nice atmosphere .Also close to Game reserve drives in national parks but need transport to get to nearby attractions. Staff were very friendly and rooms kept very clean. Also had the largest collection of Boer War artefacts around ,beautiful collection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in Kedar a few nights and it was a great base to visit Pilanersburg National Park (20min drive) and avoiding Sun City resort with its expesive hotels and less sustainable tourism concept.
The rooms are littly cozy huts with many amenities and a spotless bathroom. The most remarkable feature was the outdoor facilities: garden, pool, bars and spa.

Food at the pub was good but not exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful and service kind, especially the girls at reception that can also help you organize tours in the area.

The spa has reasonable fares and I treated myself to a massage in the back, which is highly recommendable.

Don't miss the walkway over several ponds and the bush. It is a nice, quite walk perfect for birdwatching and the pigmy hippos come as a plus. It was an enjoyable exercise after the static safaris.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucho_nordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although I was unable to actually review the lodge itself I was greatly disappointed by the service of the front desk personnel as well as the misleading details of the package the presented on their website. More specifically, my story is as follows:
I came across their website and was intrigued by a package titled "Romantic stay over spa experience". After clicking on the link I was given details regarding the package which indicated overnight accommodation in the 'Royal suite'. Alongside these details and an image of the royal suite room was a link that said "Book Now".
I clicked the link and was in the process of paying and confirming my stay when I had a feeling that the price, and package, may be too good to be true. Since it was a special occasion and because Im overly cautious I emailed the company to confirm the entire package.
The next day or so I was given an invoice for two for the package that was approximately R2000 more than the price listed on the link 'Book now' and was not given confirmation of the details of the package nor the accommodation.
To cut to the chase I sent multiple emails and made phone calls as well (due to the lack of email response) with the conclusion by front desk personnel that the royal suite is not the accommodation of the package (although it is advertised) and that there were now no longer any rooms available for the weekend I had attempted to book just under 14 days prior.
In summary, I believe such false advertising is despicable and that if I had not been cautious I would have ended up with the wrong accommodation and no package whatsoever with no choice but to accept due to the distance between home and the lodge.
Its despicable to think that others may not be as 'lucky' as I am and end up in such a situation. Furthermore, no further contact was made to arrange for an alternate date or accommodation (as I requested) and no apologies were made.
I can only imagine the actual stay at the lodge if there are this many misleading, false and fraudulent issues made on the website and by staff

Room Tip: "Only book what is confirmed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJIano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is about 30 minutes from the closest gate of Pilanesburg and about 35 minutes from Sun City. There isn't anything around here, so you will have to be prepared to have a car to drive far to get food. There is breakfast at the hotel however.
This being said, we had an interesting cabin, about 100 metres from the dining hall. We had three single beds in our room and a large bathroom. Everything was clean and proper. There were even deer walking around outside our room.
The breakfast room is a bit curious when you step into it for the first time, there are hundreds of Boer War artefacts lining the wall. We felt like we were Generals feasting before going out to battle the Brits. But other than that the buffet was plentiful and good. We would recommend this hotel only if you are ok with the travelling distance to any of the area attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff was welcoming and friendly. The food was nice and changed daily- we only had breakfast there. We were given a room big enough to accommodate the family. There isnt much entertainment around the lodge, except the pool and the museum and game drive ( which we didnt do because of limited animals they have) but nearby places such as sun city and the pilane national park did it for us.The rooms were kept clean; and the kids loved the outside shower ; its ideal to clean up after a swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribs_bantwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
8.4 mi away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
6.1 mi away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
196 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
92 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Palace of the Lost City
14.8 mi away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Property: Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife. With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Heroes bar allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing